Originally posted by Asromanista2001:50 plus only what, not 50,000 mah !!!!!!
the Thai Army should use their tanks mah like at Tiananmen !!!
otherwise buy so many tanks for what ? use bulldozers also can !!!
then exile all of the Red Shirts to one island then let them play Survivor, only 1 person can come back to Thailand !
50 also lives mah.
Thai troops hunt down militants who went on rampage in Bangkok after crackdown
Thai troops hunted down militants who went on a rampage of arson and looting in Bangkok, after an army crackdown on their anti-government protest camp.
The top leader of the "Red Shirts", Veera Musikapong, urged supporters
to halt the mayhem that left major buildings smouldering and in ruins.
He said democracy cannot be built on revenge.
He made the call after surrendering to police along with other top
leaders in the face of the military offensive that left 14 dead.
The stock exchange and the nation's biggest shopping mall were among
dozens of locations set ablaze in the chaotic aftermath of the campaign
to end the Reds' occupation of Bangkok's top retail district.
Bangkok prepared for a second night under curfew, and acting government
spokesman Panitan Wattanayakorn said the measures would continue for
some time.
The curfew has been extended to cover 23 provinces as the conflict
spread outside Bangkok.
The army said four provincial halls were targeted by arsonists yesterday
and some 13,000 rallied in rural areas.
Since the Red Shirts began street rallies in mid-March some 82 people
including two foreign journalists have been killed in clashes and
blasts.
-- 938Live
under Thaksin they got their best economy in dunno how many yrs.......
ppl vote him in... but the army coup got him out...pls remember that...
then they got another election and got a former chef to be their PM.. of cos u say kelong right? how the hell an ex chef can become pm right??
yes i agree but... there are ex actor that became president too right?? he got there with ppl's votes not with guns..... it happened b4......
what u will seldom see or never will see is how a president can be brought down for receiving abit of money for appearing in a tv show as a chef.......if that is not call kelong then i dunno what is.....
so u ppl hate the red shirt for doing this now?? hmm... really dun understand......why dun hate the government that dun dare to let ppl vote for their own government... why dun hate the army that is anyhow shooting at ppl?
Originally posted by zocoss:Whats wrong? Well... They are creating trouble in the capital, burning and destroying public property. Putting others out of work, hurting the country's economy, tourism industry, image and along the way hurting and probably killing others as well.
Do they not have the righ to vote? Can't they wait? The Abhisit gov have already given them a date of Nov 14 but they still persist with more ridiculous demands...
So I say, great that the army have finally move in... And if you had seen how they boo their very own leaders who surrender and told them to stop and go home... You would know they deserve nothing better. These are just silly country folks being used by Thaksin for his whole personal gain... These people are dying while he stay hidden...
And the Abhisit govt was legally vote by parliament, therefore he deserve to serve his term till it expires. They can alway get ready to fight at the next election but they choose to create chaos instead.
Stop wearing red
!!! - if not you will be Shot !!!
illegally kicking out other parties from parliment - then getting vote by his party clearly show he is not voted by the people !!!!
Yeap it the red shirt have not protest - you think there be an election date ?
Is it legal to use live ammo & tanks on unarmmed civilians !!! You do that - of course you have the city burning !!!
You say it right - they are country folks, to city people like you they are poor rats deserve to rot and die - while you have your shopping center, shops and good life. Maybe you too busy enjoying your rich life to care about them.
Secret detention of Thai protesters could bring abuses: HRW
Posted: 21 May 2010 1146 hrs
BANGKOK : A leading international human rights agency expressed
alarm Friday that Thai authorities have used a "draconian" emergency
decree passed during political violence to hold prisoners in secret
detention.
New York-based Human Rights Watch (HRW) said it was concerned
anti-government "Red Shirt" protesters were vulnerable to mistreatment
after they were arrested by Thai security forces and taken to
undisclosed locations without being charged.
"Secret detention sites and unaccountable officials are a recipe for
human rights abuses," said Elaine Pearson, acting Asia director for
Human Rights Watch in a statement.
"Those arrested should be promptly brought before a judge and charged
with a criminal offence or released," she added.
The government arrested eight "Red Shirt" leaders and many of their
supporters this week when the army moved to disperse thousands of
protesters from their sprawling encampment in Bangkok's main commercial
district.
Since the Red Shirts began street rallies in mid-March 83 people
including two foreign journalists have been killed in clashes and
blasts, and 1,800 injured.
