BANGKOK – Actor David Carradine, star of the 1970s TV series "Kung Fu" who also had a wide-ranging career in the movies, has been found dead in the Thai capital, Bangkok. A news report said he was found hanged in his hotel room and was believed to have committed suicide.
A spokesman for the U.S. Embassy, Michael Turner, confirmed the death of the 72-year-old actor. He said Carradine died either late Wednesday or early Thursday, but he could not provide further details out of consideration for his family.
The Web site of the Thai newspaper The Nation cited unidentified police sources as saying Carradine was found Thursday hanged in his luxury hotel room and is believed to have committed suicide.
Carradine was a leading member of a venerable Hollywood acting family that included his father, character actor John Carradine, and brother Keith.
In all, he appeared in more than 100 feature films with such directors as Martin Scorsese, Ingmar Bergman and Hal Ashby.
But he was best known for his role as Kwai Chang Caine, a Shaolin priest traveling the 1800s American frontier West in the TV series "Kung Fu," which aired in 1972-75.
He reprised the role in a mid-1980s TV movie and played Caine's grandson in the 1990s syndicated series "Kung Fu: The Legend Continues."
He returned to the top in recent years as the title character in Quentin Tarantino's two-part saga "Kill Bill."
-AP
___
Thai police say actor David Carradine may have died from accidental suffocation
BANGKOK (AP) — The body of American actor David Carradine, best known for the 1970s TV series "Kung Fu," was found in a hotel room closet with a rope tied to his neck and genitals, and his death may have been accidental suffocation, Thai police said Friday.
The 72-year-old actor's body was discovered Thursday in his luxury suite at Bangkok's Swissotel Nai Lert Park Hotel. Police initially said they suspected suicide, though Carradine's associates had questioned that theory.
Police Lt. Gen. Worapong Chewprecha told reporters that Carradine was found with a rope "tied around his penis and another rope around his neck."
"The two ropes were tied together," he said. "It is unclear whether he committed suicide or not or he died of suffocation or heart failure due to an orgasm."
Thai police completed an autopsy on Carradine Friday but so far have not released the results.
Carradine may have died from sex act: Thai police
BANGKOK (AFP) - - A Thai police commander said Friday that US actor David Carradine, found hanged in his Bangkok hotel room, may have died from a sex act gone wrong.
"There was a rope tied around his neck and another rope tied at his sex organ, and the two ropes were tied together and hung in the closet," Lieutenant General Worapong Siewpreecha told reporters.
"Under these circumstances we cannot be sure that he committed suicide but he may have died from masturbation," he said.
Carradine , star of 1970s TV series "Kung Fu" and the "Kill Bill" movies, was found naked and hanging in a closet in his hotel room by a housekeeper on Thursday morning. He was 72.
He was in the Thai capital to shoot a film called "Stretch."
Worapong said police had questioned the production crew working on the film on the day of Carradine's death, who told them the actor "drank beer from morning until evening the day before he was found dead," he said.
Police said an autopsy report was expected within the next day, while forensic police had dusted the hotel room and were testing a drink found in Carradine's room.
They have also asked the United States embassy for permission to question his wife, Worapong said.
Forensic expert Porntip Rojanasunan, who works with Thailand's Ministry of Justice, said the death appeared to be caused by an "auto-erotic accident."
"It's not suicide or murder but he died... after masturbation," Porntip told AFP.
Police officer Pirom Janthapirom told AFP that there was no sign of bruising on Carradine's body. Security cameras showed no one going in or out of Carradine's room, which had been locked from the inside, he said.
The producer of "Stretch," French firm MK2, said Carradine was found at the Nai Lert Park hotel three days before the end of filming for the movie.
A spokesman for the company said Carradine's death "could be accidental."
--AFP
I heard of ppl strangulating the other partner to the point of death then letting go, think they get some kind of high out of it. Self strangulation? ![]()
At least we know he died happy and cock standing. ![]()
Dunno, may be is a new type of kung fu he was practising that gone seriously wrong.![]()
damn the 'deadly five point palm exploding heart technique'!
gooodnesss...
i wonder wad happened actually...
He was doing some bondage cum suffocation cum masturbation technique I guess. ![]()
Y he at Bangkok?
Call Chicken? >.<
Originally posted by deepak.c:
He was doing some bondage cum suffocation cum masturbation technique I guess.
Highly complex kung fu moves, cannot contemplate.![]()
Or could it be murder with all the ropes as cover up?
I don't understand these rich celebs sometimes, they are so filthy rich and they don't know how to enjoy their lives. ![]()
Tying themselves on the neck and genitalia, then proceed to do some bizarre sex act.
Fun meh? ![]()
He was one of my fav actor together w chuck norris when i was young... Kinda sad to hear him passed on. Guess all highly profilic icons mostly end life either accidentaly or intentionally.... like kurt cobain etc...
Originally posted by deepak.c:
I don't understand these rich celebs sometimes, they are so filthy rich and they don't know how to enjoy their lives.
Trying themselves on the neck and genitalia, then proceed to do some bizarre sex act.
Fun meh?
i
He bought a women into his room and have fun while having his gential on rope he discover that the women is ah gua then....
I...don't know him.... ![]()
Originally posted by lianamaster:I...don't know him....
u can call him Bill a.k.a snake charmer.
Hes sooooo old school lor. If ur like me keep glued to e tv in e late 80's 90's den u will know him. Or google him n see wat movies he acted b4.. Mostly martial arts flim thou..
