A man committed suicide by jumping onto the track of an oncoming train at Bedok MRT station, causing eastbound trains from Eunos to Tanah Merah to be disrupted today (May 7).
According to the news report on The Straits Times website, the incident occurred at 1.42pm.
The track was blood stained, caused by the train wheels rolling over and crushing the man’s body against the metal track.
The man’s body was seen covered with blood and his flesh exposed on certain parts of his body.
One of the man’s arm was also severed and seen lying a few meters away from his body.
It is not known whether the victim is still alive or already dead (which most likely will be the case).
The cause of the incident is still being investigated.
SMRT said that is had deployed buses to assist stranded passengers at the two MRT stations.
It is believed that the victim lost a huge sum of money amounting to some S$70,000 at a casino last week, which resulted in his act of suicide. It is unknown if he had made the losses at a local or foreign casino.
Our private reporters will follow up on this case and update in a new post with more pictures and videos of the accident scene, and also the full report of the case.

So its unsubstantiated again.
this is just the beginning ![]()
Are the two IRs a mistake? Or is it time the transport authority needs to do something about the trend of suicides on the railway track before it become a common place for seeking death?
When people owe big money, we blame the casino. Fantastic, just fantastic.
When you leave 2 poisoned apples on a table, you can't help it if at some point in time, somebody decides to take a bite at it.
So who is it to blame, the person who left the poisoned apple on the table or the person taking a bite out of it? ![]()
Commiting suicide should never be the last resort, in fact, it should neither be an option nor a choice. ![]()
There's always a solution to everything.
zzzz
and again
he jumped
make problem to the train ......
PAP is creating problems for Singaporeans.
OMFG -.-
his flesh is exposed? what does that mean? the skin gone? and the arm is servered? that's like SAW III YUCKS!
perhaps he oso has other debts aisde to gambling at casino.....i believe his job is oso at stake...mere 70K not so big to end a life....should be much much more
so the best he could solve is to commit suicide...i dun think the insurance will pay in such incidents...
Firstly you got problem. You commited suicide. But using the MRT track to die causing inconvenience to commuters public and disrupt people's daily activities is no difference from terrorists' acts. So still want to rely on MRT and cut donw on buses? The gahmen just don't know how feeble and fragile the MRT system is. Conveninet but the main weakness lies in one thing. It s only one track to and one track fro. Unlike roads which may have a few lanes and also being the oldest form of passage of transportation they are interlink so alternatives can be taken if the ones ahead are hindered.
As for Casino see lah now the problem come. Applying for no entry passes don;t work. WHo's idea to set this up anyway? All singaporeans should be screened just like IRAS screening people's income. Annual income of less thanh X amount should be denied entry. Or set a limit that they can exchange for gambit. AFter that no entry for a month or a period of time. As for foreigners. I fcuk care.
Also please build more facilities and areas for people to commit suicide near the casinos. Just put a sign there. Makes things easier. Get the coroner and wake tong tong qiang people standby there for businesses also.
Everytime like that MRT loses money, end charge costs to sgreans again. Set up casinoes, another trap for sgreans again. Why never see other big shots lose money but never go commit suicide? orh not their money mah no need to pay back one ![]()
Originally posted by Fcukpap:perhaps he oso has other debts aisde to gambling at casino.....i believe his job is oso at stake...mere 70K not so big to end a life....should be much much more
so the best he could solve is to commit suicide...i dun think the insurance will pay in such incidents...
Yes, Insurance will pay for suicides, but
1) It is a life insurance (So a health shield wont pay)
2) You suicide after a year when the policy take effect (Probably to prevent another MI-185 like case)
3) You suicide and die. If you become disabled / vegetable is your issue.
Originally posted by Larryteo:his flesh is exposed? what does that mean? the skin gone? and the arm is servered? that's like SAW III YUCKS!
Actually, I wonder how people can die in tracks.
Well, there are video cases where people suicide in tracks but never die.
Is it one must put their body in between of tracks in a vertical way (In the form of "human bridge to the tracks") then will sure die, otherwise, actually if one keep still lying fact can only suffer from minor injures and nothing else, just like how action movies show lying flat under a moving vehicle and nothing happen.
| |
_ < ---- suicider = die
| |
| |
| <---- suicider may survive
| |
I think his body was halfway on the tracks either on the left/end which is why the train wheels crushed him. and eew! his hand was servered. EEW!
With the Establishment of the Casinos, it is inevitable that such incidents will happen in the near future again. A bad move by the government.
What SMRT can do to prevent such occurences from happening frequently is by speeding up the installation of the PSDs at all stations. The more they delay, the more we should expect these incidents to occur.
** And please stop talking about how the victim died, lets respect the dead and contribute to the forum by talking about how we can prevent such incidents from happening more frequently.
If people die die want to job on tracks even if install all thos ehalf ass screen walls on above ground stations will not help. Only those that have doors that can open together with the train doors like underground station can prevent that. Another stupid move to just install barracades with no auto slide doors. See they just fail to see the problem and the proper solution. I can tell you install the doors already still will have suicide. Hire too many foreign civil engineers that think like talented sheet.
solution very simple. people jump next time just let the train continue running. until after operating hours midnight then call the coroner come collect the corspe and body parts - problem solved. ![]()
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Yes, Insurance will pay for suicides, but
1) It is a life insurance (So a health shield wont pay)
2) You suicide after a year when the policy take effect (Probably to prevent another MI-185 like case)
3) You suicide and die. If you become disabled / vegetable is your issue.
erm term plans also will pay your family members if you commit suicide after more than 1 year from buying the policy
Sad cases, hope it wont happen again.
Life is precious.
Originally posted by troublemaker2005:solution very simple. people jump next time just let the train continue running. until after operating hours midnight then call the coroner come collect the corspe and body parts - problem solved.
nice ![]()
Originally posted by Chester_Lim:erm term plans also will pay your family members if you commit suicide after more than 1 year from buying the policy
Sorry for not using the correct insurance term. I am not from that industry.
Originally posted by troublemaker2005:If people die die want to job on tracks even if install all thos ehalf ass screen walls on above ground stations will not help. Only those that have doors that can open together with the train doors like underground station can prevent that. Another stupid move to just install barracades with no auto slide doors. See they just fail to see the problem and the proper solution. I can tell you install the doors already still will have suicide. Hire too many foreign civil engineers that think like talented sheet.
solution very simple. people jump next time just let the train continue running. until after operating hours midnight then call the coroner come collect the corspe and body parts - problem solved.
Cannot lah. Other passengers see then how, the smell of rotten body just make people puke. In the end, the cleaners from the station not only must clean the corpse, after removed by coroner, but also to clean other people's vomit on tracks or esclators etc.....
BTW, the HFPSD are automated, such that only trains arrived and open the door, then the PSD will open. So I dont get what point are u saying.
Originally posted by Samuel Lee:Sorry for not using the correct insurance term. I am not from that industry.
actually both you and him are both correct lor. haha. he not correcting you, but just pointing out to you term plan can also be claimed if suicide after 1 yr la. i also get you wanted to convey the message to us that only life/term plan can claim, whereas shield (hospitalisation) plan cannot claim dat's all