http://sg.news.yahoo.com/cna/20090915/tap-139-pm-lee-says-singapore-greater-ef-231650b.html
SINGAPORE: Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong spoke at length on Tuesday evening, to some 1,500 students at the Nanyang Technological University on Singapore’s immigration policy and also gave the assurance that the interest of citizens will always come first.
He said that the country will make greater efforts at fostering integration of new arrivals and that the National Integration Council will announce its initiatives soon.
"This is not a one problem you can solve one off, just answer an exam paper and settled. But it is a continuing issue with no final solution, where you have to manage it, decide, adjust your policy from time to time and as circumstances changed, adapt it in order to keep on going forward. And it’s a problem where what we do doesn’t just depend on the government or the government’s decisions but on how open our society is and how well Singaporeans adjust to and integrate new arrivals. And that depends on you, as your enter the workforce, work, settle your families and become the next generation of Singaporeans, what kind of Singapore you want," said Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.
He said that while Singaporeans understand the need for immigrants and foreign workers, they still have some concerns given the large inflow in the last few years.
When the Singapore economy was booming the country admitted many foreigners — more than 100,000 per year in recent years. Mr Lee, however, said the country will not continue to admit people at this pace as the nation cannot expect to continue booming as in the last few years.
So over the long term while Singapore needs to continue bringing in immigrants, it will be mindful of how quickly its society can absorb and integrate new arrivals.
"In the midst of all these discussions about Singaporeans and non—Singaporeans, I should emphasise one point— that in Singapore, the interests of citizens have to always come first. Not a short term interest but a long term interest. It is to safeguard the long term interest of Singaporeans, we must have a sustained, calibrated inflow of immigrants. We will make this differentiation sharper over time to reflect the responsibilities and privileges of citizenship. But we cannot make it so onerous for PRs and non—residents that nobody wants to come," Mr Lee said.
Furthermore, he mentioned that Singapore’s critical constraint isn’t with physical space but with its people — that with more good people, the country can generate new and creative ideas to expand the space and create more opportunities.
At the start of his speech, Mr Lee also had a word on the Singapore economy for his audience.
He said the third quarter economic forecast didn’t look bad.
But he cautioned that the nation must be psychologically prepared for a slow pickup and even surprises like a W—shaped recovery.
A lot of people don't believe what they say anymore.
Haiz.
So sad. ![]()
I think what PM Lee really mean is that he will put in more effort to bring in more foreigners to steal more jobs and give more benefits to them
He will tell you that the current job losses mostly from foreigners, but if those foreigners don't take up Singaporeans job, we won't have the current unemployment rate. ![]()
Originally posted by deepak.c:
He will tell you that the current job losses mostly from foreigners, but if those foreigners don't take up Singaporeans job, we won't have the current unemployment rate.
Seriously, they ran out of ideas already.
I suspect in coming years, graduates will have to become croupiers and dealers in the casinoes just to make a living. ![]()
Originally posted by deepak.c:
He will tell you that the current job losses mostly from foreigners, but if those foreigners don't take up Singaporeans job, we won't have the current unemployment rate.
So we pay him the world's highest salary for him to talk kok to us ![]()
Why PAP everyday like to repeat same bullshit to us.
hear very sian leh.
So tiring , listening to all the same fucking crap.
They want to flood island with foreign aliens, destroy singaporean morale until when, these bastard blood suckers of singapore.
This fucking Lee Hsien Loong, son of the old bastard.
him saying all these of late and taking all the softer stand can only mean 1 thing;
election is coming....
Originally posted by redDUST:him saying all these of late and taking all the softer stand can only mean 1 thing;
election is coming....
Just thinking whether Singaporeans will be smarter this time round.
If Singaporeans want to continue to believe them and slog for the rest of their lives till death, then nothing to say liao. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Just thinking whether Singaporeans will be smarter this time round.
Need anti-PAP propaganda wah.
Some morons also brainwashed by state media.
Everyday go and read St, everyday go and watch mediacorp, how to be politicised like that?
all fucking PAP state fucking propaganda, only want to brainwash people go vote fucking pap.
Originally posted by charlize:Just thinking whether Singaporeans will be smarter this time round.
If Singaporeans want to continue to believe them and slog for the rest of their lives till death, then nothing to say liao.
i think singaporeans are smart enuf, it's just that there is no viable alternative that they can exercise their vote on; either with the PAP's clamping down the avenues for a fairer election or the pool of alternative talents standing for election is still negligible. all becos lau lee is still around.
if you look at it, it is truly a sad situation to be in. you can choose any leader here as long as it is PAP. what hope and aspiration singapore has when you are down to a choice of 1?
Originally posted by redDUST:
i think singaporeans are smart enuf
What about those who are brainwashed by PAP state media propaganda, will they vote against PAP?
