Aiyah. Next time the Red Shirt should arm themselves with Russian made RPG. Can easily rip the guts out of those flimsy cardboard Thailand APCs.
Singapore not easy lar. Got powerful Leopard tanks and Apache helicopter. Thailand army is useless. Actually Red Shirt should have organize into sniper batallion (15 person), AK-47 batallion (350 person), Machine gun nest batalion (30 person), RPG-7 batalion (50 person), Molotov cocktail batalion (300 person), Firebomb batalion (100 person), Rioter batalion (10,000 person), Human Shield batalion - women, old people and children (10,000), Bodyguard batalion (200 people), Pistol wielding batalion (200 people), machete wielding batalion (300 people), Medic and doctor batalion (400 people), Leader and coordinator batalion (400 people), IED suicide bomber batalion (60 person), Grenade throwing batalion (30 person), Motorbike, car and truck bomb batalion, logistic and food batalion (1,400 people) and mortar batalion (100 person). Only then they can thrash the Thai Army.
Originally posted by zocoss:
Thaksin tio coup is of his own making mah... You really think the so called yellow shirts alone can do it if enough high ranking army officer was not unhappy with his dictatorship style as well? Under him, Thailand lost their Press freedom, something a true democratic gov should not suppressed. But Thaksin's did.There was corruption, favouritism to his own people and tax eavsion just to name a few... But probably the most important, he was disrespectful to the monarch... This probably upset the army leaders more than anything else.
Insider trading was also said to have taken place benefitting his family members... Imagine the Thai Stock Exchange allowed Thaksin to avoid paying capital gain tax on Shin Corp while he was PM. I don't know how much it was in total but I recalled reading back then it was in the billions... and I am not just talking about bahts, in US$ too...
Imagine Shin Corp was just a computer business but it soon became the country's biggest telecommunications company during his time... How they got their prized satellite and mobile telephone licences we have to wonder... not to say there was anything illegal but just wonder lor...
And if you care to read, his human right record is far worst than the present gov too...
Let me say I am not a fan of the Abhisit gov. I just felt it was wrong the way the so called red shirts went about it that's all. Not too long ago, leaders were supposed to have a summit meeting in Chiang mai or somewhere and this red shirts appear and totally trash the place up thinking it was fun when they appear on tv. I guess believing they are really that powerful, they took on Bangkok this time totally disregard the law...
I just feel the Abhisit gov has its term to serve so let it serve its time out. If the Army don't like it, another coup could happen anytime removing him along with it. And if you want to compare to the so called yellow shirts, well, the very least they were more peaceful. Cos we can't deny never before in past protest have we seen the used of weapons and fire used like the last one.
And when you talk about tanks and m16s. Well, look at this, these are the army basic weapons isn't it? The tanks were used as shields for the protection of the soldiers from the red shirts militia groups attacking them. It's not as though it's used like in the Tainanmen where they came in by surprise in the dark of the night and in high speed... Even rolling over protestors in their way... Here it was only used as a defensive rather than an offensive machine and it moved in very slowly.
Maybe you are not aware but the present Thai economy is in a far better sharp than some think and it's all down to the Abhisit gov... Their stock market is much better now, the country is getting back on it's feet... So why disrupt them from completing their job now?
Let me just say this... Whatever the outcome, Thaksin is still the winner here. The sentiments those red shirts have towards the gov now will only benefit him even more... He probably won't care who died or who lost a family member... He is more concern about getting power back thats all... And to some of those ignorant country folks (Not all) who thought going to Bangkok to protest was like going to a party... Unfortunately, they were only pawns to a power play who was dispensable to their leaders...
huh??? lost freedom of speech?? corruption?? economy better now?? ..... i got nothing to say already if that is what u think.. really funny i can only say..... oh ya.. one last thing... i believe thaksin already rich rich when he become the pm.. not after.....
Thaksin was too good for his own good. Haiz..
Thai govt extends curfew
BANGKOK - THE Thai authorities have extended a curfew in Bangkok and 24 provinces for seven days because of concern about possible unrest, an army spokesman said on Monday.
