THE Government will pay civil servants a mid-year Annual Variable Component (AVC) of 0.5 month and a dollar quantum of $300 in July 2010, said the Public Service Division in a statement.
The recovery of the Singapore economy has been stronger than expected, growing by 15.5 per cent in the first quarter of 2010 on a year-on-year basis.
There are also signs that the economic recovery has strengthened and is broad based. The Ministry of Trade and Industry has forecasted this year's GDP growth at 7 per cent to 9 per cent, while noting that downside risks such as the sovereign debt crisis in Europe still remain.
Against this backdrop, the Government has decided to pay a mid-year AVC of 0.5 month in July 2010. In addition, the Government will be giving a one-off dollar quantum of $300 to all officers this July.
This is in line with the call by the National Wages Council for employers to help low wage workers.
PSD said the Government will decide on the year-end AVC payment for civil servants after taking into consideration Singapore's economic performance in the second half of 2010.
-- ST
It pays to be a civil servant.
Be civil servant is good.
no wonder civil servants are those "pa si buay zao" (die die won't resign) type
They have to make it attractive otherwise nobody will want to work for them.
half month plus 300? you guys make it sound like it's damn alot.
That could settle a few months of my household bills at the very least.
Perhaps. But I seen more than that in the private sector. Sure I didnt get any 13th month last year. But in good times, some companies pay way more than wat the government sector is getting. I guess you guys probably heard or seen for yourself how some companies pay, like 6 months bonus in good times. Aiyah, dun need be envious lah. When did you see govt sector getting anywhere around that kind of bonus...
It's well known that jobs in the public sector pay reasonably well. You probably can't get rich with a government job unless you're a scholar, but you'll be earning a decent amount.
In good times, half month + 300 isn't a lot, especially compared to private sector. But in bad times, at least civil servants managed to keep their jobs!
Originally posted by luvcfood:no wonder civil servants are those "pa si buay zao" (die die won't resign) type
Unless their superior sacked them for poor work performance.
Civil service pay fluctuates, in tandem with economic performance: DPM Teo
SINGAPORE : Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean, who is also Minister-in-Charge of the Civil Service, said public sector wages will dovetail Singapore's economic performance.
Speaking to reporters at a community event, Mr Teo stressed that in the long term, wages must be in line with productivity.
This week, the Public Service Division announced that civil
servants will get a half-month bonus and $300 in July, in line with the
National Wages Council's recommendations.
Mr Teo said: "Last year, civil service pay went down between 8% and 20% -
8% for those in the lower salary bands and 22% for those in the higher
salary bands. That's something we have built into civil service salaries
and that is a correct principle to follow. Our principles remain the
same; we follow the economy, we don't lead the economy." - CNA /ls
Originally posted by QX179R:Civil service pay fluctuates, in tandem with economic performance: DPM Teo
SINGAPORE : Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean, who is also Minister-in-Charge of the Civil Service, said public sector wages will dovetail Singapore's economic performance.
Speaking to reporters at a community event, Mr Teo stressed that in the long term, wages must be in line with productivity.
This week, the Public Service Division announced that civil servants will get a half-month bonus and $300 in July, in line with the National Wages Council's recommendations.
Mr Teo said: "Last year, civil service pay went down between 8% and 20% - 8% for those in the lower salary bands and 22% for those in the higher salary bands. That's something we have built into civil service salaries and that is a correct principle to follow. Our principles remain the same; we follow the economy, we don't lead the economy." - CNA /ls
nice articles.
If you want work life balance, take a civil sector job, if you're willing to commit and take alot more rewards, go private.
so little, not enough for me to pay mollers for photo shoots