Government sets up S$10m fund to promote social integration
SINGAPORE: A S$10 million fund has been set up by a government-led taskforce for projects that foster interaction between locals and new immigrants.
Outlining its plans for the first time on Wednesday, the National
Integration Council (NIC) announced broad proposals to reach out to new
immigrants through the community, schools and workplace.
The aim is to get locals and new immigrants to expand their social
circles to include each other. For instance, more new citizens and
permanent residents (PRs) could be included in community festivities,
such as celebrations of ethnic festivals and the National Day Parade.
Children could also have meals together with their new friends in
school, and there could be more English classes for those unfamiliar
with the language at work.
Formed in April this year, the NIC comprises private and public sector representatives, including six Cabinet ministers.
On Tuesday, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong spoke at length about
the need to absorb new arrivals while maintaining the tone of
Singapore's society. But the government also added that there is a
limit to what it can do.
Community Development, Youth and Sports Minister Vivian
Balakrishnan, who is also chairman of NIC, said: "The key thing now
will, in fact, be the ground-up experience. Will people on the ground
buy into this? Will they understand the need for this? Will they want
to participate in these activities?
"I've got no illusions; this is not something that can be solved in
one day or one week, or even one year. It's a long-term initiative."
To speed things along, the government is pumping S$10 million over
three years towards grassroots initiatives that promote integration.
The money will fund up to 80 per cent of these projects.
However, one community-based group said cultural differences may not necessarily be a bad thing.
Tony Du, president of the Tian Fu Club, said: "A multiracial
society working together, accepting each other's differences and
learning from each other. As long as we work for Singapore's future,
that is what counts."
Over 2,000 members of the Tian Fu Club came from China and most of them are now either Singapore citizens or PRs.
On how the government will adjust the inflow of new immigrants, Dr
Balakrishnan said more details will be revealed when the high-level
Economic Strategies Committee releases its recommendations.
- CNA/so
More Amazing Races! ![]()
they proudly announce it that they are willing to spend $10m of tax payer money to fix a problem they have created.
all this could have been avoided if they screen the so call FT or FL they let in.
u just gota love the way they made every failure/mistake look these good. ![]()
wow, waste money on this type of bullshit program.
Which bastard in government came up with this fucking idea.
Suck too much public money already, spend on foreign aliens.
sayang sayang you, foreign alien, I tax the simple minded people's money come and spend on you, sayang you.
Wow, foreigner good, local is worthless!
poor people tell them fuck off. I go spend my 10 million on pampering foreign aliens.
i am struggling to pay for my housing loans, education loan ANd HERE U ARE TALKING ABOUT SOME BULLSH*T PROGRAM WHICH COST 10 MILLION.
10 MILLION CAN PROVIDE SCHOLARSHIP TO MORE THAN 50 STUDENTS TO STUDY UNI.
Government should give all Singaporeans a Big Ang Bao for us to accept them first.
Originally posted by ☃®:i am struggling to pay for my housing loans, education loan ANd HERE U ARE TALKING ABOUT SOME BULLSH*T PROGRAM WHICH COST 10 MILLION.
10 MILLION CAN PROVIDE SCHOLARSHIP TO MORE THAN 50 STUDENTS TO STUDY UNI.
It's ok.
They already have a separate fund for foreign students on scholarships. ![]()
nowadays government setting up a lot of funds go and help foreign aliens.![]()
Knowing that alot of locals very "tulan" now, they have to "angkat" these new sinkaporeans so that the next election can be secured mah.
So when are they repatriating those FTs?![]()
Originally posted by ahtansh:Government should give all Singaporeans a Big Ang Bao for us to accept them first.
Yah lor, i no greedy........give me $100000 can liao
Chew Bakar,
They will not repatriate the FT cos' they will be due for citizenships and PR soon. I have ex-colleagues who are currently out of jobs but refuse to go back. They keep paying for rentals through their savings and waiting for the ripe time to be called for PR status.
Originally posted by NaCha:Chew Bakar,
They will not repatriate the FT cos' they will be due for citizenships and PR soon. I have ex-colleagues who are currently out of jobs but refuse to go back. They keep paying for rentals through their savings and waiting for the ripe time to be called for PR status.
PR cannot vote lah
I said new Sinkaporeans lah.
go out and voice your grievances or grouses la..whine here for wat also i dunno...![]()
why not post a enterance examin for all new entrees...problems solved...why spend millions to import Tom dick and harry.
they inside liao mah....
how to kick them out now? wait they riot how? they not the usual herd mentaility s'porean leh...
and beside, they dun have much to loss if they go riot.... what u think china will say if they try forcing them out now? kick dog oso must see owner face.... ![]()
Originally posted by EarlNeo:they inside liao mah....
PAP caused this issue for us. They created this trouble for us.
Originally posted by angel3070:PAP caused this issue for us. They created this trouble for us.
they have the foresight for our country furture. That i have to give them. It is the follow thru that they screw up....
influx of FT/FL cant be avoided and it is very helpful if done correctly. See how the holland did it....
then again, if u think deeper, they might intentionally screw it up.... ![]()
Originally posted by EarlNeo:they have the foresight for our country furture.
don't make me vomit blood until die.
i only know they got foresight to lose billions and billions of dollars.
old senile bastard lee also have great foreight, say 2008 "great" for singapore economy.
i know they got a lot of sai.
Originally posted by angel3070:don't make me vomit blood until die.
i only know they got foresight to lose billions and billions of dollars.
old senile bastard lee also have great foreight, say 2008 "great" for singapore economy.
i know they got a lot of sai.
actually, how old are u?
Siao liao. Siao liao.
See more at http://www.sgforums.com/forums/3317/topics/375908