'We have information that there are groups and individuals who still want to create chaos in some areas,' Sansern Kaewkamnerd told a news conference.
The curfew, from midnight to 4 am, must be formally approved by the cabinet at its weekly meeting on Tuesday, he added.
The curfew came into effect on May 19 after riots and arson broke out across Bangkok following an army crackdown to disperse anti-government protesters occupying a commercial district in the capital. -- REUTERS
Originally posted by QX179R:Thai govt extends curfew
BANGKOK - THE Thai authorities have extended a curfew in Bangkok and 24 provinces for seven days because of concern about possible unrest, an army spokesman said on Monday.
'We have information that there are groups and individuals who still want to create chaos in some areas,' Sansern Kaewkamnerd told a news conference.
The curfew, from midnight to 4 am, must be formally approved by the cabinet at its weekly meeting on Tuesday, he added.
The curfew came into effect on May 19 after riots and arson broke out across Bangkok following an army crackdown to disperse anti-government protesters occupying a commercial district in the capital. -- REUTERS
Still contnue. omg
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):
huh??? lost freedom of speech?? corruption?? economy better now?? ..... i got nothing to say already if that is what u think.. really funny i can only say..... oh ya.. one last thing... i believe thaksin already rich rich when he become the pm.. not after.....
Wah... Looks like you hardly read up on Thailand or Thaksin's actions all those years... Thaksin rich already or not got nothing to do with his actions as PM. Rich doesn't mean he can't be corrupted, rich also doesn't mean he does not become greedy and want more. But he definitely became a lot more richer than before he was PM though... Even his children schooling in UK became very rich as well during his time as PM...
And yes, Thaksin indeed started to muzzle the free press when he came to power... I suggest you should read more on it so as to understand the case better... serious...
Originally posted by zocoss:
Wah... Looks like you hardly read up on Thailand or Thaksin's actions all those years... Thaksin rich already or not got nothing to do with his actions as PM. Rich doesn't mean he can't be corrupted, rich also doesn't mean he does not become greedy and want more. But he definitely became a lot more richer than before he was PM though... Even his children schooling in UK became very rich as well during his time as PM...And yes, Thaksin indeed started to muzzle the free press when he came to power... I suggest you should read more on it so as to understand the case better... serious...
ya same to u too.. pls read more lah... oh ya.. read the correct things too... hehe..... i never say rich ppl cannot be greedy but u the one that say he become rich when he become pm leh.....thailand doing better now compare to under thaksin.... hahahaahahahaha.... u mean in sex trade is it? ... and free press?? it's see how u define it only..... oh ya.. by the way... some lee family in sg also very rich now, they also anyhow sue reporter...and sg is also doing very well now... so that mean army coup is coming??? or do we wait for the next election to come ar???
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):ya same to u too.. pls read more lah... oh ya.. read the correct things too... hehe..... i never say rich ppl cannot be greedy but u the one that say he become rich when he become pm leh.....thailand doing better now compare to under thaksin.... hahahaahahahaha.... u mean in sex trade is it? ... and free press?? it's see how u define it only..... oh ya.. by the way... some lee family in sg also very rich now, they also anyhow sue reporter...and sg is also doing very well now... so that mean army coup is coming??? or do we wait for the next election to come ar???
Wah... you serious or not? Can come up with this kind of reply? I read a lot on this that is why I am telling you lor... Looks like you can't read my post correctly also... No wonder lah... When did I say Thaksin wasn't rich before he became PM? Search my post in all my replys to you and I don't see it, how come you can see leh?
And did I say you said rich people cannot be greedy? Never what... It's you the one who said "i believe thaksin already rich rich when he become the pm.. not after....." So that is why I told you "Rich doesn't mean he can't be corrupted, rich also doesn't mean he does not become greedy and want more" Correct? And also "he became a lot more richer than before he was PM though..." Hope you understand what i mean by "a lot more richer than before" and don't misconstrue my meaning...