As dozens of buildings lay in ruins after the military crackdown, Human
Rights Watch expressed "alarm" at reports the emergency decree's broad
powers were being used to secretly hold people in military camps instead
of jails.
The organisation said the risk of "disappearances," torture and other
abuses was significantly increased when detainees are held incommunicado
by the military, which lacks civilian law enforcement training.
The organisation this week accused both Thai security forces and Red
Shirts of "serious abuses" during the Bangkok crackdown. -AFP/jy
Firestorm in Thailand. Even building also collaspe.
Akhisit should just resign and step down.
Nobody thinks that he is the rightful leader anyway. Personally, not from me at least.
Why? He, for one, is NOT democratically elected. There is NO elections. His party just took the chance of doing a military coup while Thaksin is overseas so as to usurp the PM position.
Also, ask yourselves, what has he done over the 1+ years of governance? Surely worst off than Thaksin.
I can also bet 100% that if Akhisit were to go overseas for conference, he would be ousted and kicked off and become a political exile too, just like Thaksin.
Thaksin has overall created a much better economy and more stable government and country than Akhisit.
And Akhisit has no support from the people since he took position, as can be seen from the red shirts congregation. He, may also be banging on the old royal king's less ability to take charge due to old age, to do what he wants.
Akhisit may look suave and handsome, but I for one, do not like him a single bit. He's just like a wolf in a sheep's clothing.
Originally posted by redDUST:the red protestors were manipulated by you know who, the ex-man city owner. i was told by my thai friends that he actually pay each protester a daily wage to come to bangkok to sit in and create havoc, all to destabilise and discredit the abhisit government.
the red leaders should have taken abhisit's offer to call for an election in nov and disperse. instead, they made a wrong move. now, the govt is no longer in the mood to negotiate. everyone loses.and for thaksin to just distance himself from this aftermath we are seeing now is cowardice to the core.
For point 1, it is just hearsay...are there any evidences? It is true that PM Thaksin has broadcasts, but this is to cheer the red shirts on.
For point 2, just look at Akhisit's stance, they have already reneged on the election date. And can government's words be taken for granted? Seriously, I do not believe in any word spoken by Akhisit, can he be trusted?
You have to know that he is NOT elected by the people. He can be considered a power monger as well.
I akin the red shirts to what Sun Yat Sen has been doing, is what our democratic leader Sun Yat Sen doing politically dangerous? Yes. And is he being wanted by the then Qing dynasty? Yes.
And what about V, for vendetta?
Its all the same, this damn Akhisit government has forcefully taken government rightfully not theirs, and its time the power of the people struck back to them.
the westerners are concerned about Thailand because they want to know when their sex tourists can go back to Thailand !!!!!
doesn't matter who's in power even if communist or whoever as long as the Thai sex workers are still POWER !!!!
Originally posted by ~PEPPER~:Firestorm in Thailand. Even building also collaspe.
maybe they filming a remake of that old movie, Towering Inferno ???????
Originally posted by storywolf:Stop wearing red
!!! - if not you will be Shot !!!
illegally kicking out other parties from parliment - then getting vote by his party clearly show he is not voted by the people !!!!
Yeap it the red shirt have not protest - you think there be an election date ?
Is it legal to use live ammo & tanks on unarmmed civilians !!! You do that - of course you have the city burning !!!
You say it right - they are country folks, to city people like you they are poor rats deserve to rot and die - while you have your shopping center, shops and good life. Maybe you too busy enjoying your rich life to care about them.
Illegal? He was voted by a coalition of 6 different parties and not just his own party... Some of these are also said to be former partners of Thaksin's party.
So when an election time and date was given and made public to the world, did the troublemakers disperse? No, cos that was never their mastermind's real intention... He wanted to bring down the gov right now which was never going to happen if the gov can help it.
Yes when it's necessary cos these was no simple demonstration or protesters. They were a bunch of organised group stage to cause riot and anarchy throughout the capital's strategic areas so as to bring instability to the country and ultimately bring down the government. Anyway, rubber bullet was used too and it was under a controlled manner like firing into the air or for self defence where real bullets were discharged.
You saw how they damage the city? You can't do that with simple fire. The weapons they were caught with shown on tv are no ordinary small arms. Hand held grenade lancher... They can reduce a huge building in such a short time... Start fire on 20 to 30 locations in short notice... These are all powerful weapons not seen in past demonstrations.
