HE WAS mischievous and loved to play by himself, often pretending to be the monkey god from the fabled Journey To The West.
But on Saturday, his playful nature might have ended up costing him his life.
That afternoon, Yuen Kai Lek, 15, a special needs student, was found unconscious in his bedroom with one end of a nylon rope tied around his neck.
The other end was tied to a window grille in his bedroom. He was pronounced dead by paramedics shortly after.
When The New Paper visited the Yuen family's three-room HDB flat at Ang Mo Kio last evening, more than five relatives were inside with the grieving family. Kai Lek's parents looked tired, like they had been crying.
The family collected his body from the mortuary yesterday morning and cremated him in the afternoon.
While Kai Lek's elder brother, Kai Fai, 17, and his father declined to go to the door and speak with us, his mother, Madam Toh Kim Hiok, 57, told The New Paper yesterday that she had been at work when she received a call from Kai Fai.
Kai Fai, who works part-time, had wanted to enter the bedroom, but he found the bedroom door locked. He shouted out to his younger brother, but could not get a response.
The teen then used a spare key to open the door, only to see a shocking sight.
His brother's limp body was on the bed by the window, his head held up by one end of a nylon rope tied around the neck.
He was dressed, but his face was already blackish by then, said Madam Toh in Mandarin.
The shop assistant rushed home, but it was too late. Her son was already dead.
Madam Toh said that when she left the family's flat at 1.45pm on Saturday, Kai Lek, who had Down syndrome, was happily playing with his Game Boy in his room.
Her husband, vegetable stall assistant Yuen Kok Chee, 63, was in the living room at that time with Kai Fai.
Kai Lek's bedroom door was ajar.
Said Madam Toh: "But it's not unusual for him to lock the room door later. He often locks it when he plays by himself inside. Nothing happened in the past when he locked his door.
"Who would have thought he would have played until this happened? Perhaps it was destined," she added with a heavy sigh.
She said: "We've kept that nylon rope for more than 10 years. It was always in the storeroom; I don't know when he took it.
"He must have seen and taken it without us knowing."
She said that while it was the first time he had played with that nylon rope, it was not the first time he played with rope.
"There was another time he played with a rope and tied his hands together with it," she said.
Earlier reports had said that Kai Lek was allegedly mimicking a magician who freed himself after being tied with rope.
But Madam Toh dismissed the suggestion.
She said: "He does not watch magic shows. He likes to watch only his Journey To The West on DVD."
She recalled fondly: "He always liked to play. He loved watching the Cantonese series Journey To The West and would pretend that he was the monk or the monkey god.
"Sometimes, he would eat a banana and scratch his head while prancing around, acting like the monkey god."
Huge fan
Kai Lek was such a huge fan of the Chinese classic that he watched the series "more than 10 times".
Said his mother: "He would watch it over and over again. When the series ends, he would start from the beginning. He never got sick of it."
The teenager watched the series so often that he picked up Cantonese from there.
Kai Lek attended Fernvale Gardens School, a special education school set up by the Movement for the Intellectually Disabled of Singapore.
He did well in his school and was to have studied there for four more years until he turned 18, said Madam Toh.
"He was very obedient. In school, his teachers taught him to do simple household chores like sweep the floor.
"Although he couldn't do it very well, he tried to help me at home," she said.
She added: "He would help me with little things. Sometimes, he would go downstairs to help us buy newspapers.
"He could also buy soya milk for himself after his teachers taught him how to buy things."
Kai Lek enjoyed simple hawker fare like chicken rice and duck rice.
Every Sunday, he would pester his mother to take him to a nearby coffee shop to have nasi lemak.
"He could eat those three dishes every day," Madam Toh said with a fond smile.
A neighbour, who declined to be named, said that Kai Lek was a jovial boy who was very polite.
"He always greeted me 'Aunty' when he saw me.
"Even though you could tell he's not a normal child, you could still have a normal conversation with him," she said in Mandarin.
Kai Lek also loved to sing karaoke and her family got used to hearing him sing every afternoon without fail.
