Originally posted by iceFatboy:3) I don't think that harsher punishment is the way. Some even ask for repossessing of their flat, absurb la. These are still people and they just got misguided by a highly trained professional and furthermore a family kin. I still think they should be given rehabiliation so the "anger" that they may have are not turned into something worse or used as an example.
I think the male should get rotan of at least 3 times, just like the clown who vandal the MRT. The female ones, not asking to be subjected to rape, but must tio jail for like 3 years, for not having the need to tio sugar cane.
Why? Because this is Mas Selamat, one who had almost giving many families sad whatever when he succeed. Imagine if he blows up Changi Airport or another MRT station successfully? How many sinkies is going to be killed / disabled / injured for life? Remember, he is not some murderer outside just pull a parang and stab someone to death / into plant etc. due to heated arguments or such, neither he is a trivial case like serial shoplifters who managed to escaped from the jail / detention centre. He is real threat to the society and neither is he a hero, what you think he wanted due to "revolution plot" like October revolution? This is the basis for harsher punishment.
And dun tell me the crap of they shield Ah Mat due to kinship. Terrorist are trained not to have any kinship or whatever ship. They are a bunch of morons. F them all the way, do a research on how Tamil Tigers (Not so related to religious extremist like this mat), Al Qaeda etc nonsense train those kids. Come on la, if the terror organization trained you to be loving, got relationship / kinship etc, on the moment to do a suicide bombing, then the suicide bomber gonna to say "Oh! I love my family?" and dare not go explode him / herself? WTF, entire planning from terror organization gonna to fail thanks to this moron with ships? Common sense tells you that terrorists / extremist are heartless, not me six kin dun recognize. (å…亲ä¸�认)
They did not punish the kins enough cos it is their fault that they did not track down and also due to the coming x-marking exercise.
How are they so sure that the kins have no connection with terrorist training ?
No normal adult can tahan the interrogation without giving up ?
So, did they trace further as regard to the kin for terrorist link ?
The worse part is they have to drag the un-related link with religion. (I believe the local are too wise to stereotype the case with religion)
What if Mr Mas manage to perform some terrorist act after the escape, would the kins be part of the accomplice also ?
Is the person in charge being lenient as they themselves are incompetent and complacent in the first place ?
Who are they asking the public for forgiveness ? themselves ?
Why should the kins be forgiven for harbouring a terrorist who can create more death ?
It is not forgetting that huge resources were devoted for searching Mas.
Originally posted by Asromanista2001:of course family and relative must help Mas Selamat lah................otherwise what good are they.........
i'll be very very disappointed if they never help Selamat................i'll lose all faith in humanity liao...........
Originally posted by C751A 70049/70050:I think the male should get rotan of at least 3 times, just like the clown who vandal the MRT. The female ones, not asking to be subjected to rape, but must tio jail for like 3 years, for not having the need to tio sugar cane.
Why? Because this is Mas Selamat, one who had almost giving many families sad whatever when he succeed. Imagine if he blows up Changi Airport or another MRT station successfully? How many sinkies is going to be killed / disabled / injured for life? Remember, he is not some murderer outside just pull a parang and stab someone to death / into plant etc. due to heated arguments or such, neither he is a trivial case like serial shoplifters who managed to escaped from the jail / detention centre. He is real threat to the society and neither is he a hero, what you think he wanted due to "revolution plot" like October revolution? This is the basis for harsher punishment.
And dun tell me the crap of they shield Ah Mat due to kinship. Terrorist are trained not to have any kinship or whatever ship. They are a bunch of morons. F them all the way, do a research on how Tamil Tigers (Not so related to religious extremist like this mat), Al Qaeda etc nonsense train those kids. Come on la, if the terror organization trained you to be loving, got relationship / kinship etc, on the moment to do a suicide bombing, then the suicide bomber gonna to say "Oh! I love my family?" and dare not go explode him / herself? WTF, entire planning from terror organization gonna to fail thanks to this moron with ships? Common sense tells you that terrorists / extremist are heartless, not me six kin dun recognize. (å…亲ä¸�认)
yes, a harsh punishment would have served its purpose to tell everyone that anyone supporting them would be harshly deal with it.