Just think about it... If there wasn't someone behind financing this whole operation, would these so called poor country folks have the money to pay for the stuff they have been burning, shooting? Or their daily expenses like food, water, transport, medical and everything else?
Yes, indeed I said they are country folks, simple country folks who were simply made used by an evil man for his personal gains. Simply put, they were pawn to an evil cause.
I, for one am very glad the gov and the army did what they did... Peace and order is finally restored not just to Bangkok but to the provinces as well. And people can once again get back to their normal daily live be it in Bangkok or in the the countryside.
Originally posted by zocoss:
Yes when it's necessary cos these was no simple demonstration or protesters. They were a bunch of organised group stage to cause riot and anarchy throughout the capital's strategic areas so as to bring instability to the country and ultimately bring down the government. Anyway, rubber bullet was used too and it was under a controlled manner like firing into the air or for self defence where real bullets were discharged.
necessary?? hmm... did they try the "ok election by tomolo" method first? why they so scared of election leh?? everyone also know.. if u are not welcome.. u just go...why die die want to stay leh?
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):
necessary?? hmm... did they try the "ok election by tomolo" method first? why they so scared of election leh?? everyone also know.. if u are not welcome.. u just go...why die die want to stay leh?
Yes if necessary. Like I already said, these was no simple demonstration or protesters. They were an organised group stage to cause riot and anarchy throughout the capital's strategic locations in order to bring down the government. They were even armed with hand held grenade lancher mind you...
And there is no such thing as an "ok tomorrow election" thing. Lots of preparation needed to get a nation wide election going. Anyway, the gov have every right to run out it's term... Can't the red shirts wait till then or Now? What's the hurry? Cos Thaksin can't wait ?
Originally posted by zocoss:
Yes if necessary. Like I already said, these was no simple demonstration or protesters. They were an organised group stage to cause riot and anarchy throughout the capital's strategic locations in order to bring down the government. They were even armed with hand held grenade lancher mind you...And there is no such thing as an "ok tomorrow election" thing. Lots of preparation needed to get a nation wide election going. Anyway, the gov have every right to run out it's term... Can't the red shirts wait till then or Now? What's the hurry? Cos Thaksin can't wait ?
well said...but....then why thaksin tio coup last time leh... the army and yellow shirt can't wait ar? what's the hurry?? and yes red shirt are armed... but... what about the other side?? they are armed with tanks and m16 hor..... bottomline is... what thaksin did for the country was alot more than what this new government have done....
Thai govt shows Red arsenal
BANGKOK - THAI officials on Saturday displayed the large cache of weapons seized from a stronghold of anti-government protesters in the heart of Bangkok, which the military cleared following a violent two-month standoff and 85 deaths.
Police also said eight Red Shirt leaders have now been separated in detention, their phones have been seized and and they are now under armed guard, after police were criticised as treating the protest leaders with leniency.
The weapons - including rifles, bullets, grenades and the components of bombs - were put on display to defend the government's claim that the troops faced a serious threat and exercised appropriate force when they moved in to clear the main protest area.
At least 15 people died in the final offensive on Wednesday and more than 100 were wounded. The Thai capital was gripped with its worst political violence in decades during the so-called Red Shirt occupation of downtown Bangkok, culminating in the military crackdown that sparked a rampage by supporters who launched grenade attacks and set fire to landmark buildings, including the country's stock exchange and biggest shopping mall.
'The fires in many areas in Bangkok were well prepared - step by step,' army spokesman Colonel Sansern Kaewkamnerd said at a news conference where he was flanked by tables covered with the recovered weapons. Officials said 11 soldiers and police officers were among the 85 people killed in the political violence of the past two months. -- AP
i think the first step for Thailand to evolve is to tranform its monarch under the country constituion.....that way the military or any powerful rulling class cannot just tied the Yellow ribbons and have a coup against "Elected leaders". That is why country have elections every 4 years. That is the basis of a legal social contract.
There are legal proceeding of impeachment if behavior unbecoming of the President of a country that is why there are Rule of Law to balance rights to protect against the weak from military force.
And dont forget Akhisit created the media black out, refused to let Thaksin broadcast his explanations on Thailand's tv.....
what bullshlt is that? Dont even allow people the chance to explain to people in Thailand?
Also, we have to know that Thaksin's policies are pro-people, especially those in the poorer rural south, whereas Akhisit's policies are those pro-corporations and pro-rich people, especially benefiting those who already are very rich in the north <== this is a fact as given by many newspapers.
