I AM a secondary school teacher and a mother of two teens, both studying in different polytechnics.
The term vacations of polytechnics vary and often do not coincide with those of primary and secondary schools as well as junior colleges. This makes it difficult to plan a family vacation together.
For instance, my daughter's next long vacation includes a week of tests running right through the same September week-long break as secondary schools (Sept 4 to 12). So there is no way we can plan a holiday in that week. Similarly, my son has semestral examinations beginning Sept 6 for the next two weeks.
I am sure there are other families who face the same problem. Even though my kids are not young, we treasure our family vacations.
Much has been said about the importance of families spending time together. Can the polytechnics work together and plan some of the term vacations to coincide with those of primary and secondary schools as well as JCs?
Cindy Soon (Mrs)
-- ST Forum
Lastime my frenz told me dun put the holidays together is cos scared the teenagers stir up problems. Imagine JC sec school, poly and ITE holiday all together. wait gang fight.
don't have children
then u can go on vacations with your husband whenever ur leave is approved ![]()
Why not make primary and secondary school holidays coincide with poly term vacations instead? Geez.
oh please please please don't make poly and the other institutes holiday coincide. =( I enjoy the peace on the streets when I don't see crappy sec sch teens roaming about -.- And poly holidays, we get to enjoy cheaper rates when travelling overseas cos its not the peak period!
Originally posted by TYING:oh please please please don't make poly and the other institutes holiday coincide. =( I enjoy the peace on the streets when I don't see crappy sec sch teens roaming about -.- And poly holidays, we get to enjoy cheaper rates when travelling overseas cos its not the peak period!
haha lol
Poly and sec sch holidays used to be the same. Then poly students and parents complain wait 4 months then can go poly. Thats why now change.
there is no one-size-fits-all solution....dun align the holidays U get people complaining...dun align the holidays U still get people complaining...
TS can afford to go on holiday...fair enough...then how about the rest who are staying in SG?...just the online gaming will lag the internet until siao liao...![]()
it was worst last time.. i had lessons on christmas eve..![]()
Originally posted by TYING:oh please please please don't make poly and the other institutes holiday coincide. =( I enjoy the peace on the streets when I don't see crappy sec sch teens roaming about -.- And poly holidays, we get to enjoy cheaper rates when travelling overseas cos its not the peak period!
I'm not from poly, but I have to say, I love this post! ![]()
Originally posted by kopiosatu:don't have children
then u can go on vacations with your husband whenever ur leave is approved
best answer!
You know, you can always skip school ![]()
wonder if the writer is the first generation of those who drank oxygenated water?
Its surprising to me that you, as a teacher, still expects the world to revolve around you.
Originally posted by TTFU:You know, you can always skip school
U dun teach huai huai stufff.
Fuck no!
Don't ever put poly holiday together with the rest.
I prefer to have a sept and march long vacation without those sec school kids. So much peaceful.
Now I am having 2 weeks break and i tell you, fucking hate it whenever you go, you see those sec sch kids.
To hell with joined holidays. _l_
Originally posted by TYING:oh please please please don't make poly and the other institutes holiday coincide. =( I enjoy the peace on the streets when I don't see crappy sec sch teens roaming about -.-
agreed..Chaos in this small island...in pursue of education, one has to give up something eventually ![]()
actually this teacher can't really complain. Poly has December and March holidays, though its just 2 weeks, but it also coincides with the 4 week long holidays with the other schools what. What more she want -.-
Originally posted by TYING:actually this teacher can't really complain. Poly has December and March holidays, though its just 2 weeks, but it also coincides with the 4 week long holidays with the other schools what. What more she want -.-
She wants more holidays.
@kopisatu - best answer!
why not make the national holidays conincide with the poly and uni term vacations as well?
then everybody can have a holiday together! LOL...
LOL!
If I'm not wrong, e holiday for poly tries to coincide least 2 weeks of e MOE sch holidays alrdy.
wat more they want when acad year starting time is diff?
Originally posted by sbst275:If I'm not wrong, e holiday for poly tries to coincide least 2 weeks of e MOE sch holidays alrdy.
wat more they want when acad year starting time is diff?
They want the academic year to start and end together. To challenge the public transport system during peak hours.
Originally posted by ditzy:They want the academic year to start and end together. To challenge the public transport system during peak hours.
In terms of admin wise it's not going to be possible thks to e O levels release.
As for public tpt yeah, they're alrdy challenging e morning peak hrs load by starting school later, clashing w/ ppl going to poly, uni or to work.
Originally posted by gunner77:Fuck no!
Don't ever put poly holiday together with the rest.
I prefer to have a sept and march long vacation without those sec school kids. So much peaceful.
Now I am having 2 weeks break and i tell you, fucking hate it whenever you go, you see those sec sch kids.
To hell with joined holidays. _l_
Now you understand why poly students have no student fares ![]()
This is the trade-off you enjoy ![]()
Originally posted by eagle:Now you understand why poly students have no student fares
This is the trade-off you enjoy