SINGAPORE : The Singapore Red Cross has filed a police report against an employee for misappropriating about S$90,000.
The employee - an administrative assistant from the finance department - has been suspended.
In a statement released Sunday night, the society said the problem was uncovered during internal checks on its accounts on December 1 and that discrepancies started in February this year.
In response to
queries from Channel News Asia, the society's secretary general
Christopher Chua said the Singapore Red Cross is taking the matter
seriously.
He said: "We're investigating and we'll tighten our
processes to ensure it doesn't happen again. We'd like to assure the
public that their donations will be taken care of."
The society said the employee cannot be named as investigations are ongoing.
The matter has also been reported to the Commissioner of Charities.
- CNA /ls
Another cheating of public money again!
Are sporean really so stupid to donate to someone's pocket?
Now, who's next? I am sure there will be many more charity companies are doing it. I beginning to lost hope on the charity organisations.
Originally posted by likeyou:Another cheating of public money again!
Now, who's next? I am sure there will be many more charity companies are doing it. I beginning to lost hope on the charity organisations.
You begin to lost hope on charity ? I long already gave up to charity , those selling flag i will give 10c or 20c so the rest wont bug me anymore.
Donate money is more like sin nowaday , the more you donate , the higher chance they pocket it , so what to do to prevent them from pocketting the money ? dont donate lor.
Anyway , if im donating to charity , there will never be cash transaction for me , i will buy and give them , need new bed ? i buy a bed then deliver there , need food ? i buy rice and canned food and deliver there , unless they want to pocket those canned food
I don't even donate shit anymore. When I'm faced by those forced to meet their community hours quota at public places, its like "get the fark outta my face".
Hey guys:)
I am from Red Cross Youth,currently a cadet.
I dun think you should blame the society,at least the society realised that something was wrong in the finance department and report it to the police to settle the problem and not keep it hiding forever.
However,I don't think this incident affect the genorosity of the people in Singapore.Every year,when i do flag day during march,there are still people who are willingly to donate money,be it 5c or even 10$,all these money have to come to your heart,or else,whats the point of donating money for the sake of donating. There are thousands of volunteers in the society including me,even link cadets(pri sch)also contribute such events. What I think that,such events that I have done is to contribute to the society,to join with others and help the sick and the suffering.
I felt that, Red Cross have done the right thing,to tell the public about the recent 'misapproiating 90k'.
Hence,I really hope you to appreciate what the volunteers from there have done,standing hours in the sun and pasting stickers around the tin,and last but not least,hoping the public can donate money from what it comes from their heart. :)
no worry im a ex Red Cross Youth Cadet too , i dont blame the organisation , i dont blame people donating.
It just that people nowaday cannot handle large amount money , same goes to any organisation with the same person.
I have have to work out ways to donate so that those really in need got it , not those who want extra pocket money donated by people like you and me
Next time we donate our old bras and panties to charities instead
more to come....i assure u ......
this increased workloads of auditors la la la....and of course more businesses and justifications for them to be more kay poh with corporate governance.....
haiz haiz haiz
Originally posted by dechang:Next time we donate our old bras and panties to charities instead
haha...there will be corporate governance on this as well.....
最安全的地方也是最�险的地方...
what about the CEO of Red Cross ????
that joker's salary is over USD600K...............
and families of 9/11 victims have to sue Red Cross to get their donation money from the public............
Originally posted by likeyou:Another cheating of public money again!
aiyah........you forgot about those goons giving their monthly 10% income tax to the local megachurches ???
talk about being big time scammers..............
Originally posted by Asromanista2001:
aiyah........you forgot about those goons giving their monthly 10% income tax to the local megachurches ???
talk about being big time scammers..............
Yes, why must donate 10% that I really dont understand and will not want to understand them at all.
How about the cdac? Everymonth was auto deduct $1 from the salary. Where is this money goes to? Any one to check? It is alot of money every month. Why no want check the cdac account? How much they have now?
Originally posted by Asromanista2001:what about the CEO of Red Cross ????
that joker's salary is over USD600K...............
and families of 9/11 victims have to sue Red Cross to get their donation money from the public............
what about our ministers salary?
these jokers salary is a million of dollars a year..and they get their salary from our taxes..
When ones handle lots of money, ones mind will become bad especially if no proper audition is involved or not external auditors come to audit.
And it is better that all charities should have to go for external auditing twice a yr.
