Originally posted by iceFatboy:well, NK has nothing to lose and everything to gain, imho.
but i feel China is losing some control of this anti-us guard dog, and hence all these activities.
sigh, the ripple effect is hitting our shores and just when all is turning a corner in economic sense, this happens..
just a bit too concidence leh..
Originally posted by Hugh Hefner:South Korea is very small country, even smaller than Taiwan so it doesn't take much for North Korea to invade South. Plus Seoul is only 50km from the border. USA is bogged down in Afganistan and Iraq but will be able to offer quick air and navy support to South and buy enough time for the US Marines to repel a potential North invasion.
What I think South should do is also to enrich Uranium and then develop their own Nuclear weapon then Kim Jong Il will wet his own pants.
Also Japan already has its own space rocket programme and their own nuclear reactors, so it is kacang puteh for Japan to develop their own nuclear missles. Then North Korea will think twice about launching artillery attacks to antagonize South and Japan.
where'd you got the impression that the south is smaller than Taiwan?
Just another wayang using a bigger spotlight that is all.
Originally posted by Deino:where'd you got the impression that the south is smaller than Taiwan?
Ok about 1.7 times bigger than Taiwan
north n south fight again????many a north korean soldier chiobu would die as a result.....

Two civilian bodies found
SEOUL -THE bodies of two civilians were found on Wednesday on a South Korean island a day after it was shelled by North Korean artillery, the coastguard said, bringing the death toll to four.
A spokesman told AFP the bodies were found as coastguards searched the ruins of homes destroyed by the shelling.
Both were men believed aged in their sixties.
The military earlier said the shellfire killed two marines based on Yeonpyeong island and injured 15 marines plus three civilians.
-- AFP
Originally posted by C751A 70049/70050:Who say. North Korea's military budget is like 30% (Or 25%) when SK is like 1/10 of it (Bcoz South not like North wat Military first shotgun policy). N K has soldiers of 1.1 mil when SK do not even have 500k soldiers, if I am not wrong, already included the US troops.
Yes, the North have nuke that sucks. It is not Hydrogen bomb. Yes, the North's weapon not as advanced as South. So, no, if South more aggressive, it only helps to reduce world population instead of an easy win and flood the North. Dun forget that North have better territoral advantage than South as it is more mountanious than South. If South can swamp North, then US + NATO can swap Afghan and Iraq liao.
FYI: the national military budget of the SOUTH DOES dwarf the NORTH's. check it up will ya? the national budget of the north alone is pathetic. the army of the north is weak, poorly equipped and has rock-bottom morale. her air force? vintage russian WW2 crap. the south airforce? F-22s from the US. a specialised missile defence system. a Navy that does dwarf the north in technology and capacity.
As i said, the north budget is PATHETIC. how should u compare it to the south? AND, these days, truman's saying of "how many divisions have you?" is so irrelavent now. look at the gulf war. iraq had the world's fourth largest combat ready army in the world. what happened? the US sent in a series of synchronised airstrikes, wiped out the attacking capability of the iraqis. and FYI: the south's miitary budget, if measured in dollars, DOES dwarf the north's tenfold, get it?
kim jong11 is prob the stupidest man alive right now. provoking the south is basically like an ant biting the toe of a gaint. how can u fight well when ur army is poorly equipped, ur airforce is vintage and rotting, ur navy cant even match up to ur enemy's and u r dirt poor with no proper supplies for ur troops?
and lastly, please dont try to bring in the issue of china defending the north. in the first place, this is what really happened. the US DID NOT LOSE. in fact, macarthur would have occupied the whole of china if the senate allowed him. no, it was the wierd peace-movement that stopped the whole war on both sides. AMERICA does have the agressiveness and strength back then AND NOW and she is not afraid to defend the north even if it means invading the china and unleashing her nuclear arsenal.
u guys think china is that great? heads up, the US and the south arent 'ants' either. consider that.
.........an island bombardment???????thats odd indeed.....it seems as if someone wants to be seen as firing at south korea.......and posing as noth korea.thats indeed quite odd.,,,,normally it would take alot of aiming to fire on an island.......this sounds like an artillery or a deck gun fired from a submarine or a ship at sea.
why go thru all this trouble unless people firing it on south korean island wasnt north korean in the first place!!!it makes more sense if artillery was fired on DMZ zone and not some island.....
why not on south korean main island...why is it always far away at sea or another island?
pics from the place
one day the south isnt gonna hold back any longer and this time they may invade and i can gurrantee you, a lot of north koreans will see their lives lost.
North: ant
South: spider
South completely backed by: US----->elephant
North partially backed by: China--------> baby elephant
want to fight?
2c worth...
Son just take over... shldnt be rocking the boat...
Already need food due to not so good harvest...
Need food aid from China n WFP...
Need economic aid from china...
Scenarios:
1. internal job by SK to sabotage NK so as to get them to de-nuclearisation talks
2. Generals revolt[due to purging of unloyal cadres]
3. internal job by SK/US to imitidate China/NK...
[All the above 3 are scenarios/guesswork]
Folks, rem the info you get is from WESTERN NEWS agency who ALWAYS present a distorted view of the real picture due to inherent bias of communist regimes/undemocratic nations
top ex-US military colonels have said that NKorea will be no pushovers even if US help SKorea attack the North.............they say the North has many many effective weapons though they're not the latest ones............
just like in numerous war simulations by current US generals proved that US can't really beat Iran too..................and they say NKorea is much stronger than Iran............
