kops21 is right... you should listen to himOriginally posted by kops21:1) put water bottles along the path you are going to run through.
2) Carry a water bottle along
3) Get a camel bag(Sport Connections sells around $40 depending on sizes)
4) Get a water belt
5) choose your running route whereby there are water points/toilets around
6) run loops instead of 1 straight long road(put water at a single spot)
6) carry $ along to buy water
For public runs, eg 10km, there are going to have 1 water point in the middle of the run. For Marathon, typically will be every 5km 1 water point.
In order to train for this kind of run, it is good that you have water stop every 5km.![]()

sorry de prob is i dun run wif any running clubs. i m only free on weekends as i m still a property of SAFOriginally posted by kops21:1) put water bottles along the path you are going to run through.
2) Carry a water bottle along
3) Get a camel bag(Sport Connections sells around $40 depending on sizes)
4) Get a water belt
5) choose your running route whereby there are water points/toilets around
6) run loops instead of 1 straight long road(put water at a single spot)
6) carry $ along to buy water
For public runs, eg 10km, there are going to have 1 water point in the middle of the run. For Marathon, typically will be every 5km 1 water point.
In order to train for this kind of run, it is good that you have water stop every 5km.![]()
yupz i m trg for AHM....u r trg for de standard chartered marathon?Originally posted by spencer99:Here is what i propose....
When I am running at Sentosa or East coast park, i will bring along cashcard and/or coins. There are outlets and vending machine along the way, just buy a isotonic drink and drink. I admit have to "stop" to get the drink which might disturb the rhythm somewhat. But I find it ok. lor... better then not drinking at all....
Another way if u r running "loops" like around bishan park is to carry some drinks and then dump them at some spot... then every time u complete one "round" like 2-4km you just stop at that "stop" and drink some water.
Which half marathon r u training for? is it the army half marathon?
That reminds me.... only 1/2 year to stand chart marathon... have to start training again.
i run with a waist pouch with key, hp, power gel etc, feeling uncomfortable, and shove the pouch into the inner lining of the runner short and resolve the problem of having the pouch pounding up and down. I do run with a high serra water bag, test it with run for 5km(with 1 litres of water), find it pretty okay.Originally posted by bluez_sky:sorry de prob is i dun run wif any running clubs. i m only free on weekends as i m still a property of SAFn i dun tink any clubs would 1 an irregular member like me. so water pts is out of de qns.
hydration packs r either 2 expensive, n i believe those cheaper ones dun really work. same wif a water belt. i haf oredi spent $$ on a waist pouch dat holds a water bag inside n it doesn't work. de whole pouch is bouncing up n down my waist vigorously when i run.
putting water along de running route![]()
i m afraid bird shit or dunno watever creepy crawlies will get into it bef i reach de water source.
i guess de best method is to juz carry a bottle in my hand![]()
I am going for the AHM as well. As for the stand chart going for the full one... ran last year but did badly so trying again this year.Originally posted by bluez_sky:yupz i m trg for AHM....u r trg for de standard chartered marathon?
running de full race or de half 1?
wow u r running 2 long races within a period of only 3 months?Originally posted by spencer99:I am going for the AHM as well. As for the stand chart going for the full one... ran last year but did badly so trying again this year.
u mean u shove de pouch into ur shorts?Originally posted by kops21:i run with a waist pouch with key, hp, power gel etc, feeling uncomfortable, and shove the pouch into the inner lining of the runner short and resolve the problem of having the pouch pounding up and down. I do run with a high serra water bag, test it with run for 5km(with 1 litres of water), find it pretty okay.
as long it suit you, it does not matter which method.![]()
it is really critical to hydrate urself during such long runs. no matter how much u drink bef de run, it wont last u thoughout for a 1.5-2hr run in a climate like sg. heat injuries would set in.Originally posted by wuming78:hm.. trg for half marathon usually ends at around 16 km? i do remember when i last trained for it while serving NS. i didnt really drink during the 16 km. rather, i used the water to pour over myself.
one other alternative is to park your bicycle or car at a location where you will loop by. that way, you should be more assured that your water source will not be tainted.
carrying a waterbag to run doesnt seem very feasible leh. you probably waste so much energy in the beginning when the bag is filled, that you will not be able to complete the entire course even when the water is consumed.
for me, i think drinking lots of water hours or even up to one day before the actual run helps. during the run, i tend not to drink much then.
running half-M isn't consider very long if you are in the running scene for a while. I have known of folks taking Marathon, UltraMarathon within weeks.Originally posted by bluez_sky:wow u r running 2 long races within a period of only 3 months?
not beri advisable unless u haf been trg regularly n clocking enough mileage during ur trg.
yes, i shove the pouch into my shorts and it hold it pretty firm.Originally posted by bluez_sky:u mean u shove de pouch into ur shorts?
mayb de high sierra pouch suits u but not me.....sigh.
no matter how i tighten de straps it still bounce up n down.
mayb my spine can't support a heavy waist pouch![]()