SINGAPORE : The Ministry of Defence (Mindef) saved a whopping S$206.7 million last year due to innovations and work improvement ideas.
A little device resulted in savings of over S$147,000 for the SAF.
And it came about from a mundane activity.
Military Expert (ME2) Ong Chin Lin started reading up on invisible
infrared signals after his father complained that the TV remote control
could be faulty.
He found that the infrared signals could be captured by a
photo-transistor.
He then developed a device that could check the infrared navigation
lights on the Chinook helicopters in the day. Previously, it could only
be done at night with the aid of night vision goggles.
Ong was one of the winners of the over 120 Mindef Pride awards, given
out for productivity and innovation.
Other innovations included a device which automatically inflates a life
jacket when it sinks below a certain depth.
Acting Prime Minister & Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean said: "For
Mindef and the SAF, productivity is harder to measure, as our output
cannot be quantified in dollar terms.
"I don't think we want to be measuring the effectiveness of the SAF -
the productivity by the number of wars we fight. We can, however, ensure
there is continued innovation and productivity gains by focusing on
processes that will help us reduce the manpower and dollar resources
required for a given output."
The award winning innovations are on display at the Mindef Pride Day
Exhibition at the HDB Hub until Thursday.
- CNA/al
If they cut down on the number of 3day 2 night outfield exercises, they can save $100000 a week.![]()
i remember one year they also saved millions by using some plastic bucker to cover some missle warheads or something..
Yeah, they always ask us book out, remember to book in with empty mineral water bottles, so each can cut it up and share for 2 gun barrels.![]()
save monie at the expense
of giving "nice food" in cookhouse?
I heard each serving of that crap, i mean food cost 12 bucks per pax! 3 bucks can get me decent nasi padang at the canteen.![]()
money still wasted in some manners...
why need to provide supper leh I dun understand, some more with coffee and tea made one unable to sleep. eat what supper when one is going to sleep soon. so how much can MINDEF save if supper is scraped? 1 million at least?
thats not how they check how a damn infrared is werkin on a chinook in daytime or night time!!!
i would say the dude made something useless for that purpose...anyway from way he made n designed his stuff....thats not a military expert.....looks like he hasnt any technical experience with the military in that area and didnt even asked anyone from ground how they did that!!!he must have been well connected and have people in high places to have brought him in that position.
HE ISNT good enough to be called a military expert!
some military expert he is.....maybe i should go knock on their door and ask them to gimme a job as some military expert too...i did that many years ago and even fixed simple systems like that with silicone valley group decades ago!
Originally posted by ditzy:If they cut down on the number of 3day 2 night outfield exercises, they can save $100000 a week.
They can save even more if they give all NSFs more admin time/early bookout and cancel all overseas training and operations. They can also shorten the BMT duration as I heard that it costs a lot of money to train a recruit. Besides that, they should also cancel this stupid thing called reservist . If all these don't work, mindeaf sould just outsource everything to bangla and ahthiong. They will be more than happy to work 4 $500 per month .
they would save a whole lot more if they retrench all those useless top brass !
The cheap night snacks all almost expired one. MINDEF so save money this way.
They've too many mouths to feed alrdy.
whole org so big to even able to improve things fast.
Less high key ICT, more low key ICT, and limit to 5 days.
Outfield exercise don't indent so much ammo. Less shooting, less to clean, less to maintain, no need to pay chartered industries so much.![]()
You save money for them, what do you get in return?
A plaque? ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:You save money for them, what do you get in return?
A plaque?
I get to participate in a parade, and a cheap watch the other 225000 ord personnel also get.![]()
no service...
no worries...
The night snack most evil one. Almost expired still give us.
omg develope a device! haha he didnt know a camera can see infrared also meh...
Originally posted by ditzy:I get to participate in a parade, and a cheap watch the other 225000 ord personnel also get.
wtf, what a waste of tax payer money leh
scrap the annual ORD shoot lar, what a waste of ammo and money leh!!!
ayiah
SP check by feeling the heat of the bulb ![]()
Originally posted by ~PEPPER~:The cheap night snacks all almost expired one. MINDEF so save money this way.
scrap the night snack lar. sleeping time, eat what might snack and drink what beverage before sleeping.......
the ultimate cost saving is to get rid of the overpaid morons ![]()