fifi u extra leh
see post 7:21
我们心有�犀
å‡ ç½—æ›¼è’‚å…‹ä¸€ä¸‹
eee muack 一下
Kids these days..
Answer is really 68. Just use ratio and do trial and error until you get the difference 12 and 18.
Spoilers (don't read if you want to solve it yourself!!!):
In the beginning,
Jim = 1:7
Ken = 1:4
After trial and error: (get the difference,12 and 18 correct)
Jim= 22: 154 <<<< X22 for both
Ken= 34: 136 <<<< X34 for both
Sweets at first =
Jim eaten = 12
Jim left = 22
Ken left = 34
Final= 34+22+12= 68
(freaking horrible for a primary 6 to do: Must draw the model correctly then can find the answer)
Parents want their "Ace" child to get full marks mah.. Nowadays 1-2 questions wrong the student will start crying already. To them, 90 is the "passing" mark lor. Bo bian~ everyone wants to go into the integrated system ma.
so they try to seperate the elites from the rest at a young age..but so many kids dont even realised the importance of studying till later..fark, are they trying to build einsteins or something? a kids life is meant to be enjoyable and full of fun, not stress and results.. sooner or later we'll become like japan with high number of suicide rates..
I always think PSLE maths is harder than O level maths. ![]()
Originally posted by stellazio:so they try to seperate the elites from the rest at a young age..but so many kids dont even realised the importance of studying till later..fark, are they trying to build einsteins or something? a kids life is meant to be enjoyable and full of fun, not stress and results.. sooner or later we'll become like japan with high number of suicide rates..
yes and i been saying this for ten and thousands of years already.
this education system, and future compitition with foreginer is just plain stupid.
at least in japan you can be very sure your manager, or someone working close to you is most 90% a japanese like you are
in sg? well you might have a manager or director that is actually earning lesser then you as a normal staff! (WHAT?!)
you will never know!
kids now adays, lets say if this education system is not so f up... look at those mother.
always comparing their kids, boasting how smart are them.. but HALO?? kids are meant to have fun, having a happy child hood...
i use michael Jackson as an example.. look at him, he has multi mllions that most of us can't ever earn, status in the world, rated king of pop.
but he doesn;t have a happy childhood, having travel from here to there for performance together with his other brothers, resulting michael to be divert and doing stupid things just because he deosn't really have a happy childhood??
haloo??? parents please wake up your idea..
IS PRIMARY LEVEL MATHEMATICS A TEST ON THE CHILD'S ENGLISH LANGUAGE, OR MATHEMATICS?. I mean, English is English, and mathematics is mathematics. Why do you test a child's command in English in a mathematics paper, when the basis for the mathematics subject is purely based on logic?
Is problem sum a measure of the child's logic or language capability?
I do not see a point in having problem sums, as I feel that someone with a good command in languages might not excel in mathematics! Take my best friend for example. We were in secondary school together, and he was someone who excelled in the languages, including English literature, but he did badly in mathematics, purely because he had difficulty grasping the logics involved in mathematics.
My command of English is below average. When I was in primary school, I really feared Mathematics, due to problem sums. I only managed to score a 'C' in PSLE. However, when I was in secondary school, we were taught to focus more on getting the logics right, I excelled in mathematics, and I scored an A1 for the subject for my 'O' Level mathematics.
Originally posted by MicA:IS PRIMARY LEVEL MATHEMATICS A TEST ON THE CHILD'S ENGLISH LANGUAGE, OR MATHEMATICS?. I mean, English is English, and mathematics is mathematics. Why do you test a child's command in English in a mathematics paper, when the basis for the mathematics subject is purely based on logic?
Is problem sum a measure of the child's logic or language capability?
I do not see a point in having problem sums, as I feel that someone with a good command in languages might not excel in mathematics! Take my best friend for example. We were in secondary school together, and he was someone who excelled in the languages, including English literature, but he did badly in mathematics, purely because he had difficulty grasping the logics involved in mathematics.
My command of English is below average. When I was in primary school, I really feared Mathematics, due to problem sums. I only managed to score a 'C' in PSLE. However, when I was in secondary school, we were taught to focus more on getting the logics right, I excelled in mathematics, and I scored an A1 for the subject for my 'O' Level mathematics.
Problem sums are used to ensure that the students can apply the maths concepts learnt in 'life like' examples.
The purpose of learning maths is to learn how to use the maths and not just to learn how to solve every single maths equation there is.
What purpose if there if you can solve any maths equation thrown at you but you do not know how to apply any of them to proper usage?
In the case of problem sums, how do you know if the child is weak in English or Maths? You can't differentiate. That is the problem.
Originally posted by In_Between_Days:Student might get A* in everything now..but will he continue to get A1s in his ‘O’ levels 4 years down the road? Think about it..
go IP liao loh
no Os!!
I remember those days when it was the weaker students who cried.
Haiz.
Now it's the top students.
How times have changed. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:I remember those days when it was the weaker students who cried.
Haiz.
Now it's the top students.
How times have changed.
good lah. share the crying and pain ![]()
I await the day when Primary 1 kids will have to solve simultaneous equations. ![]()
In a way, this is good training.
Preparing those kids that in the future, even if you are the best, you can still be screwed. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:In a way, this is good training.
Preparing those kids that in the future, even if you are the best, you can still be screwed.
who knows?
maybe the gabrament heard us saying that scholars dunno how to face failure, so they hammer them young, figuring people learn best when they're young ![]()
i wonder.. bloody heck.. i may have to teach them algebra when they're in pri.2 or something
what next? vectors? mechanics? complex numbers? ![]()
how to launch a rocket.
I see it both ways....
On one hand, you need to throw in a few difficult questions into the mix to separate out the good ones from the average....
On the other hand, if you were to set the questions to be too difficult, you may end up killing everyone until you have to moderate radically. Such a situation may not necessarily reflect the aptitude of the students.
For example, in one paper I took a few years ago, there were four long questions of 25 marks each. Three of them were super-difficult questions which hardly anyone could do, myself included.
In the end, I got A-, whereas a couple of my friends got C+. Why? When they faced those three difficult questions, they wrote virtually nothing in the answer script and got nothing in return. When I faced those three questions, I wrote a whole bunch of nonsense to try to analyze the questions and actually received marks for that nonsense.
So, by setting those ultra-difficult questions, was it a true test of aptitude? I don't think so. It was more like a test of how much nonsense you can come up with, really. ![]()