Malaysia on the hunt for 20 escaped Afghans
KUALA LUMPUR - A manhunt has been launched in Malaysia for 20 Afghan migrants who escaped from a high security detention centre and may be planning to travel illicitly to Australia.
The Afghans escaped on Sunday from the holding centre at Kuala Lumpur International Airport, in the second such incident in five months. The group cut through metal grills and climbed over a fence to escape.
Home Minister Hishammuddin Hussein has threatened to remove two of his senior officials - including the Secretary General and the Immigration Department chief - if investigations showed it was an inside job or the work of syndicates.
"Their heads will roll if the probe shows they did not do whatever was necessary to prevent this breakout," he was quoted as saying by The New Straits Times.
Police believe the Afghan migrants entered Malaysia planning to escape to Australia via Indonesia, said Selangor police chief Khalid Abu Bakar. "We believe they are still in the country. We have plugged all our exit points. They will probably try to leave the country by sea."
The men had been held for over a month at the centre. 20 officers on duty when the breakout occurred have reportedly been suspended until the probe is completed.
In March, 12 Afghans and four Myanmar nationals fled from the same detention centre. None was recaptured.
Anti-human trafficking activists have said Malaysia is used as a staging post for gangs moving people from Afghanistan and Myanmar to Indonesia and Australia. AGENCIES
http://www.todayonline.com/World/EDC100804-0000073/Malaysia-on-the-hunt-for-20-escaped-Afghans
Malaysia Boleh !
Boleh escape from "high security detention centre"
I wonder what does the high security mean... does it mean.. walls are high only.. or sophisticated high tech prison. mmm... I think its the former with high walls only.
how the hell did they cut through a metal grill?
Taliban laser beams?
s'pore oso had its own "prison break" before too if u can rmb..![]()
Originally posted by BadzMaro:Malaysia Boleh !
Boleh escape from "high security detention centre"
I wonder what does the high security mean... does it mean.. walls are high only.. or sophisticated high tech prison. mmm... I think its the former with high walls only.
Not once but TWICE!!!!
"High security" indeed!!!
Originally posted by QX179R:s'pore oso had its own "prison break" before too if u can rmb..
Ours is 1 Mat Salamat
This one machium group outing le and twice too
Mat Alamak was "trained"
these 20 fellas are supposed to be like.. normal illegal immigrants? ![]()
and this is twice already...
could be due to inside sympathisers or corruption.
Not once but TWICE!!!!"High security" indeed!!!
Another time, they can downgrade to Low Securty Detention Centre liaw . hehe
wow 20. haha gd luck....their jungles are huge.
i bet there is a scofield within them
Originally posted by QX179R:s'pore oso had its own "prison break" before too if u can rmb..
That was one guy. One guy escaping is already a massive screwup.
Twenty at the same time? I just wonder how much they paid the jaga to let them go.
Oh, and according to the article, another 16 escaped earlier in March. None of them have been found.
So, it's a total of 36 escapees from one center over five months. Malaysia boleh!
Indeed. Malaysia Boleh!!
these people are indeed clever
Perhaps they allowed them to escape, so the security forces could hunt them down?