No lah. It's just that I didn't really feel their way of teaching Karate something which I would appreciate. Different schools teaching differently.Originally posted by gentlerock:Eh? I thought this thread was whether karate is still alive in Singapore or not....so I cited the Shitoryu gym lor.
Besides Shitoryu, there are many other smaller gyms, some headed by Japs also (or some others who claim that they are super high ranking black belts). Problem is that I've never trained in karate, but you seem to have done so...so I think you'll be more in the karate circle than I ever will be.
Just out of curiosity...I've seen their training before and know a few people who were instructors or blackbelts there. I actually felt that they were not too bad leh. Why don't you like the way they train there?
Aikido....men in skirtsOriginally posted by monkeybusiness:last time got consider taking up karate.
but now maybe considering akido![]()
Aikido were being taught very differently in the past,before 1960s(esp pre-WW2) it is notorious for very extreme physical training(even top sumo champion trained there could not take it),therefore aikido dojo was dubbed "hell dojo"~~~Originally posted by gentlerock:Aikido....men in skirts![]()
So what is your idea of teaching karate?Originally posted by icebaby0:No lah. It's just that I didn't really feel their way of teaching Karate something which I would appreciate. Different schools teaching differently.
But yes, I guess the question was whether they are still around and whether pple are actually still interested in it.

I saw a class at Kembangan CC a while back. I'm not sure what style it was and i did not watch the whole class; i was just passing by. But then most CC's classes are attended by kids + teens, so not really surprised.Originally posted by liuzg150181:Well,every one is a beginner who sucks at one point right?
I also remember goju-ryu and shotokan being taught in Singapore CC,where you saw it btw?
And yes,Singaporean men are hen-pecked,according to our former PM Goh~~~
There is one Goju-ryu karate class in Bishan CC too if I am not mistaken.Originally posted by icebaby0:Goju-ryu if I am not wrong was taught at Marine Vista and now currently at Kembangan CC. Unless they have moved again...then I don't know.
Shotokan, I am not sure.
Shitoryu - as stated previously by someone else
Kenshinkai - Ngee Ann Poly (unless they switch their name back to Shitoryu?)
That's all I know
Yeah, looks like "brother white bunny" to me. Maybe that was the only belt he could find on discount.Originally posted by lwflee:Ashida Kim really gets around doesn't he.
EDIT: Anyone knows what it is that is written on his belt? Looks like "Brother White Rabbit" to me but i'm not sure.
It's not the idea. I just felt the Karate taught there felt alot like learning kick boxing. They move like as if doing "fast" aerobics....too fast for my liking.Originally posted by liuzg150181:So what is your idea of teaching karate?
At Kembangan, if I am not wrong...shld be Goju-ryu.Originally posted by lwflee:I saw a class at Kembangan CC a while back. I'm not sure what style it was and i did not watch the whole class; i was just passing by. But then most CC's classes are attended by kids + teens, so not really surprised.
Ashida Kim really gets around doesn't he.
EDIT: Anyone knows what it is that is written on his belt? Looks like "Brother White Rabbit" to me but i'm not sure.
In Japan, it is a ART. In singapore, like I say...it is like a dying art. It's no more like discipling training..more like a sort of exercise. It's a real pity.Originally posted by gentlerock:Yeah, looks like "brother white bunny" to me. Maybe that was the only belt he could find on discount.This guy can't decide if he's Korean (Kim), Japanese (Ashida) or Chinese.
The martial arts classes here are mostly filled with kids lah. Local adults seem rather physically inactive. I've watched a karate class in Osaka and they were very different - many adults, quite serious in their training, and the training wasn't the "dead" type. They were even allowed to punch the face, etc.
I also know a Japanese friend who trains in karate in Tokyo (Kyokushin). I've always had respect for Kyokushin, but I enjoyed making fun of her too. I told her to use her kata to fight me. One day, she really roundhouse kicked my upper back for fun....damn, it was no sissy kick - it moved me a few steps! I've sparred with her too (just playfully) and she simply doesn't flinch when I jab at her face - good sign of an person who is experienced in contact sparring.
I guess the training in karate's motherland is very different from here.
[/i]
In that case i am relieved,while i am not sure what style it is,the Kembangan one is not kyokushin as i used to learn some kyokushin stuff from a friend and his sempai and know where the kyokushin branches are.Originally posted by lwflee:I saw a class at Kembangan CC a while back. I'm not sure what style it was and i did not watch the whole class; i was just passing by. But then most CC's classes are attended by kids + teens, so not really surprised.
