there'll be massages. but there'll be long qeues for it. so i didn't go for it. plus, i didn't like the idea of being massaged while i'm sweatyOriginally posted by Fuqua:I didn't participate last year. How was the medical aid at the finish line? Did the organiser provide ice-pack, food, massage, etc ?
Originally posted by sillyme:can. last year only ran one 10km during prep
i think you guys sure finish earlier
Just call ur BUDDY and give you massage lah....personalised some more and dont need to queue up..Originally posted by Fuqua:I didn't participate last year. How was the medical aid at the finish line? Did the organiser provide ice-pack, food, massage, etc ?
U don't laugh at me....later u overtaken by 70 years old uncle, then see who laugh....Originally posted by Fuqua:i'm sori but cant help laughing at the tot of u psychoed by being overtaken by uncles and gers .... train harder hehe !!
but good to hear u know when to listen to ur body and when not to overtrain.
What do u think the weather will be like on the 5th?
YAyay, going to do the full one time and swear off running for the rest of my life...Originally posted by kops21:Fuqua and myself are running....
U going for Full? What time u expect to complete?
Overexertion?Originally posted by kops21:Don't know what happen actually...maybe last thursday did the 18km around 1:57, that is why sunday puncture leow...during the run is okay but hor so many uncle and ger overtake me damn paisei, but body not responding well and i dont want to push it
Bro Fuqua, running on a hot day is fine, but not pushing to a limit at the same time. Worst still u have not do any hot day running before.
Well...good that u pull back. Let save our energy to fight on another day(5th Dec).
Siong liao lor..Originally posted by kops21:U train for 10km and chio for 1/2 M.....veri garang leh...
At the pace of 4:30 and longer distance of 26km, u should be a fast and season runner. Marathon kaki that i know are doing 30km week in week out, but then some of them are tri/ironman athletic, which should come in between 3:30-4hrs for Full M.Originally posted by no_speeding:Siong liao lor..
hahaha...
My longest run to date is 26k and im going for 42.. got to make up for the extra 16k...
Judging from how i felt at 26...i think i will crawl home...
hahahahahahahha......![]()
Dunno whether it is exertion or not?Originally posted by no_speeding:Overexertion?
Typically, i do 1 long run follow by 1 short run or complete rest the next day...
Must see the feeling. No point forcing if the body is protesting..
hahahah....
HAhaha.... i also have been overtaken by countless uncles, young boys and girls during my runs... but if u think about it... 20minutes down the road.. u will pass them and then, never see them for the rest of ur run..![]()
Originally posted by kops21:U train for 10km and chio for 1/2 M.....veri garang leh...
Kops buddy, you MUST stop singing when u run at esplanade, then it will stop raining ok. Hehe.Originally posted by kops21:U don't laugh at me....later u overtaken by 70 years old uncle, then see who laugh....
I have taken part in a few public runs this year, have been very impressed with some elder folks and ladies....my hats off to them.....
I run pretty slowI have been overtaken by all my males colleagues so far when we go for public runs...even those in the late 40's over taken me...
My last run(Mizuno), my male colleague (47yrs) finish 50 mins, his female friend finish at 45 mins... damn pai sei
Lucky kops21 face very thick...
I think it is going to be a cool weather on 5th Dec...but with little shower...don't know why, almost nowadays when i run at Esplande that area always got little drizzling....Blessing in disguise?
Yup...the timing looks awesome with the kind of training you are having....Originally posted by sillyme:
that kind of training with 2hr 27min... quite good already.. don't you think?
Bro, i won't u don't hit the WALL...or else u will not finish the race..even by walking the rest of the way...Originally posted by Fuqua:Kops buddy, you MUST stop singing when u run at esplanade, then it will stop raining ok. Hehe.
I'm not into speed much, but endurance. I WILL cross that finish line even if it takes me the whole day. I just hope my buddy can wait that long for me
I worry about the weather though. So far, all my trainings been done in the morning or at nite, and few time under the hot sun. Wonder how to cope if it rain. Any tips? clothes?