I stopped donating to the Red Cross a few years ago. I think they have sufficient funds already....
Originally posted by Demon Bane:I stopped donating to the Red Cross a few years ago. I think they have sufficient funds already....
I don't even donate blood to red cross anymore.
The nurse gave me attitute the last time I donate blood as my blood vein is thin and it takes a long time for them to collect my blood
We donated blood to them, then they "sell" it to others? Like the hospitals ?? Is it true?
Advised to stop fund-raising
THE Commissioner of Charities (COC) has advised the Singapore Red Cross Society to stop all active fund-raising until internal investigations into a misappropriation of funds have been done and additional safeguards put in place.
The COC is also bringing forward a planned governance review of Singapore's lead relief agency.
This news came a day after the Red Cross revealed that it had made a police report accusing a woman employee of misappropriating about $90,000 since February.
The discrepancies came to light last Wednesday during an internal audit.
The COC said on Monday that the society was one of several charities selected earlier for a review next year, as a way of helping charities and Institutions of Public Character (IPCs) identify governance gaps and develop plans to address them.
The Red Cross review will now happen sooner, and the COC will work with it to further tighten its internal controls and processes.
-- ST
Red Cross Sec Gen apologises
The Secretary General for the Singapore Red Cross has apologised for the incident involving the misappropriation of funds by a female employee.
And while internal investigations continue, it has been advised by the Commisioner of Charities not to conduct any fundraising activities.
The administrative assistant in the finance department had allegedly stolen $90,000 between February and December this year.
Mr Christopher Chua says the organisation will now implement more stringent and more frequent checks on its finances.
This doesn't just apply to the Red Cross headquarters, but also to its Home for the Disabled.
It will also be more careful when hiring new staff.
"We apologise for what has happened. Second message is that we
will do whatever we can to ensure that it doesn't happen again. Third
message is to request our donors and supporters to continue to support
the work that Red Cross is doing."
Irregularities were uncovered on 1 December, when staff were preparing for the annual audits.
They realised what was banked in did not tally with the receipts issued to donors.
Investigations reveal the employee had been stealing between $10 and several thousand dollars every few weeks.
When they confronted her, she admitted guilt.
Before the workday was over, she disappeared, leaving her staff pass on the table.
It was later found that she had been admitted to hospital.
Mr Chua says she is in her 30s, and worked for over a year as a temp
staff with the Red Cross, helping out at major fundraisers for the
victims of Cyclone Nargis and the Sichuan earthquake.
But although she was also with the finance department, she did not handle any cash at the time.
Colleagues recall her as a bubbly person, though it is understood she was seeking treatment for depression.
Police say she has not yet been arrested.
-- 938Live
Originally posted by Demon Bane:We donated blood to them, then they "sell" it to others? Like the hospitals ?? Is it true?
Of course its true, the cost of overheads gotta go somewhere. How many people you know personally work for free?
since she got depression it means that she will get a lighter sentense
Originally posted by dechang:since she got depression it means that she will get a lighter sentense
I think they will punish her severely as a warning to anybody who wants to commit fraud in the future. What has depression to do with stealing $ ?
Originally posted by Demon Bane:I think they will punish her severely as a warning to anybody who wants to commit fraud in the future. What has depression to do with stealing $ ?
don't you know singapore's law?
those with mental problems get a lighter sentense.
Like if you kill someone and found out that you were suffering from depression at that time, you probably would not get the death sentense.
probably a jail cum caning sentense nia
Originally posted by dechang:
don't you know singapore's law?those with mental problems get a lighter sentense.
Like if you kill someone and found out that you were suffering from depression at that time, you probably would not get the death sentense.
probably a jail cum caning sentense nia
Oic, I dunno leh.
Donations still allowed
THE Singapore Red Cross Society has clarified that it can continue to receive donations from the public.
However, it has been advised against actively raising funds, for example in the form of direct mailers, charity bazaars and flag days.
This comes after a meeting between the society and the Commissioner of Charities (COC) yesterday.
The latter had earlier advised the Red Cross to stop all active fund-raising after an internal audit by the society last week revealed that an employee had allegedly misappropriated about $90,000 since February this year.
Red Cross, which is Singapore's lead relief agency, has since lodged a police report about the employee, who has been suspended from her duties.
It is also conducting internal investigations and reviews, and expects to submit a detailed report to the COC in the next two weeks.
-- ST