Ashida Kim really gets around doesn't he.
Hi,gentlerock,you been to bullshido.net before?And are you a Singaporean?Originally posted by gentlerock:The martial arts classes here are mostly filled with kids lah. Local adults seem rather physically inactive. I've watched a karate class in Osaka and they were very different - many adults, quite serious in their training, and the training wasn't the "dead" type. They were even allowed to punch the face, etc.
I also know a Japanese friend who trains in karate in Tokyo (Kyokushin). I've always had respect for Kyokushin, but I enjoyed making fun of her too. I told her to use her kata to fight me. One day, she really roundhouse kicked my upper back for fun....damn, it was no sissy kick - it moved me a few steps! I've sparred with her too (just playfully) and she simply doesn't flinch when I jab at her face - good sign of an person who is experienced in contact sparring.
I guess the training in karate's motherland is very different from here.
[/i]
Well,this is Singapore i guess........Originally posted by icebaby0:In Japan, it is a ART. In singapore, like I say...it is like a dying art. It's no more like discipling training..more like a sort of exercise. It's a real pity.
Hi hi....Originally posted by liuzg150181:Hi,gentlerock,you been to bullshido.net before?And are you a Singaporean?
Speaking of kyokushin,reminds me of a story told by a kyokushin sempai.There was one period kyokushin training in Orchard Towers Dojo(Singapore HQ) was hardcore(like push-ups using handstand is mandatory),and there were many of those foreigners,including Austrlians,Israelis,Nepalese(Gurkhas) etc.,then during full contact sparring they just go 100% full contact and people got KOed.Have to drag people out and revive them LoL~~~
Of course people freaked out and students got fewer and fewer.The solution is to lower the intensity of the training of course,but there is still hardcore type that remains on Thrusday in Orchard Tower Dojo~~~
True MA in Singapore is dwindling,someone pls save it~~~![]()
Wow i dun think i will be able to take that trg every week. Slugging it out bare fisted is not my cup of tea. What am i gg to tell my lecturers the next day!Originally posted by liuzg150181:There was one period kyokushin training in Orchard Towers Dojo(Singapore HQ) was hardcore(like push-ups using handstand is mandatory),and there were many of those foreigners,including Austrlians,Israelis,Nepalese(Gurkhas) etc.,then during full contact sparring they just go 100% full contact and people got KOed.Have to drag people out and revive them LoL~~~
Of course people freaked out and students got fewer and fewer.The solution is to lower the intensity of the training of course,but there is still hardcore type that remains on Thrusday in Orchard Tower Dojo~~~
True MA in Singapore is dwindling,someone pls save it~~~![]()
Nothing,just that it is a common gesture to make fun of Ashida Kim whenever bullshido members meet in other forum~~~Originally posted by gentlerock:Hi hi....
Yes, I'm Singaporean and I've been reading bullshido.net since more than a year ago. I'm not a regular there and don't post there. I just glance through once in a blue moon and leave.
I'm curious why do you asked about bullshido.net?
(Sorry sorry, really no rudeness intended in answering your question with another question.....I'm really curious).
Tell your lecturer you GF beat you up~~~Originally posted by lwflee:Wow i dun think i will be able to take that trg every week. Slugging it out bare fisted is not my cup of tea. What am i gg to tell my lecturers the next day!
Too Hardcore for me eheheheh
Edit: That's the problem with striking arts. With BJJ, i can go all out (which means i last for 3 mins Lol!) and just remember not to jerk the submission.
I used to learn Goju-ryu...then in upper sec went to learn TKD.Originally posted by liuzg150181:Well,this is Singapore i guess........
If you still want a taste of the art of karate,maybe you might want to go down to see kyokushin Orchard Towers Dojo training on Thrusday,btw what style of karate you used to do?
Sweet,so you gonna pick it up again anytime soon?Originally posted by icebaby0:I used to learn Goju-ryu...then in upper sec went to learn TKD.
Then in the poly I learn Shitoryu...which our instructor later change to another name Kenshinkai.
But now..6 yrs later..I totally forgot everything.
But it's really good exercise.
Edit: That's the problem with striking arts. With BJJ, i can go all out (which means i last for 3 mins Lol!) and just remember not to jerk the submission. [/b]Hi, where do you learn your BJJ?