Another food outlet has caused a series of food poisoning cases, this time, a steamboat restaurant in Geylang.
The Health Ministry says 12 people exhibited signs of food poisoning, including vomiting, diarrhea and abdominal pain.
All gave a history of consuming food from steamboat restaurant, Ba Shu Ren Jia, located at 233 Lorong 9 Geylang Road.
All received outpatient treatment.
Members of the public who have patronized the restaurant and are experiencing symptoms of food poisoning, are advised to seek immediate medical attention.
MOH and the National Environment Agency are investigating the incident.
This comes in the wake of an early food poisoning case, which saw more than 150 affected after consuming food at a Rojak stall in Geylang Serai Temporary Market.
--938Live
last nite i went mala steamboat at beach rd.....
then we were saying.... hope we all wun be on the news.........
wha tsk tsk... epidemic.
1. Rojak.
2. Steamboat.
3. Continue the list.
Originally posted by FireIce:last nite i went mala steamboat at beach rd.....
then we were saying.... hope we all wun be on the news.........
if u were, would u let us know? =x
Originally posted by nganmatthias:1. Rojak.
2. Steamboat.
3. Continue the list.
fish porridge.
i was having lunch at bishan one of those kopithiam today
i saw the stall owner trying to clean a hard to reach area with a cloth tied around the tip of a stick. and he was sweeping and scraping away at dust or smth, and below the area where he was sweeping, is the place where he keeps the raw fish, uncovered.
so any dirt could have dropped into the fish container.
As long as don't touch anything from Geylang.... U are safe! :D
Perm Sec: Damn, I have to cancelled my pasta cooking lesson in Italy liao.
I guess they have to start their "routine" spring cleaning of Geylang very soon.
Good for the poodles.
Finally, they are doing what they paid for.
Catching rat and cockcroaches.
Oh dear,
I hope nobody will lose their life due to this steambeat food poisoning. ![]()
Originally posted by nganmatthias:1. Rojak.
2. Steamboat.
3. Continue the list.
Teppanyaki. LOL...
Rojak
Steamboat
Teppanyaki
Unagi
Vegetarian Food
W??
Xiao Long Bao
Yong Tau Foo
Z??
Originally posted by CannyOng:As long as don't touch anything from Geylang.... U are safe! :D
Those fellas must wash their hands after they take off their condoms. We'll all be safe.
Steamboat restaurant continues operations while under investigation
by Joanne Chan
It's business as usual for the Sichuan steamboat restaurant, Ba Shu Ren Jia, believed to be the source of 12 food poisoning incidents.
The restaurant's currently under investigations by the Health Ministry and the National Environment Agency, but has been allowed to continue operations after a preliminary check revealed no hygiene discrepancies.
When 938LIVE paid a visit to Ba Shu Ren Jia, an NEA grading certificate was placed prominently on the front doors, showing that the restaurant had attained a "B" grade.
It was accompanied by the words "Good in Cleanliness and Food Hygiene".
Speaking to 938LIVE over the phone, the restaurant's owner, 30-year-old He Min, said that 5 NEA officers paid a visit yesterday afternoon and conducted checks.
The officers examined the whole restaurant, and took samples of the raw food for testing.
At the end of the visit, the steamboat restaurant was given the go-ahead to continue operations, and the officers issued a new grading certificate.
Mr He said his restaurant saw more than 300 customers on Friday night, and to date, the number of people who fell ill has been limited to the 12 cases.
He said it was not possible to immediately classify these cases as food poisoning, as NEA has yet to make a conclusive report.
In addition, Mr He said some patrons may not be accustomed to eating Sichuan steamboat, which is famous for its extra spicy soup.
"We cannot be certain at this point that it's food poisoning. Eating steamboat involves cooking raw food and sometimes, customers do not cook the food all the way through. If you have a weak stomach, you might get diarrhoea. It's also possible that because we serve a spicy mala soup stock, some stomachs cannot take the spiciness and end up in diarrhoea."
Caller to the MediaCorp hotline, Ms Wang, said that she had gone to the steamboat restaurant on Friday with 7 other people, including her husband.
That same evening, all 8 people experienced diarrhoea.
Ms Wang's husband was subsequently sent to NUH, as he showed the worst symptoms, including dehydration, low blood pressure and cold chills.
Ms Wang said the paramedics told her others in the hospital had come down with similar signs of food poisoning.
The paramedics told me that there were others in the hospital who exhibited the same symptoms, and all of them had eaten at the same restaurant. All showed signs of low blood pressure, dehydration, dizziness and stomachaches.
Ms Wang noted that the restaurant looked relatively clean, but suspects that the seafood may have triggered the food poisoning.
--938Live
2 more struck by food poisoning after eating at Geylang restaurant
SINGAPORE : Two more people have come down with food poisoning
after eating at the steamboat restaurant BaShu RenJia in Geylang on
Friday, bringing the total number of cases to 14.