Just a few questions ->
-> but what about the aftershocks and ripple effect?
-> what going to happen to these people after their imprisonment and punishment?
Blame me, but I am still under the illusion that our land is not 100% free of these terrorists.
I think u are viewing from a different angle. U keep hammering terrorists having no kinship, but the focus is on the family members who helped them la. Are they terrorists?It is never easy for those who turn in their family members when they break the law like drugs or etc.
and lastly, yes, we are giving out harsh punishments to his kins who helped him, but what about those whose neligence has led to his escape & this circus? rotan/jail also?
Originally posted by iceFatboy:Blame me, but I am still under the illusion that our land is not 100% free of these terrorists.
circus? rotan/jail also?
Hmm, how did the fact that his relatives helped him leak? Did Mas Selamat in the end spill the beans and sabotage his own family?
If so, good for his caught relatives, after all that they have done for him, all for nothing.
Originally posted by Acidshuriken:
that is the unfortunate scary part. and cannot prevent one. if israel so solid and still kena, sgpore cannot prevent one also.
ya man, like the recent sweep of the gangs activities, what would these people do, they hide.
just wondering, with the GE coming, does this have any politicial element?? just out of the box.
Originally posted by Toiletries:Hmm, how did the fact that his relatives helped him leak? Did Mas Selamat in the end spill the beans and sabotage his own family?
If so, good for his caught relatives, after all that they have done for him, all for nothing.
not sure about leak, but it must be "heavily persuaded" out of him, i guess... :P
MOE likely to fire Mas Selamat's niece
SINGAPORE: The niece of terrorist Mas Selamat Kastari, who is in jail for her role in his escape, will be facing disciplinary proceedings by the Ministry of Education (MOE).
MOE said in a statement that it will initiate the proceedings against Nur Aini Asmom, who is a Malay language teacher, with a view to dismiss her from service.
MOE said it takes "disciplinary action, including dismissal" against teachers who have been charged and convicted in court for a criminal offence.
It was revealed on Monday that Nur Aini was sentenced to 18 months' jail for harbouring a prisoner of the State.
Home
Affairs and Law Minister K Shanmugam revealed in Parliament that Nur
Aini helped Mas Selamat following his escape from the Whitley Road
Detention Centre in late February 2008.
It was Nur Aini who persuaded her mother Aisah to allow Mas Selamat into their flat in Tampines.
Nur Aini also helped Mas Selamat to destroy material evidence -- such as his Whitley Road Detention Centre-issued attire.
The
next day Mas Selamat left the flat, but not before Nur Aini applied
make-up on him and secured a tudung or headscarf over his head to
disguise him as a woman.
She also gave him supplies, and a map of Singapore.
Nur Aini's mother and father were also jailed for their roles in harbouring Mas Selamat.
- CNA/ir
Haiz
they knew they gonna go jail if they help him
blame blame blame....blame every ahmad, faizal and khairy, blame the mother, the niece, the uncle but themselves. Sack the niece for abetting escape, then who sack WKS for how mas selamat broke away through that toilet window?
Now the whole spin of the home ministry is to portray the fault as that of the family rather than put the spotlight on themselves. Bloody farkers.
Originally posted by Honeybunz:
Wasn't he born a Singaporean?
KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 24 — Jemaah Islamiah’s Singapore leader Mas Selamat Kastari, who was captured in Malaysia last year after escaping a Singapore jail, has been handed back to Singaporean authorities, an official said today.
“We can say that Mas Selamat has been handed over to Singapore authorities,” said Jamilah Taib, a home ministry spokesman.
“We don’t know when the handover took place and will release details as we have them,” she added.
It was reported earlier that Mas Selamat had been freed from the Kamunting detention camp and would be handed over to the Immigration Department for deportation to the island republic today.
Mas Selamat escaped from Singapore’s Whitley Road detention centre on February 27, 2008 and was captured by Malaysian police in Kampung Tawakal near Skudai, Johor on April 1, 2009.
He was then detained under the Internal Security Act (ISA) for two years.
In a statement on Friday, Police Special Task Force Director (Operations/Counter Terrorism) Datuk Mohamad Fuzi Harun said the home minister had cancelled the detention order against Mas Selamat. The order was cancelled at 10.30am the same day.