If the people dont want you, Akhisit, you jolly well get lost and even apologise to the people for all the bloodshed and economy lost you have created.
The weapons could jolly well be planted by the army personnel just to justify to the people, there! you got peasants with weapons.
Yo! Remember the army general that was assasinated by Akhisit's army? Its just because he was not pro- or hail- Akhisit, and he was killed?
He could have used his influence to equip the people with more firepower. And bear in mind that NOT all army are pro-Akhisit's policies..
Remember that there was a time where the different armies or brigades are split on which government to support? Thus, it is natural that those who do not see Akhisit's policies right, do not support him and could be pro-people, thus there are weapons at people's HQ right?
I think we all need to read more news about Thailand from countries like China, India, etc where they reported a more balanced view.
And SG government is laying low without comments because all governments have their own benefits to consider if either of one is the PM of thailand. Most acads in SG knows that.
Originally posted by QX179R:Thai renegade general dies
BANGKOK - THAI news reports say a renegade army general who worked for Red Shirt protesters has died of gunshot wounds in hospital Monday, five days after he was shot by a sniper.
Channel 9 television, Thai Rath newspaper and other media outlets said Maj. Gen. Khattiya Sawasdiphol died on Monday. Maj. Gen. Khattiya was the military strategist of the Red Shirts. He was shot in the head on Wednesday.
The attack triggered widespread street fighting between anti-government protesters and the army in central Bangkok. At least 36 people - all civilians - have died in the violence.
The Red Shirts have been protesting since mid-March demanding the immediate resignation of Prime Minister Abhisit Vejjajiva, the dissolution of Parliament and new elections.
Violent clashes in Bangkok have left 35 people dead, officials said Monday, after the government ruled out foreign intervention to end the two-month stand-off.
The worsening violence has turned parts of the city into no-go zones as troops use live ammunition against anti-government demonstrators, who have blocked streets with burning tyres, and fought back with homemade weapons. --AP, AFP
Can I ask who shot him? He was assasinated? Just like Sun Yat Sen?
Did the thai government/army assasinate him?
Originally posted by Clivebenss:Italian journalist, two 'Reds' killed in Bangkok protests
Posted: 19 May 2010 1215 hrsBANGKOK : Thai troops battled with anti-government protesters Wednesday, after smashing into their rally zone using armoured vehicles and tearing down towering barricades of tyres and razor wire.
Gunfire was being exchanged in clashes in the protest encampment, which the "Red Shirts" have occupied for six weeks, defying a military containment operation launched last Thursday that left 39 dead.
An AFP photographer saw two protesters lying dead inside the camp, while hospital officials said an Italian journalist was also killed in the clashes. At least seven others were wounded and sent to hospital.
In the face of the barrage, some 100 other protesters fled towards the movement's main rally stage in the heart of their sprawling encampment, which has shut down Bangkok's main shopping district.
Reds leaders tried to quell a rising sense of panic among some 5,000 supporters including many women and children who are still inside the rally base despite the violence and orders to leave.
Some were openly crying and others put on face masks in fear of tear gas attacks.
"Please stay calm today, no matter what happens we will stay here together," leader Nattawut Saikuar said from the stage where protesters were gathered for safety, directing them to a nearby Buddhist temple if necessary.
"Those who fear for your life go to the temple, but those who volunteer to stay here you are free to do so."
The government said the offensive was aimed at establishing a secure perimeter around the protest base, but the military offensive now appeared to be aimed at completely closing down the camp.
"The operations are designed to make sure that the security officers can provide security and safety to the public at large. The operations will continue throughout the day," said government spokesman Panitan Wattanayagorn.
"We would like to reassure the citizens and residents of Bangkok that the operations are designed to make sure that we stabilise the area," he said in a televised address.
A senator involved in failed last-minute peace talks said he feared the military operation, launched after the Reds defied a Monday deadline to disperse, would cause serious loss of life.
"The government has chosen to decisively enforce the law. The signals are that absolutely the army will win, but the losses will be unbearable," said General Lertrat Rattanavanich.
"Certainly based on all the signs that I have seen there will be a crackdown, not containment," added the senator, who was one of a group in the upper house who tried to act as mediators.
Hundreds of army and police advanced towards the protest zone in the pre-dawn hours, with trucks dropping off troops wearing balaclavas and carrying weapons and riot shields, while a helicopter circled overhead.
Several large fires broke out at barricades and major buildings around the protest zone, sending out massive clouds of black smoke that obscured the Bangkok skyline.