Add on, US of A WILL NOT COMMIT to another unnecessary war as it is simply goin 2 drag the whole world under with the Irish crisis and pple focusing on Portugal and maybe Spain's economy...
I believe China does not condone NK aggression and no war coz any war will cause mass migration to China wic will disrupt the social well-being.
war refugees along the border is not China's state interest
ACx
Asian Games coming to an end liao..............hopefully they go to war so at least got something to watch on TV mah...........
then later US........China.........Taiwan..........Japan...Russia..........Nato.........get involved............so Korean War Sequel..........
then later Israel attack Iran and Syria..............followed by Pakistan vs India..........
just look at what she did in afghanistan and iraq. then theres iran. look at what the US is doing in asia now. military(huge) bases all over korea and japan. and yes, obama has made it clear the US will take any severe act of agression by the north as an act of war. and please, stop underestimating the South.
again, how powerful exactly is the north? can her army match up to the south in sophistication? morale? supplies? air force? support? navy? economy? u do realise that once war starts, while the south can easily suvive war, the north will CRIPPLE her economy going to war. how? massive naval blockade on the north. simple. face it. the north both economically and militarily cant take a war. her economy collapses prob mths after the war, her army crushed by the south.
It would be most irony if at the end of the day it is PLA that does the regime changed in North Korea.....
China needs the Nkoreans to do the cage rattling for them.............the whole thing is just a charade.........
same thing like Taiwan-China-US...............they all know no military actions will come........it's just all a game...........
Originally posted by Casopia-maplesea:just look at what she did in afghanistan and iraq. then theres iran. look at what the US is doing in asia now. military(huge) bases all over korea and japan. and yes, obama has made it clear the US will take any severe act of agression by the north as an act of war. and please, stop underestimating the South.
again, how powerful exactly is the north? can her army match up to the south in sophistication? morale? supplies? air force? support? navy? economy? u do realise that once war starts, while the south can easily suvive war, the north will CRIPPLE her economy going to war. how? massive naval blockade on the north. simple. face it. the north both economically and militarily cant take a war. her economy collapses prob mths after the war, her army crushed by the south.
From your username, I guess you are an American. Naturally, you will side South.
Yes, even if North's budget is little when compared to South despite North's budget PORPORTION is clearly higher than South but their morale is something that cannot be underestimated as well.
Yes, North dont have the economy to take the war, but neither South has. South's main economy area @ Seoul, which is so close to North DMZ, once a war starts, North will push their outdated artillery to destory Seoul and much of South power is disrupted. Dun forget that North has some lousy nukes to help when South have none, and an order from US takes time, even though you can safely assume North wont use their nukes, one of the reason is US counter attack and the other is both are Korean race afterall. Oh yeah, North's propaganda is like machine, so those robots infantry cannon folders will have higher morale than you thought. It is the present South is so Westernized that the young have many other better things to do that being patiriot until to die for the country is not the first thought they have, unlike North.
Dun underestimate North and China as well. Last time US dun attack China as well because North side also got difficulty due to terrain and weather constraint, how can US go further up and eat China? Furthermore, the borders of North - China / USSR is aided by Soviets limitedly. If US greedy go attack China and clean North, sure both of them may not have the power considered that US got UN support, but USSR by then will surely go out all, and start World War 3, and crush US as well. China, North / South Korea, US and USSR will suffer the consequences of nuclear holocaust then. So, it is not that simple as you think.
Originally posted by Hitman 778:
Kim Jong Il is a coward that hides behind women....
hides behind women and his little nuclear 'arsenal'
N. Korea's gangster diplomacy. ![]()
Originally posted by C751A 70049/70050:From your username, I guess you are an American. Naturally, you will side South.
Yes, even if North's budget is little when compared to South despite North's budget PORPORTION is clearly higher than South but their morale is something that cannot be underestimated as well.
Yes, North dont have the economy to take the war, but neither South has. South's main economy area @ Seoul, which is so close to North DMZ, once a war starts, North will push their outdated artillery to destory Seoul and much of South power is disrupted. Dun forget that North has some lousy nukes to help when South have none, and an order from US takes time, even though you can safely assume North wont use their nukes, one of the reason is US counter attack and the other is both are Korean race afterall. Oh yeah, North's propaganda is like machine, so those robots infantry cannon folders will have higher morale than you thought. It is the present South is so Westernized that the young have many other better things to do that being patiriot until to die for the country is not the first thought they have, unlike North.
Dun underestimate North and China as well. Last time US dun attack China as well because North side also got difficulty due to terrain and weather constraint, how can US go further up and eat China? Furthermore, the borders of North - China / USSR is aided by Soviets limitedly. If US greedy go attack China and clean North, sure both of them may not have the power considered that US got UN support, but USSR by then will surely go out all, and start World War 3, and crush US as well. China, North / South Korea, US and USSR will suffer the consequences of nuclear holocaust then. So, it is not that simple as you think.
There's some thing called ICBM and ABMs.......
Originally posted by Deino:There's some thing called ICBM and ABMs.......
Yes, ICBM and ABM to reduce South's nuke order from US time. But you think will Russia / China allowed it considered that such things may have glitches, despite technologies had evolved and minimized it? If they, especially the Russians allowed, then the Eastern Europe thing should be smoothly done.
nobody cares about n korea's conventional military.
the highlight is whether the north have nuclear weapons capability.
if u are s korean anytime u wake up u might hear air raid sounds warning u nuclear missiles are imminent.
if they hit seoul fast enough they might even kill alot of the top govt officials and destroy their leadership.