Sex trade, is that all you think about? Go back and read again... I was referring to the Economic and Financial crises this last 2 years... Don't always everything sex, ses, sex lah...
Press freedom means you don't anyhow go and sue others... Are you aware Thaksin also like to use the court to sue people?
On Sg, What's the problem? They rich cos they deserved to be what... Lee family got not pay tax or try avoiding paying tax? Never right... What coup you talking about? Wait for the election lah what so difficult? The red shirts should have just followed this...
Maybe you mind telling us what you know about the Shin Corp thing lor. Like how much he sold it for and what's his profit gain and stuff like that. And also if he did pay tax on it or not? And how come can don't need to pay leh?
And finally, please read carefully lah... and don't anyhow say i said this and that later when I never said it at all...
Arrest warrant for former Thai PM

A court in Thailand has approved an arrest warrant for Thaksin Shinawatra, the country's former prime minister, on "terrorism charges".
He is accused of financing recent red-shirt protests in the Thai capital that left 88 people dead and thousands wounded following a military crackdown.
The court in Bangkok on Tuesday heard evidence from the government's department of special investigations, the agency charged with investigating the protests.
Thaksin was ousted in 2006, and currently lives in self-imposed exile to avoid jail time for corruption.
The government accuses Thaksin of spending nearly $1.5 million per day to finance the protests, and claims he helped the red shirts smuggle weapons and fighters from Cambodia.
The protest was supposed to be a peaceful one. The peasants were told to protest peacefully. On that basis the rural peasants lend support to the Red Shirts.
But....no way the organisers want the protest to be a boring one. They planned for the drama that followed.
Thai authorities lift curfew
BANGKOK - THAILAND'S premier on Saturday lifted a curfew imposed across about one third of the country, including Bangkok, in the wake of deadly anti-government protests, saying the situation was now under control.
But Prime Minister Abhisit Vejjajiva said there was no plan yet to revoke emergency rule following the end of two months of mass rallies by the 'Red Shirts' that left almost 90 people dead in a series of clashes with troops. 'The curfew will be lifted but the state of emergency will remain in place,' Mr Abhisit told reporters.
He said security officials had proposed ending the night-time restrictions on movement 'as the situation is under control.'
The measure was imposed in Bangkok and 23 provinces, out of a total of 76, on May 19 after enraged protesters went on a rampage of arson following an army crackdown on their rally, which had paralysed the retail heart of the capital. Protest leaders surrendered after armoured vehicles backed by armed troops firing live rounds smashed through towering barricades made of tyres and razor wire that the Red Shirts had erected around their sprawling base.
But militant protesters angered by the outcome set 36 major buildings ablaze including the stock exchange and Thailand?s biggest shopping mall, Central World, which now stands in ruins. The unrest also spread to several cities in the Red Shirts? stronghold in Thailand?s impoverished northeast.
While Bangkok has tried to get back to business this week, authorities on Tuesday extended a midnight-to-4am curfew for four more nights as the government sought to restore order. Anyone violating the curfew had faced up to two years in jail, and the measures had made life hard for people who usually work during the night and put a damper on the capital's normally lively nightlife. -- AFP
'Red Shirt' guard arrested
BANGKOK - THAI police said on Tuesday they had arrested a 'Red Shirt' guard in connection with an arson attack on the country's biggest shopping mall in May, which followed two months of anti-government protests.
Saichon Paebua, 28, from the central province of Chainat, was arrested in Bangkok late on Monday for his alleged involvement in the fire at the capital's Central World mall, which was left gutted by the blaze and partly collapsed.
A Bangkok district court issued his arrest warrant on June 1 after he was seen in photographs breaking glass windows and walking inside the mall on the afternoon of May 19, the day of the blaze.
Saichon, who was employed by the 'Red Shirts' as a guard during the rally, confirmed he was the person in the footage but denied arson charges.
'He can deny but police will send him to the court as we have clear evidence against him,' King Kwangwisetchaicharn, commander of Chanasongkram Police station in Bangkok, told AFP.
Police have issued three other warrants for suspected arsonists. -- AFP