Also I meant to ask the organiser HOW they will transport our belongings later during the run. I want to bring a few stuffs (extra cloth, food, etc) in my backpack on the day. You have any info on this?
The WALL!!! Pain is good ... but too much painOriginally posted by kops21:Bro, i won't u don't hit the WALL...or else u will not finish the race..even by walking the rest of the way...
WET already when running, no need to worry about the few drops of rain...Anyway, i wear lightweight(cooling running clothes) with a cap. Rain or Shine no problem. Dun wear undiesand with a few waterproof handipastes on certain parts of the body(for blister and abrasion protection). A small pouch for HP/$/Keys for the run.
The starting pt and ending pt are almost at the same location. I am inform there are lockers available for the day. U can check with the organiser when u go and collect ur number tabs later. I will leave the rest of my stuff in the car and run with a small pouch tie around the waist.
Whether u need the handipaste depends on individual...esp clothing, shoes etc. I always have blisters going for the long run exactly at some spots everytime, so by putting a cushioned plaster does the trick. Also abrasions around the groan area for me...Originally posted by Fuqua:The WALL!!! Pain is good ... but too much painhopefully if i keep myself hydrated, and eat well, it won't hit me too bad. All i can do. I hate to crawl the last 10km of the race ...
i'm gonna wear my nike short, adidas vest, no underpants, pouch for carrying hp, energy bar and sports gel.
But I don't undertand the handipaste thingy. Is that necessary? I never had any problem with blisters/abrasion before on my long runs.
Originally posted by sillyme:Oh I've seen it. Bleeding nipples dunring last year's marathon. Super eeeeks
Dun over estimate me lor..Originally posted by kops21:At the pace of 4:30 and longer distance of 26km, u should be a fast and season runner. Marathon kaki that i know are doing 30km week in week out, but then some of them are tri/ironman athletic, which should come in between 3:30-4hrs for Full M.
Ur crawling will be our running pace judging at ur timing.![]()
I've seen this belt in the runner'sworld mag. dam! look cool. But am not thinking of bringing my own water/energy drink to the marathon, just some energy bar/sports gel.Originally posted by sillyme:you guys may be interested in this
http://www.fuelbeltsg.com
OKAY! THAT's IT! I'm putting on handyplast on me nipples. I'll try this weekend on my last long tranining run ..Originally posted by sillyme:Oh I've seen it. Bleeding nipples dunring last year's marathon. Super eeeeks
Vaseline on groin and armpit area. Ok, will try that this weekend or heck, tonite on my 10k run. Handyplast on toes and nipples ... but gee! i hope i dont look like a freak toniteOriginally posted by kops21:Whether u need the handipaste depends on individual...esp clothing, shoes etc. I always have blisters going for the long run exactly at some spots everytime, so by putting a cushioned plaster does the trick. Also abrasions around the groan area for me...Some folks kana the nipple as well...
If you dont get any problems on yr long training runs, u should be fine as long as you are taking the same clothes and shoe for the actual day.
Full Time sportsman in Spore little $$ leh....damn sian....but some folks i heard does make it good....Originally posted by no_speeding:Dun over estimate me lor..
hahah...
If im good, i'll quit my job and do running full time.. <---cool huh.
ALways wanted to be sportsman when i was younger...
Then again, there are really alot alot of factors. I have only been running seriously for half a year... back then, when i completed 4km, it was super achievement liao.
Hahah...actually, whats with the no underpants suggestion? i dun understand...
And yes, i agree with the handyplast suggestion.
I heard its a norm to swap vasaline on armpits, thighs and all swinging limbs to ensure minimum abrasion.
Im not taking chances...going to get myself a jug of vasaline this weekend..
From the Marathon Website,Originally posted by Fuqua:I've seen this belt in the runner'sworld mag. dam! look cool. But am not thinking of bringing my own water/energy drink to the marathon, just some energy bar/sports gel.
Does anybody know what drink will be provided at the drink station during the race next week (gulp!)? Water and isotonic drink? (but what brand?)