Originally posted by angel3070:What about those who are brainwashed by PAP state media propaganda, will they vote against PAP?
at the end of the day, singaporean are a pragmatic lot. they still need to put food on the table. becos the majority of the citizens are are still just making enuf to live, they will not rock the boat as much. typically, it is the exasperated bunch who will `take the risk'. however, the guys who just have enuf to go buy, with a little excess will not want to change the status quo since they have much to lose.
the beauty of the pap governance system is that they put just enuf on the table for the people to live by, so these large band of these group of people are caught between a rock and a hard place. the fact that the govenment can pull the food mat off your table easily if they want to makes you think twice about voting against them. the guys that speaks up are those who have something to fall back on, or have nothing on their shirt so they couldn't care less. however, even for the former, the government has its way of bankrupting these people, emotionally and materially.
my take is still the same, the day the old man continues breathing, nothing will change.....so depending on which generation of singaporean you are, you can be hopeful or resign to your fate.
my take is still the same, the day the old man continues breathing, nothing will change
like that the old bastard better die as soon as possible.
old fucking blood sucker, put all the lees into power.
redDUSt, why Ho ching lose billions in Temasek but still is CEO?
Originally posted by angel3070:Why PAP everyday like to repeat same bullshit to us.
hear very sian leh.
So tiring , listening to all the same fucking crap.
They want to flood island with foreign aliens, destroy singaporean morale until when, these bastard blood suckers of singapore.
This fucking Lee Hsien Loong, son of the old bastard.
Don't blame him for it is this much he can do for someone with no PM calibre, no capability as a nation leader. Always remember he was born with a silver spoon in his mouth and doubt he is interested to find out about the ground.
like the boy who cried wolf.
I think LHL cry wolf too many times liao. Thats why ppl regard what comes out of his mouth as shit.
to the fark with him lar, only care about $$ and economic growth and world class country. He is not even 1/2 as capable as his father, NATO! It is sad that we have this kind of leader who just only want make economic progress for their annual salary. U let foreigners come here and take our jobs, we will leave to other country for better paying jobs, since there is no point being in Singapore anymore!
at the end of the day, singaporean are a pragmatic lot. they still need to put food on the table. becos the majority of the citizens are are still just making enuf to live, they will not rock the boat as much. typically, it is the exasperated bunch who will `take the risk'. however, the guys who just have enuf to go buy, with a little excess will not want to change the status quo since they have much to lose.the beauty of the pap governance system is that they put just enuf on the table for the people to live by, so these large band of these group of people are caught between a rock and a hard place. the fact that the govenment can pull the food mat off your table easily if they want to makes you think twice about voting against them. the guys that speaks up are those who have something to fall back on, or have nothing on their shirt so they couldn't care less. however, even for the former, the government has its way of bankrupting these people, emotionally and materially.
my take is still the same, the day the old man continues breathing, nothing will change.....so depending on which generation of singaporean you are, you can be hopeful or resign to your fate.
I agree with you that Singaporeans generally don't want to replace the current party with the opposition.
However, it seems like the "soft" option of continually giving them support during election time is making them take Singaporeans for granted more and more.
We all know what happens after elections, they go back to squeezing Singaporeans till the next election.
It seems now that the "hard" option of voting opposition (by at least making them lose 1 GRC) to ensure that they listen to the concerns of the people may be needed to tell them enough is enough.
I don't want the opposition running the country. I just want the current government to listen to the commonfolk and do what is best to ensure that Singaporeans are taken care of and not exploited. ![]()
Doubt they will change as long as they rule.
Oppositions can be "fixed".![]()
Originally posted by charlize:I just want the current government to listen to the commonfolk and do what is best to ensure that Singaporeans are taken care of and not exploited.
They won't do that unless they are voted out of power.
That's not the end. Now, they have something new. Look at today's papers, the National Integration Council (NIC) will be given a S$10 million fund set up by government—led taskforce for projects to foster interaction between locals and new immigrants.
Wow wee, yahoo! Which means we will have more parties in our CC. Makan with them and orgy later. I am targeting at viet girls. You guys?
Originally posted by NaCha:That's not the end. Now, they have something new. Look at today's papers, the National Integration Council (NIC) will be given a S$10 million fund set up by government—led taskforce for projects to foster interaction between locals and new immigrants.
Wow wee, yahoo! Which means we will have more parties in our CC. Makan with them and orgy later. I am targeting at viet girls. You guys?
The ruling party is all for the foreigners. Should change name to Foreigners Action Party then having the name People's Action Party
Welcome to
The Land of Rojak !
Originally posted by noahnoah:
Welcome to
The Land of Rojak !
Welcome to
The Land of Rosak !
Well, I change my mind.
Let's integrate them with open arms FIRST. (You know the meaning of FIRST?)
Then we.... at LAST. Last may not be the same as First.
Hahaha.