It is not known if Mas Selamat’s sudden release and deportation was discussed at Monday’s meeting between Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak and his Singapore counterpart, Lee Hsien Loong.
Malaysian authorities, with intelligence from Singapore, had tracked him down last year to Kampung Tawakal in Skudai, Johor.
He had been living in the village of about 100 people for almost half a year before police ambushed him in a dawn raid last April.
A Singapore Internal Security Department assessment is that “he remains defiant”.
Mas Selamat was understood to have been undergoing a rehabilitation programme that includes debating with religious experts on Islam.
Mas Selamat was born January 23, 1961 in Kendal, Central Java, Indonesia. He is linked with JI and is a suspect for a plot to bomb the Singapore Changi Airport in 2002.
Previously, Mas Selamat was detained by the Indonesian police in February 2003 to aid their investigation of several bombings in 2001 and 2002. He was then using the identity of Edi Heriyanto with fake passport, and was subsequently jailed for 18 months in 2003 for immigration offences. It was during this time he acquired his permanent limp, as result of a botched escape attempt from a high floor.
His claim of infamy started with an escape from Whitley Road Detention Centre of Singapore’s Internal Security Department on February 27, 2008. He was deported to Singapore after an arrest was made in Java, Indonesia on January 20, 2006 for using fake identity card while visiting his son there. It then spurred what is considered the biggest manhunt ever in Singapore — involving several units including the Singapore Police Force, Gurkha Contingent, Police Tactical Unit, Singapore Guards and Armed Forces Military Police Command.
The manhunt was called off 17 hours later without success, and it wasn’t until April 1, 2009 that Mas Selamat was arrested by Malaysian forces. His arrest was undisclosed under the Internal Security Act (ISA) in order to root out his network in Malaysia, and was only reported by Singaporean media on May 8, 2009.
JI’s activities are centred around the establishment of an Islamic State in Southeast Asia, including Indonesia, Malaysia, the southern Philippines, Singapore and Brunei. It was founded on January 1, 1993 by Indonesian leaders Abu Bakar Bashir and Abdullah Sungkar in Malaysia, while escaping the Suharto Government’s persecution. Since then, JI has initiated contact with al-Qaeda, Taliban, the Abu Sayyaf Group and Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) among others.
The militant organisation has been involved in dozens of attacks and bombings, the deadliest being the Bali car bombings on October 12, 2002. Its suicide bombers killed 202 people and injured 240 more in two attacks in the tourist district of Kuta. Several members of JI were arrested afterwards, and Imam Samudra, Amrozi Nurhasyim and Mukhlas Ghufron were executed by firing squad on 9 November 2008.
Other attacks suspected or claimed to be carried out by JI include the 2003 JW Marriott hotel bombing in Kuningan, Jakarta, the 2004 Australian embassy bombing in Jakarta, the 2005 Bali terrorist bombing and the 2009 JW Marriott and Ritz-Carlton hotel bombings. Many other JI important figures such as Noordin Top, Azahari Husin, Hambali, Abu Dujana, and Dulmatin, have since been killed or captured, mostly by Indonesian anti-terrorist squad.
So you all see, blame blame blame.....but themselves. The news reports these days havent highlighted that he was indonesian and they dun mention how this chap was granted the spore citizenship. If there be a witch hunt, trace back to how this fella was even given our passport, what sort of critieria was applied etc.

the family of Mas Selamat deserve to be awarded some kind of prize for what they did...............
that's what i call KINDRED SPIRIT...............
Originally posted by Acidshuriken:
oh? you family member is terrorist and you would help? are you saying that? of course must help family member cos of blood is thicker than water. but don't let him stay in house. and after that must call police lah! if he get away coz police cock cannot catch him after i alert them, police problem. don't call police is irresponsible and become my problem. mas selamat set off bombs how?
lucky i not your relative.............with relatives like you........who needs enemies............
Originally posted by iceFatboy:yes, a harsh punishment would have served its purpose to tell everyone that anyone supporting them would be harshly deal with it.
Just a few questions ->
-> but what about the aftershocks and ripple effect?
