It is killing art only if you train very hard like Mas Oyama.Originally posted by HENG@:karate was never a dying art. it's a killing art.![]()
Enshin,Ashihara and kyokushin karate(dunno about others) are still around in CC,though not as much as tkd~~~Originally posted by kops21:Karate seems to be having a quiet period in Singapore. TKD still around in CC from my observation.
I must travel to CC more often...didnt realise that.....Originally posted by liuzg150181:Enshin,Ashihara and kyokushin karate(dunno about others) are still around in CC,though not as much as tkd~~~
i prefer wushuOriginally posted by HENG@:karate was never a dying art. it's a killing art.![]()
Trad. ones or contemporary ones?Originally posted by SnowFlag:i prefer wushu![]()
MARITAL art?Originally posted by SnowFlag:Karate is a marital art.
I know Shitoryu is still around but don't like how the Karate is taught there.Originally posted by gentlerock:Karate is still alive and well lah. Many CCs have them, tertiary institutions have them, etc, etc.
There is also that big Shitoryu gym at McNair Road too, with very bustling membership levels.
Eh? I thought this thread was whether karate is still alive in Singapore or not....so I cited the Shitoryu gym lor.Originally posted by icebaby0:I know Shitoryu is still around but don't like how the Karate is taught there.
If I am not wrong, Goju and Kenshinkai Karate is still around too.
It does if your wife/gf is frequently abusive.Originally posted by liuzg150181:Does it improve my marriage or what???![]()
Well,every one is a beginner who sucks at one point right?Originally posted by lwflee:What? You mean they teach Kyokushin Karate at CCs? Hmmm - wow i'll be dam.ned. All i've ever seen at CCs are scrawny pre-adolescents Kiai-ing at each other and punching air.
I need to get out more in singapore.
Goju-ryu if I am not wrong was taught at Marine Vista and now currently at Kembangan CC. Unless they have moved again...then I don't know.Originally posted by liuzg150181:Well,every one is a beginner who sucks at one point right?
I also remember goju-ryu and shotokan being taught in Singapore CC,where you saw it btw?
And yes,Singaporean men are hen-pecked,according to our former PM Goh~~~
Actually karate came from Okinawa,a kingdom by itself until Japan annexed it during late 19th century~~~Originally posted by gentlerock:Karate, directly translated, is "empty hand" right?
Then I have been practising karate since the Asian economic crisis back in the late 90's. My hands always empty leh. Business damned bad.
It all depends what u want to learn.Originally posted by monkeybusiness:last time got consider taking up karate.
but now maybe considering akido![]()