Originally posted by fudgester:PhD A*Star scholar.
Member of MENSA.
So........ I guess this is living proof that intelligence != wisdom.
there's a fine line between genius and insanity
wow
Eng Kai Er is quite chio
were they fully naked or half naked?
Originally posted by xunni:wow
Eng Kai Er is quite chio
in the A-Star site, she was the only girl who dyed her hair ---> Ah Lian wannabe
I will want to check if her name is still there after conviction :P
Originally posted by HyuugaNeji:were they fully naked or half naked?
Of course full la...you want to see naked elites ? :P Very nice....
Send them overseas only to have them come back with all these f**ked-up mentality and a loss of virginity too, probably due to partying with all these angmohs.
Sigh. Sweden got all this "corridor party" mah. Some more Sweden so slack, not everyday got class, if got also, maybe few hours per day. Empty mind is devil's workshop you know?????
sweden is a cold country. Must have sex regularly to keep warmth.
PhD
Permanent Head Damage
A moment of folly and erroneous judgment for a forfeit (if the two of them are to be believed). They should be punished or at least reprimanded. However, the news media, by leaving out their reasons for doing what they did in news reports, have created a story in a vaccuum.
goodness
tax payers $$
I won't defend her because clearly she did something against the law - I wouldn't say morally dubious, because I don't see the law as the definitie benchmark for moral standards, forgive me. However, I don't think this should have a bearing on her continuing to be an ASTAR scholar. Certainly I don't think tax payers' money should be refunded. Being morally dubious (assuming if she was, of course) does not make her a lesser scientist. I always thought we should select scholars for their abilities rather than their moral compass.
she wan to follow the footstep of our infamous ms chong what..... 252?
I still blame all the people at holland V who saw for not taking more and beter photos and not putting them up on the net ![]()
those got eng kai er's elite nude pictures dun forget to sic me. ![]()
Originally posted by 798:those got eng kai er's elite nude pictures dun forget to sic me.
those holland v regulars showed me liao .....
it's terrible .... not worthy of your forum .... and I think the swedish guy must have been cold, he seemed to be suffering from shrinkage ..... ![]()
Originally posted by xunni:wow
Eng Kai Er is quite chio
Chio?? u from A star too?? brain or eyes for some problem??
Couple who walked in nude at Holland Village fined S$2,000 each
SINGAPORE : A couple who walked nude at Singapore's Holland Village in January, were fined S$2,000 each on Thursday.
However, they escaped a jail term as Singapore's Miscellaneous Offences
Act stipulates that an offender can be fined a maximum S$2,000, or
jailed 3 months, or both.
The pair, students at a Swedish university, appeared in court on Thursday.
In January, 21-year-old Swede Jan Philip, and 24-year-old
Singaporean Eng Kai Er, had stripped at a nearby car park and walked
naked at Holland Village, a popular hangout amongst foreigners.
In mitigation, Philip claimed he misapprehended the law regarding
obscene acts, and did not know public nudity is an offence in
Singapore.
The court also heard testimonials of Eng, who was described as a
person who contributes to society through her research work in
infectious diseases.
The A*STAR scholar has also been involved in street projects in the past, promoting safe sex education.
- CNA /ls
I think its ok to be free lah. Its not like sucking up the whole nation money! Image this face is Ho Jinx's face! OMFG!
Originally posted by monoslayer:get out of my uncaring, elite face.
Haha... the quote from a fat girl... from RJC right?
nice raisin. :P
will she still be with a*star? or just be a warning letter from a*star?
Originally posted by 798:nice raisin. :P
Lol... i saw it too! Raisins are good for health!
Originally posted by Rednano:will she still be with a*star? or just be a warning letter from a*star?
I'm thinking that A*Star will convene an inquiry panel and punish her in some way.....
I don't think it'll come to outright termination of her scholarship, since there's no academic fraud involved like stealing some other dude's research.....
I'm guessing warning letter + putting her scholarship on probation for the remainder of the term, i.e. one more mistake and she's kaput.
Nude stroll in Holland Village was for the ‘thrill’
They had a street agog with curiosity and a nation wondering about their naked jaunt down Lorong Mambong in Holland Village.
Yesterday, a district court heard that the couple had done it for the "thrill" of it all.
And for that, Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*) PhD scholar Eng Kai Er and Swede Jan Philip were fined $2,000 each, after pleading guilty to strolling in the buff in public on Jan 24 at about 11pm.
Defence lawyer William Chan said in mitigation that the act was "spontaneous" and that both Eng and Philip had been drinking at Holland Village, he said.
The lawyer added that before they decided to take their clothes off, Philip had checked to see if public nudity was a crime.
He had looked up the Penal Code, which stated that obscene acts are illegal, but he did not realise public nudity was an offence.
Mr Chan said the duo were unfamiliar with Singapore law and had "misapprehended" the statute.
Although Eng is a Singaporean, she has been studying overseas and "misunderstood that while certain things are accepted overseas, they are not here in Singapore".
He added that "public nudity is frowned upon, but nudity itself is a natural aspect of a person" and "nudity per se is not obscene and is not illegal".
The two had walked in a "graceful and dignified manner" with no lewd gestures, obscene speeches or touching of any parts of their bodies.
"There was no reaction of disgust. The people reacted with cheers as was reported in the newspapers," said Mr Chan, pointing out that the act was committed late on a Saturday night at a place "well-known for expatriates and locals to relax and drink" with no children or housing estates nearby.
A Housing Board estate sits on the fringe of Lorong Mambong and the eateries there are popular with families.
The lawyer said the pair regretted their actions and are students with "a future and bright prospects to contribute to society, whether Singapore or internationally".
He added that Eng is involved in projects to "help prostitutes who need education and assistance" and helps in handing out safe sex pamphlets to make travellers going to the Riau Islands.
Eng, 24, is currently pursuing a biomedical science course at Sweden's Karolinska Institue.
When contacted for comments about the sentence, an A*Star spokeswoman said: "Naturally, we are disappointed that one of our scholars is guilty of an offence. A*Start will now review the matter with Kai Er and decide on the appropriate course of action."
Philip, 21, is an exchange student at the National University of Singapore and is expected to leave the Republic soon.
Approached for comments as they left the court separately, Ms Eng did not say anything, while Mr Philip said "goodbye" in Mandarin.
Both Eng and Philip had arrived together for the court session clad in black and white suits.
They wore caps and sunglasses, using umbrellas to shield their faces from photgraphers as they got out of the car.
Eng also wore a mask.
They looked calm throughout the session, smiling and speaking to each other occasionally.
- TODAY
sometimes I think they really sooner or later need to clearly write down black and white exactly what acts are chargable offences under e public disorder thingy