I just got back from a nice visit to Singapore a day ago, and besides the weather, it was a great trip.
It seemed that swine flu is big in the news these days because of the rampant spreading of the bug in Singapore, and the health officials have taken steps to educate the people on precautions, such as the washing of hands, staying at home if you're sick, etc.
On this note, I had many, many meals with friends and family, and I noticed that there wasn't a big emphasis on using the serving spoons in the shared dishes.
Everyone was using their individual utensils to get food from the shared dishes, and I would think that this is a sure way to spread the flu bug.
Is it just the circle of people I eat with, or is this a common practice in Singapore?
If you think about it, it's pretty gross for everyone to use their individual utensils to pick at food, and I'm surprised that the health officials haven't highlighted this to the public.
Has anyone noticed this also, or am I just being a hypochondriac?
maybe its the people you eat with, since my fam. uses a serving spoon for the shared dishes
its best to always use a serving spoon..
good observation ... yah, it is not really a common practice here.
how about buying individual portions from now on :)
not mi not mi
Originally posted by QX179R:its best to always use a serving spoon..
hawker center no give serving spoon la.. only restuarants.
Originally posted by Bubblyl3:hawker center no give serving spoon la.. only restuarants.
I mean at home, sry..
err, it depends on what you eat at the hawker? They do give serving spoons.
Better still split the food into different plates/ bowls.
Split nicely and use serving utensils, and all it takes is a sneeze and voila all kena infected.
if so, then every dinner should be seated 2 metres apart
all must wear masks oso
dun ask me wear mask liao how to eat becos tts the point. rite?
Hmm, maybe the government should break out a new mascot, like the courtesy lion, to educate people on using serving spoons.
Like the serving spoon octopus of something.
Originally posted by Boomslang4829:Hmm, maybe the government should break out a new mascot, like the courtesy lion, to educate people on using serving spoons.
Like the serving spoon octopus of something.
We got the courtesy mascot Singa lion wearing a mask, to educate the public on wearing masks if sick.
i saw bangalas sticking stickers on the singa lions tummy beside MITA on tues.
Originally posted by tranquilice:
We got the courtesy mascot Singa lion wearing a mask, to educate the public on wearing masks if sick.
Tourists went to take photos of it instead. Cute hor?
Originally posted by lianamaster:Tourists went to take photos of it instead. Cute hor?
I came across this blog: http://tinyprint.livejournal.com
She took photo with the singa lion, just not sure is she a local? Scroll down to the bottom to see.
Originally posted by tranquilice:
I came across this blog: http://tinyprint.livejournal.comShe took photo with the singa lion, just not sure is she a local? Scroll down to the bottom to see.
I saw the news yesterday and saw tourist took photo of the Singa wearing mask. ![]()