-> what going to happen to these people after their imprisonment and punishment?
Blame me, but I am still under the illusion that our land is not 100% free of these terrorists.
I think u are viewing from a different angle. U keep hammering terrorists having no kinship, but the focus is on the family members who helped them la. Are they terrorists?It is never easy for those who turn in their family members when they break the law like drugs or etc.
and lastly, yes, we are giving out harsh punishments to his kins who helped him, but what about those whose neligence has led to his escape & this circus? rotan/jail also?
Aftershocks and ripple effect? Why are you so concerned on it? I believe without family support, Ah mat cant do much. I believe they (Mat's family members) at first dislike SG govern. [Not about PAP VS Opp.] and Western culture. I bet they are the ones who hoped SG / S.E.A can implement muslim law like Middle East.
Why are you also concern their life when their punishment. Like I say, even if the punishmnet is as is, they still tio imprisonment. And in every day, people are convicted worldwide. Why you dont concern on their future as well? Well, forgive me for being heartless, but out of those convicted, the ones least deserved any ANY sympathy are those religious farkers extremist. They should be taunted and tortured like mad, by my definition because generally religion are bad afterall [Learn India and Middle East's outcome for such statement].
The focus is not only simply the family who helped them. It is also concern if any people helped and punishment must treated fairly. So next time, if another terrorist or even Ah Mat escaped again, but not going to seek help from their family members, because they know that the Police will not repeat the same thing again, but instead seek help from people from same religion [Ah Mat would seek help from other fellow Muslim brothers / Mosque], then they also sentence a light sentence, like this and say: "The focus is brothers helping each other?" / "Avoid mass anger from a particular religion" (Ah Mat's case would be Islam)? Then why they ask for public's help to hunt them down? WTF, it is disgustingly unfair.
Regarding those incompetent / neligent staffs, come on, it is an honest mistake, they tio demote, tio sack liao what more you want. They are UNINTENTIONALLY leaking Mat but these damn family memebers is INTENTIONALLY helped Mat. So these family members should have longer jail and / or rotan but these careless staff must tio demote / warning or even fired should do suffice.
Originally posted by Asromanista2001:the family of Mas Selamat deserve to be awarded some kind of prize for what they did...............
that's what i call KINDRED SPIRIT...............
Fark you for supporting terrorist and [the religion].
Originally posted by C751A 70049/70050:Fark you for supporting terrorist and [the religion].
looks like you're just one of those brainwashed fools conned by state and international media into believing in international terrorism............
there's no such thing ! they're false-flag operations carried out by the ''victim'' nations to implement a police state based on fear of the masses........
recently the puppet president of Afghanistan stated that terrorist attacks in the country are carried out by BlackWater mercenaries..............
even those remote controlled bombs used in attacks on US military vehicles and personnal in Iraq have been traced to Israelis................
Originally posted by Asromanista2001:
lucky i not your relative.............with relatives like you........who needs enemies............
These days water thicker than blood. ![]()
Originally posted by βÎτά:
These days water thicker than blood.
Who says family ties are dead in Singapore?
This is a clear example of how tightly knit Singaporean families are.
Always willing to help each other in times of trouble. ![]()
if LKY is on the run................you think LHL will help him ???
LHL will turn his old man in for a profit..............and his mommy will approve............
that said, terrorists are hypocrites if anything. does the quran say anything of killing indiscriminately and ruining countless families?
Quran say if they die for Islam...........matyrs go to heaven ..........plus got 47 or 49 virgins waiting for them leh.........
so i don't blame them for being terrorists lah..............
go heaven plus 40+ virgins............you don't want meh ???
die for islam? so murdering indiscriminately in the name of 'islam' works? maybe u r one of those brainwashed mules who believe in this as well? how abt u murder ur mom 'in the name of islam' to show us then? shoot, rape, plunder r what the taleban do. rape their own ppl in the name of islam? murder thousands to achieve a muslim state? i dun see that as a viable aim of the JI or taleban at all. maybe YOU ARE a brainwashed mule like all the terrorists, sadly brainwashed into the 'virgin' belief if they kill. what a waste. another person like u dragged into stupidity beyond imagination. how you can sympathise with them is unimmaginable.