Dozens of soldiers crept along Wireless Road, which runs parallel to the protest zone, crouching behind trees and poles and scurrying up foot bridges near the US embassy, which has been closed.
"Danger zone," one soldier said, waving reporters back as muffled cracks rang out from nearby Lumpini park, which the protesters had spilled into during an occupation that has forced hotels and shopping centres to close.
Security forces have battled with the Reds since last Thursday as they attempted to seal off the rally base, turning parts of the city into no-go zones as troops used live ammunition against protesters, who fought back mainly with homemade weapons.
The Reds are campaigning for elections to replace the administration of Prime Minister Abhisit Vejjajiva, which they consider illegitimate because it came to power with the backing of the army in a 2008 parliamentary vote.
They are mostly supporters of fugitive ex-premier Thaksin Shinawatra who was ousted in a 2006 coup. A controversial court ruling ejected his elected allies from power, paving the way for Abhisit's government to be appointed.
Many countries have warned their nations against travelling to Thailand. Australia Wednesday said travellers should not visit Bangkok, citing the deteriorating security situation. – AFP/jy
So, who killed the red shirts and the italian reporter? Did the Akhisit's government ever apologise?
I think there is no point in finger pointing about weapon cache or Thaksin
A political resolution should have done long ago and not let protest lead to a life of its own. Self defend is only a natural evolution.
I think for a real reconcilation....Akhisit government needs to call for an election for a better moral mandate. Or else people will only see the military behind his speech its hard to have a real reconcilation.
Cynical view of the govt will be the real outcome ........rather than reconcilation.
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):well said...but....then why thaksin tio coup last time leh... the army and yellow shirt can't wait ar? what's the hurry?? and yes red shirt are armed... but... what about the other side?? they are armed with tanks and m16 hor..... bottomline is... what thaksin did for the country was alot more than what this new government have done....
Thaksin tio coup is of his own making mah... You really think the so called yellow shirts alone can do it if enough high ranking army officer was not unhappy with his dictatorship style as well? Under him, Thailand lost their Press freedom, something a true democratic gov should not suppressed. But Thaksin's did.
There was corruption, favouritism to his own people and tax eavsion just to name a few... But probably the most important, he was disrespectful to the monarch... This probably upset the army leaders more than anything else.
Insider trading was also said to have taken place benefitting his family members... Imagine the Thai Stock Exchange allowed Thaksin to avoid paying capital gain tax on Shin Corp while he was PM. I don't know how much it was in total but I recalled reading back then it was in the billions... and I am not just talking about bahts, in US$ too...
Imagine Shin Corp was just a computer business but it soon became the country's biggest telecommunications company during his time... How they got their prized satellite and mobile telephone licences we have to wonder... not to say there was anything illegal but just wonder lor...
And if you care to read, his human right record is far worst than the present gov too...
Let me say I am not a fan of the Abhisit gov. I just felt it was wrong the way the so called red shirts went about it that's all. Not too long ago, leaders were supposed to have a summit meeting in Chiang mai or somewhere and this red shirts appear and totally trash the place up thinking it was fun when they appear on tv. I guess believing they are really that powerful, they took on Bangkok this time totally disregard the law...
I just feel the Abhisit gov has its term to serve so let it serve its time out. If the Army don't like it, another coup could happen anytime removing him along with it. And if you want to compare to the so called yellow shirts, well, the very least they were more peaceful. Cos we can't deny never before in past protest have we seen the used of weapons and fire used like the last one.
And when you talk about tanks and m16s. Well, look at this, these are the army basic weapons isn't it? The tanks were used as shields for the protection of the soldiers from the red shirts militia groups attacking them. It's not as though it's used like in the Tainanmen where they came in by surprise in the dark of the night and in high speed... Even rolling over protestors in their way... Here it was only used as a defensive rather than an offensive machine and it moved in very slowly.
Maybe you are not aware but the present Thai economy is in a far better sharp than some think and it's all down to the Abhisit gov... Their stock market is much better now, the country is getting back on it's feet... So why disrupt them from completing their job now?
Let me just say this... Whatever the outcome, Thaksin is still the winner here. The sentiments those red shirts have towards the gov now will only benefit him even more... He probably won't care who died or who lost a family member... He is more concern about getting power back thats all... And to some of those ignorant country folks (Not all) who thought going to Bangkok to protest was like going to a party... Unfortunately, they were only pawns to a power play who was dispensable to their leaders...