to really run well, run further than 2.4... dun make 2.4 yr only target... aim further then U will do betta.Originally posted by Vicente14:Thanx for all the replies guys...I really aiming for Silver....By all u who have experienced it..Is it tough to get a Silver or is it quite easy?....For me, I tink I have to tone up my 2.4km and pull ups to achieve this, so I need time to train so I can improve in these areas
silver is easy if u make it a point to maintain ur fitness.Originally posted by Vicente14:Thanx for all the replies guys...I really aiming for Silver....By all u who have experienced it..Is it tough to get a Silver or is it quite easy?....For me, I tink I have to tone up my 2.4km and pull ups to achieve this, so I need time to train so I can improve in these areas
hmmm thats what i always hear too, but i was too lazy to do extra, so always train JUST 2.4km... but in doing so i make sure i expend every last joule of runnin energy before i cross the line la... managed an 8.42min once (that was long ago) with only about 6 trainings, improved by more than a minute.Originally posted by Bontakun:to really run well, run further than 2.4... dun make 2.4 yr only target... aim further then U will do betta.![]()
To lose weight, normally run further than 3k... & da amazing thing is after U run da initial 3k or more... U feel more energetic... dats where yr muscles & heart & lungs r accustomed to da pace liao... like turbo charger...Originally posted by juvejazzman:hmmm thats what i always hear too, but i was too lazy to do extra, so always train JUST 2.4km... but in doing so i make sure i expend every last joule of runnin energy before i cross the line la... managed an 8.42min once (that was long ago) with only about 6 trainings, improved by more than a minute.
thats what i usually hear also... but i'm too lazy to do extra man... just do 2.4km and not a m more. just that i make sure i expend every last joule of runnin energy as i cross the line. its torturous but once i found the pace it was very fast improvement.Originally posted by Bontakun:to really run well, run further than 2.4... dun make 2.4 yr only target... aim further then U will do betta.![]()
this one is highly debatable! hahah, at my squadron, those men who smoke end up turnin in better times for their 2.4 than those who dont. when i ask them why they tell me its coz they wanna hurry back to grab another stick.Originally posted by Vicente14:Well...I don't smoke at all and I am 20...Anyway,my lungs have not been tainted from nicotine direct from my mouth...Will that have an advantage for me compared to those who smoke regularly?...
oh yes of course! if ur objective is to lose weight, 2.4 is not enough. it's more the time spent runnin that makes the difference. some fitness fella told me before that u only start "burnin" fat after abt 20 mins of aerobic exercise.Originally posted by Bontakun:To lose weight, normally run further than 3k... & da amazing thing is after U run da initial 3k or more... U feel more energetic... dats where yr muscles & heart & lungs r accustomed to da pace liao... like turbo charger...
to lose weight u need constant aerobic activities rather than anaerobic ones. sprinting is anaerobic. jogging is aerobic. and exercise at least 20-30 mins each time excluding warm up and cool down, else its useless. best, go and find out the ideal heart beat rate for ur weight and height, which indicates tt u have exerted sufficiently. u haf to achieve this heartbeat rate each time u exercise for the exercise to be effective.Originally posted by juvejazzman:oh yes of course! if ur objective is to lose weight, 2.4 is not enough. it's more the time spent runnin that makes the difference. some fitness fella told me before that u only start "burnin" fat after abt 20 mins of aerobic exercise.
Yar... some more running 2.4... dun U peeps tink kinda short? wat happen if need to run long dist in times of peril? some more can really get goin when running LOOOOOOOOOOONG dist leh...Originally posted by juvejazzman:oh yes of course! if ur objective is to lose weight, 2.4 is not enough. it's more the time spent runnin that makes the difference. some fitness fella told me before that u only start "burnin" fat after abt 20 mins of aerobic exercise.
I agree with Bontakun, u better train running at least 3 km. Then when u can complete 3 km within 14 minutes u will know u can definitely complete 2.4 km ...Originally posted by Bontakun:to really run well, run further than 2.4... dun make 2.4 yr only target... aim further then U will do betta.![]()
hahah i'm a natural silver medalist.......but the thing is i'm of those natural athletic build.......i was a gold medalist.....the thing is mind over body. u must tell yourself to give your best during the last 1.2km or 800m and never every walk for long period of time. b4 u run, expand your lungs by breathing in hard deep breaths. it helps. drink lots of water an hr b4 u run and drink slips to quench thirst after that. prevent KO if u over-bia. training wise.......do ten km runs over a period of 1 month twice a week and then over next 2 months once a week, u might even hit gold and confirmed silver. timing for 10 km run is under an hr. that's the guardsmen training though.Originally posted by Vicente14:Hey there guyz...Im havin my NAPFA Test for National Service around Jan-Feb....I've been doin some running around the track regularly and also on the treadmill....I want to train for my 2.4km run efficiently so I could get the Silver ranking. Does anyone have any training regimes or experiences that can share coz I really want to complete the run in under 11min 40 secs......