Two were hospitalised, and one of them has since been discharged
The case comes hot on the heels of another mass food poisoning case involving a rojak stall at Geylang Serai Temporary Market.
The steamboat restaurant operator said that after the incident on
Friday, five officers from the National Environment Agency (NEA) came
to collect food samples for testing.
A joint statement from the Health Ministry and NEA said that they
did not detect any hygiene lapses likely to be linked to the food
poisoning, after conducting checks on the premises.
And so while the shop will remain in operation, the operator has
advised its customers to ensure their food is thoroughly cooked before
consumption.
However, 13 of its food handlers have been sent for screening at the Communicable Disease Centre.
The place, which has a "B" grade for hygiene, said it has since beefed up its level of cleanliness.
Wu Xiao Ju, worker, said: "After the incident, we cleaned every
corner of the place. It has been cleaned thoroughly. Our ingredients
are fresh and the food items are prepared every day. And we use
detergent to clean the tables, floor and walls."
The restaurant said it received many calls from concerned customers following the incident.
Business has since dropped by half, but some customers are still patronising the place.
One customer said: "I am confident of the food quality at this restaurant. I am not worried at all."
The restaurant said some customers who are not used to the spiciness of the steamboat could end up with upset stomachs.
Channel NewsAsia spoke with Wang Zhen Hui, one of the people
affected by the food poisoning. He and seven others were hit after
eating at the place Friday night. Mr Wang ended up in hospital.
He said: "When I was at the hospital, I met this stranger. He was
on the bed next to me. He had the same symptoms. He also ate the
steamboat that night. So I guessed it could be the plates because they
felt very oily."
He was discharged on Saturday afternoon to recuperate at home while his friends received outpatient treatment.
- CNA/ms
jialat man
Three new cases in steamboat food poisoning
SINGAPORE: Three more people have food poisoning after eating at
the steamboat restaurant BaShu RenJia at Geylang Road, bringing the
total number of cases to 17.
These cases developed the onset of illness between 9 and 11 April. They
had consumed food at the steamboat restaurant from 9 to 10 April.
All except two patients received outpatient treatment. The two hospitalised patients have since been discharged.
Meanwhile no new cases were reported from the "Rojak Geylang Serai" stall's mass food poisoning incident.
Stool cultures of five food handlers from the "Rojak Geylang Serai"
stall have tested negative for Vibrio parahaemolyticus bacteria which
was found in 12 cases.
The result for the food handler from the neighbouring mee siam stall is still pending.
In a bid to win customers' confidence after the "Rojak Geylang Serai"
stall's food poisoning outbreak, three temporary markets have brought
forward their spring cleaning exercise.
At the Albert Centre Temporary Market, over 170 stalls took part in the
National Environment Agency's Spring Cleaning Exercise on Monday
morning.
Besides the stalls, ceilings, fans and other shared spaces were also cleaned.
NEA officers did not report any rat problems at the market. But the
hygiene ratings for the 73 cooked food stalls in the market have fallen
after it moved to the temporary premises near Bugis MRT Station.
NEA's grading assessment three months after the move showed two stalls
losing their "A" rating, while more than 40 stalls lost their "B"
ratings. And the "C" ratings saw a threefold increase.
NEA cites the housekeeping and poorer fittings and fixtures at the temporary premises as reasons for the change in ratings.
Two other temporary markets - at Ang Mo Kio and Tekka - also brought forward their spring cleaning exercise to Monday.
Spring cleaning for the temporary market near Ang Mo Kio Block 628 was
scheduled on 27 April, while the Tekka Temporary Market was supposed to
conduct its spring cleaning in May.
- CNA/ir
This brings the total number of cases so far to 19.
In all cases, patrons developed symptoms of food poisoning - vomiting, diarrhoea and abdominal pain - last Friday and Saturday.
They had eaten at the Sichuan restaurant, located at 233, Geylang Lorong 9, last Thursday and Friday.
The results of screening tests conducted on 13 food handlers at the Communicable Disease Centre are still pending.
--ST
MOH expects test results of steamboat restaurant food handlers to take two weeks
The Health Ministry says it expects test results on the 13 food handlers working for the steamboat restaurant in Geylang to be ready soon.
The ministry will be working closely with the Communicable Disease Center to expedite the testing, but said the process can sometimes take up to two weeks.
19 people suffered from food poisoning after eating at the steamboat restaurant.
MOH says the food handlers are being screened for food borne pathogens, and added that they would not be directing any more food handlers to undergo tests.
Those who test positive will be prevented from engaging in the preparation and sale of food.
They will later be required to undergo re-screening by a medical practitioner to be certified free of infection.
--938Live
GG eat at home better liao