the language is a big headache for non canto speakers
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:hahaha... i am tempted to go again and again... all the time i went solo (alone).. my brother stays (@Sai Wan Ho) and work there (at Central), hence accomodation is free... so, only air tickets + makan.. (but when i wait for my brother for dinner... dinner is free for me too... ).
Haha.... LOL... I prefer going there during Mid November.... =) Was there on the 2 coldest day of the year last year.... Ngong Ping 360's temperature hits 9 C.... LOL.... and downhill is about 12 - 14 C..
I went once during March.... its so hazy....
And I know July / August are the worst months to go to Hong Kong.... Hot weather, if not risk of typhoon / heavy rain ....
agree... lucky they got english and chinese also lol...
anw have u ever visited Sha tin.. i heard is a nice place hehe
very delicious desserts... i missed,....v muchie..
Originally posted by 105090:the language is a big headache for non canto speakers
Nah... they can speak Mandarin de.... just that English is preferred (though their Mandarin is better than their English)...
In restaurants and char chan teng, just order in Mandarin...
Especially when you go to tourist destinations.... speak English.... cos to them... PRCs speak Mandarin.... other chinese speak cantonese... =)
Especially at The Peak and Ocean Park.... PRCs have a dedicated queue, as compared to OTHERS... because the PRCs went there and cut queue all the time... that they have to limit their numbers.... -_-"
Originally posted by 105090:the language is a big headache for non canto speakers
yes ... even though i know Cantonese... their speaking are so different...
i better watch more TVB drama shows and learn... lol.
Originally posted by Junyang700:Haha.... LOL... I prefer going there during Mid November.... =) Was there on the 2 coldest day of the year last year.... Ngong Ping 360's temperature hits 9 C.... LOL.... and downhill is about 12 - 14 C..
I went once during March.... its so hazy....
And I know July / August are the worst months to go to Hong Kong.... Hot weather, if not risk of typhoon / heavy rain ....
when i went on 20 January 2010 (on my 1st trip to HK),
i slept with 4 shirts + 1 sweater... (no extra heater in room)... lol..
and need this...
to find my didi when i pee-ed.. lol... temperature was around 8c to 10c.
precisely..!!
the locals open their mouth they speak all cantonese.. me being a chinese go there also machiam foreigner or mainlander liao.. ( = chop carrot time!)
overall, nice country la... and interesting food n shops :D
Originally posted by Junyang700:Nah... they can speak Mandarin de.... just that English is preferred (though their Mandarin is better than their English)...
In restaurants and char chan teng, just order in Mandarin...
Especially when you go to tourist destinations.... speak English.... cos to them... PRCs speak Mandarin.... other chinese speak cantonese... =)
Especially at The Peak and Ocean Park.... PRCs have a dedicated queue, as compared to OTHERS... because the PRCs went there and cut queue all the time... that they have to limit their numbers.... -_-"
Only went up to The Peak.. not Ocean Park (becos i went alone)..
took a pic with LKY (Wax) at The Peak...
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:
when i went on 20 January 2010 (on my 1st trip to HK),i slept with 4 shirts + 1 sweater... (no extra heater in room)... lol..
and need this...
to find my didi when i pee-ed.. lol... temperature was around 8c to 10c.
LOL.. You must be beri scared of cold...
I love cold weather... so I just put on a jacket and do nothing else... =)
Only went up to The Peak.. not Ocean Park (becos i went alone)..took a pic with LKY (Wax) at The Peak...
He's quite skinny and frail up there... LOL....
Cold weather is ok... but when the winds starting to blow... the temp drops further...
...I know TS's answers to the following question:
Which country have you visited the most?
China
Hong Kong is not a country; it's a state in China
Originally posted by Junyang700:He's quite skinny and frail up there... LOL....
yeah.. not a good idea to go alone...
becos.. i got to ask fellow visitor to take pic for me... lol.
took alot of pics though.. w/o me inside haha.. only scenery.
Originally posted by dangerboi:...I know TS's answers to the following question:
Which country have you visited the most?
China
Hong Kong is not a country; it's a state in China
haha... not asking... but i missed Macau too... next topic ? anyone wants to set topic ? i go there and chat.. lol.
actually wanted to go ShenZhen in January, but when i checked the internet on HK's / & ShenZhen's weather forecast, the temperature was below 10c.... then immediately cancelled plans... lol.
yeah.. not a good idea to go alone...becos.. i got to ask fellow visitor to take pic for me... lol.
took alot of pics though.. w/o me inside haha.. only scenery.
LOL... I went with a friend... we managed to get a Filipino couple to take a photo for us .... as they happened to ask us to take a photo for them... so it was quite nice... I believe we spoke in half Mandarin half English and they felt comfortable getting us to take pictures for them... LOL...
HK's Peak Tram
got a question... actually how many The Peak's tram runs up and down ? One or Two ?
i waited almost 30mins to boad the tram when coming down and the Pax Q was super long.. and freezing cold...
@ The Peak
(best time to go up - around 5pm), can catch the sunset hours of HK Island & Kowloon night scenery around 6.30pm...
@The Peak,
Night scenery of HK...
Originally posted by Junyang700:Ngong Ping 360's temperature hits 9 C....
yeah.. i realised.. si pei cold there.... doubt i will visit there... hehe.
@
to Brand "Chanel" lovers...
@Central, HK Island