Hollywood actress and former star of hit TV drama series ”E.R”, Ming Na, reveals she is toying with the idea of moving to Singapore.
The star of movies such as The Joy Luck Club, Street Fighter and One Night Stand told Yahoo! Singapore in an exclusive interview that she’s keen to follow in the footsteps of Chinese actors Jet Li and Gong Li, who recently took up Singapore citizenship.
“I really love Singapore,” said the 46-year-old Chinese American.
Remembering her last visit to Singapore, she said, “It was 11 years ago! I was there for a play, the Asian premiere of David Hwang’s Golden Child at the Victoria Theatre.”
“When I was in Singapore, I thought it was absolutely the perfect place to retire. It might be a good dream to retire there some day. The weather [in Singapore] is so good and everywhere is clean. I can’t believe how the malls can sell the best food, especially the food courts. I wished we had that in the States,” she said.
Born in Macau, Na and her family immigrated to the U.S. when she was at the tender age of four. Today, she lives in Los Angeles with her husband, Eric Michael Zee and two children, Michaela, 10, and Cooper, 5.
Speaking to Yahoo! SEA on the set of a new sci-fi show on Syfy Universal in Vancouver, Canada, Na shares her views about Singapore.
In the soon-to-be launched science fiction drama series Stargate Universe (SGU), Na plays the character of Camile Wray, a high-ranking official onboard the “Destiny” spaceship.
The series is loosely based on the hit 1994 movie, Stargate, which grossed over US$200 million worldwide and which has since given rise to several TV spin-offs.
In her own words, Ming Na admits she is a self-professed sci-fi fan nut.
“My ultimate dream is to be in a Star Wars movie, and it still is. George Lucas, hello. Ming Na here”, she laughed. “I used to be president of the sci-fi club in school so I don’t think you can be any more of a sci-fi geek than that.”
From left: Jamil Walker Smith, Ming Na, Louis Ferreira, Elyse Levesque, Robert Carlyle, Brian J. Smith, Alaina Huffman, David Blue and Lou Diamond Phillips.
Together with the star-studded cast comprising Robert Carlyle, Lou Diamond Phillips, Brian J. Smith, David Blue, Elyse Levesque, Louis Ferreira, Alaina Huffman, and Jamil Walker Smith, SGU follows a band of soldiers, scientists and civilians, who must fend for themselves as they are forced through a Stargate when their hidden base comes under attack.
The desperate survivors emerge aboard an ancient ship, which is locked on an unknown course and unable to return to Earth. Faced with meeting the most basic needs of food, water and air, the group must unlock the secrets of the ship’s Stargate to survive.
Na describes her colleagues as a “wonderful ensemble”.
“The cast, crew and producers are a wonderful bunch of people to work with,” she said.
“I want to be able to come to a job where I like the people and the work too since I am going to sacrifice my time away from my family travelling from LA to Vancouver,” she added.
Stargate Universe Premieres exclusively on Syfy in Asia on 26 July, every Monday @ 10pm (SIN, HK), 9pm (JKT, TH) on Starhub channel 526.
Have not heard of her before... LOL...
Originally posted by Junyang700:Have not heard of her before... LOL...
Go rent the movie "Joy luck Club"
i think that was her best.
i am just surprise that singapore has great "Weather"
I mean Singapore has "NO WEATHER"
Originally posted by Arapahoe:i am just surprise that singapore has great "Weather"
I mean Singapore has "NO WEATHER"
She said it was 11 years ago when she last visited Singapore. We don't really remember if it was good.
she wants ta live in a gaou'l territory????!!!maybe she wants to have a snake in her head???LOL
Maybe she enjoys swimming in Orchard floods? Awwwww so cute!
KREE JAFFAA!!HEHEH
Originally posted by Fallen-Angel:Maybe she enjoys swimming in Orchard floods? Awwwww so cute!
chances is that she is in her late 40s.
�认识
so pls dun come.
It took her sometime after her film debut.............. but Ming Na is slowly creeping up and becoming and accepted as a Hollywood TV main stream actress. She has been appearing as Guest Star in Hollywood prime time hour on various comedy and cable.
It is important to be accepted in Hollywood main stream as it is than able to get recognized from major film companies and TV producer. It also show about her personal branding.
She has a better audienceship as compared to Jet Li......she doesn;t speak with an chinese accent. The audience understand what she is saying when watching TV.
So bottomline......She is not like those Singapore actress who Claimed to "live" in hollywood but never appear in any prime time program....
hollywood Gossip.
Originally posted by FireIce:�认识
so pls dun come.
foreign Talent.....
my ancestors not from singapore.
im oso FT �代 loh
Originally posted by FireIce:my ancestors not from singapore.
im oso FT �代 loh
FT �代 means you are already assimulate as Singaporean Lor so no more incentive as FT. Cannot classified yourself as FT but start contributing CPF and produce baby.
priority always given to those have yet to decide to be FT.............marketing strategy.
anyway she is not going to buy HDB but probably one of those few million dollar apartment in orchard road. competing at a different level.
unless her career crash big time lah, otherwise come here for what ???!!!
act in Ch5 drama meh ?
maybe after Fighting Spiders, they'll ask Ming Na to act in Farking Spiders...........
now if Kelly Hu come here then different.............like in Scorpion King where she was wearing nothing under her ''sarong''................but she didn't shave leh........sigh...........
Originally posted by Asromanista2001:unless her career crash big time lah, otherwise come here for what ???!!!
act in Ch5 drama meh ?
maybe after Fighting Spiders, they'll ask Ming Na to act in Farking Spiders...........
now if Kelly Hu come here then different.............like in Scorpion King where she was wearing nothing under her ''sarong''................but she didn't shave leh........sigh...........
Just because they live in Singapore they don't have to work for TCS.
Their agent in Hollywood would still be able to give them acting role.
but remember she uses the word " Retired"
Originally posted by Arapahoe:
It's in the report above. She's 46 years old. Still cute, nevertheless... Or my taste is changing... :o
.... as more and more FT buy properties in SG, housing prices will ![]()
she was 'chun li' in street fighter
Then cannot swim meh???
e wass chun li in street fighter???that was back in 1990s about 15 years or so.another 15 years and she would be 60 years old....how time flies....Hu was born in Honolulu, Hawaii, the daughter of Juanita, an engineering drafter for Honolulu, and Herbert Hu, a salesman and exotic bird breeder; the two divorced during Hu's childhood.[1] Her brother, Glenn, is a lieutenant colonel in the United States Army.[citation needed] She is of Hawaiian, Chinese and English descent.[2] She attended Maʻemaʻe Elementary School and Kamehameha Schools in Honolulu, Hawaii. She graduated from Pepperdine University in Malibu, and currently resides in the Brentwood area of Los Angeles. She has never been married.
anyway this was what kelly hu looks like today:

Well, she said that Singapore would be an ideal place to retire to. This I probably can agree if I already have lots of money and cost is no object. She apparently has money in abundance now.
Originally posted by Fenixx:Well, she said that Singapore would be an ideal place to retire to. This I probably can agree if I already have lots of money and cost is no object. She apparently has money in abundance now.
he who has the gold, makes the rules ![]()
Go rent the movie "Joy luck Club"i think that was her best.
Written by author Amy Tan :)
My O level E.Lit text
Originally posted by Fallen-Angel:Then cannot swim meh???
plenty of surfing beach in California certainly don't need orchard muddy water.... : )