Try to watch some of e old production dramas mostly r way better den now even e chinese dramas also..
Originally posted by Firestarie:Hes sooooo old school lor. If ur like me keep glued to e tv in e late 80's 90's den u will know him. Or google him n see wat movies he acted b4.. Mostly martial arts flim thou..
Try to watch some of e old production dramas mostly r way better den now even e chinese dramas also..
Yah, he old man type like me watch him slow motion kung fu. hehe![]()
Originally posted by Cool-gal:gooodnesss...
i wonder wad happened actually...
You can speculate
1) He was learning some sceret shao lin Confu.....
2) He was kill and tied in this manner
3) He was having erotics fetish and kill by accident.
Originally posted by Arapahoe:You can speculate
1) He was learning some sceret shao lin Confu.....
2) He was kill and tied in this manner
3) He was having erotics fetish and kill by accident.
but, i have a feeling tat he was murdered..
who on earth would tie his neck n penis, when u feel suffocating or suffering, of cos u will release urself..
tie to penis shiok meh?
Originally posted by Cool-gal:
but, i have a feeling tat he was murdered..who on earth would tie his neck n penis, when u feel suffocating or suffering, of cos u will release urself..
tie to penis shiok meh?
I agree with you, I believe he was murdered.
Probably all these ropes are decoys to cover up.
Originally posted by Cool-gal:
but, i have a feeling tat he was murdered..who on earth would tie his neck n penis, when u feel suffocating or suffering, of cos u will release urself..
tie to penis shiok meh?
"tie to penis shiok meh?"
I really don't know. Never done it before. Maybe you can try it on your bf and tell us the feeling. ![]()
I read before if u sort of dun breathe as long as possible and masturbate then when u orgasm it will be very shiok.
Never tried it before though. Maybe he was doing this? Or some variation of it i think.
Cuz u can control your orgasm by breathing correctly when having sex or whatever la.
Maybe by not breathing or suffocating yourself u can achieve a very heartstopping orgasm haha.
less blood to brain more blood to your little bro
Friday 12th June, 06:00 AM JST
LOS ANGELES —
The forensics expert hired by David Carradine’s family has concluded that the
“Kung Fu” actor did not commit suicide, but said that more information was
needed from Thai investigators before the cause of death could be
determined.
Carradine’s brothers, Keith and Robert Carradine, each read
part of a prepared statement to reporters from The Associated Press at a Los
Angeles hotel Thursday morning. In their first appearance since their older
brother was found hanging in a Bangkok hotel room closet last week, they thanked
supporters and asked for privacy.
“This is a devastating loss for our
family and we greatly appreciate the compassion pouring in from all over the
world,” Keith Carradine said.
They also released a statement by Dr
Michael Baden of New York that indicated a second autopsy determined Carradine
didn’t kill himself.
“However, to reach a final determination as to the
cause and the manner of death, we must wait for further information from
Thailand as to the scene findings and the completion of the crime laboratory and
toxicology studies that are still being performed,” Baden’s statement
said.
Reached by phone after the morning briefing, Baden said he expects
to receive more information from Thai authorities in a week or two and stressed
that the information at hand was incomplete. Baden didn’t elaborate on how
suicide was ruled out.
“The autopsy is only part of the analysis,” he
said.
In the meantime, Robert Carradine asked the public and press for
patience and time to allow the family to grieve.
“Until we have all of
the pending results of the investigation we respectfully ask ... that we be
allowed to lay our beloved brother, husband, father, grandfather and
great-grandfather to rest in peace and with dignity,” Robert Carradine
said.
Rampant speculation about the actor’s death has swirled since a
chambermaid at the luxury Swissotel Nai Lert Park Hotel in Bangkok discovered
his body hanging in the closet of his room June 4. A Thai newspaper published a
graphic photo of the death scene that police have said appears to be a leaked
forensics image.
Thai police initially said they suspected Carradine’s
death was a suicide, but later conceded it could have been accidental. Their
description—that the actor’s body was found nude, with ropes around his neck,
wrist and genitals—fueled speculation that he was killed while engaging in a
dangerous sex practice called auto-erotic asphyxiation.
Thai authorities
said on June 5 that it would take about three weeks for the results of their
autopsy to be released.
Medical examiners in the United States and Canada
generally classify auto-erotic asphyxiation deaths as accidental.
Keith
Carradine last week asked the FBI to take a role, and Thai authorities later
said they would allow FBI agents to observe their investigation, but not take an
active role. FBI spokeswoman Laura Eimiller said earlier this week that the
agency would not make any more comments about its role in the Carradine
investigation, but that agents stationed in Thailand have a good relationship
with local authorities.
Agents typically only get involved in the deaths
of U.S. citizens abroad when foul play is involved, she said.
Others who
knew the 72-year-old actor have said they suspect foul play was involved. Keith
and Robert Carradine on Thursday urged everyone to wait until the investigation
has concluded.
“Once the investigation is fully completed and definitive
conclusions have been reached, we will address the findings with the public,”
Robert Carradine said.
Both Keith and Robert Carradine shared the screen
with their brother, a prolific TV and film actor. David Carradine rose to
prominence for his role on the “Kung Fu” series in the 1970s and experienced a
resurgence in popularity after his role in Quentin Tarantino’s “Kill Bill”
movies earlier this decade.
The family’s statement did not indicate the
location of his body, or offer any information about funeral arrangements. They
did not take questions Thursday after reading the statements.