"About 2 or 3pm, he would start singing. He would sing for about two hours. Sometimes, his father sang with him," said the neighbour.
She added: "Although we could not really make out the words he sang, he could sing in English, Mandarin and even Cantonese.
"His parents doted on him too, taking him with them whenever they went shopping."
When contacted, a police spokesman said that police received a call on Saturday at 3.50pm, requesting for police's assistance at a unit at Block 417, Ang Mo Kio Avenue 10.
Upon police's arrival, Kai Lek's body was found motionless at the unit.
The New Paper understands that when Kai Fai found his brother unconscious, he cut the rope with their father's help to bring Kai Lek to the floor.
But it was too late.
Paramedics pronounced him dead at 4.05pm.
The police have classified the death as unnatural death and investigations are ongoing.
Source: http://forums.vr-zone.com/newsroom/1002431-news-teen-found-dead-locked-bedroom-rope-around-neck.html
Poor boy...
my condolence...
R.I.P
deleted
David Carradine wannabe?
too soon?
Originally posted by Emoslacker:
His brother's limp body was on the bed by the window, his head held up by one end of a nylon rope tied around the neck.
Said Madam Toh: "But it's not unusual for him to lock the room door later. He often locks it when he plays by himself inside. Nothing happened in the past when he locked his door.
She said that while it was the first time he had played with that nylon rope, it was not the first time he played with rope.
"There was another time he played with a rope and tied his hands together with it," she said.
Earlier reports had said that Kai Lek was allegedly mimicking a magician who freed himself after being tied with rope.......
She said: "He does not watch magic shows. He likes to watch only his Journey To The West on DVD."
She recalled fondly: "He always liked to play. He loved watching the Cantonese series Journey To The West and would pretend that he was the monk or the monkey god.
"Sometimes, he would eat a banana and scratch his head while prancing around, acting like the monkey god."
3 plausible explanations:
1) a game of hangman gone wrong.
2) Fail escape act.
3) Was trying to go to 西天, just like his favourite Journey to the West characters.
"But on Saturday, his playful nature might have ended up costing him his life."
Isn't he dead? English fail..? or what?
R.I.P
he is dead, but his playful nature might not have been the cause. Therefore might have ended up costing his life.
English fail...? Or what?
rip....
RIP..................
go thing he died and on his own. such behaviour no matter what other people say will not be acceptaed by all. if this type of behaviour allow to drive, work or even take the MRT alone sure cause a lot of inconvenience to other people. die better. no pity from me.
Originally posted by troublemaker2005:go thing he died and on his own. such behaviour no matter what other people say will not be acceptaed by all. if this type of behaviour allow to drive, work or even take the MRT alone sure cause a lot of inconvenience to other people. die better. no pity from me.
LOL if next time you have a kid which is like him, than let see how will you feel. Show respect to others, even if he's like that you must also show him some respect, he's also a human he don't want to be like that just that he don't know what he's doing. If he knows what he's doing, he wont die. I ask you, Who want to die? After all the person who die is you... chinese say 没良心....
Originally posted by Emoslacker:LOL if next time you have a kid which is like him, than let see how will you feel. Show respect to others, even if he's like that you must also show him some respect, he's also a human he don't want to be like that just that he don't know what he's doing. If he knows what he's doing, he wont die. I ask you, Who want to die? After all the person who die is you... chinese say 没良心....
he is mischevious. this is not a diesease or medical condition. his upbringing, environment people he mix with makes him so. last time like that our older generation behavee like that our parents use belt and rub chilli powder over it man.
wait until such people jump track mrt or rush across the road when you and our wife suddenly she feel pain from going to give birth or some embulance rushing patience to ER. then kena this type of peopl who cause problem road and get knock on the road jump mrt track. then you can come and curse me. no my time is not for you to decide. sympathy and amplathy worth how mucnh? silly boy ![]()
this one die good arh. one less problem to the society ![]()
Originally posted by troublemaker2005:
he is mischevious. this is not a diesease or medical condition. his upbringing, environment people he mix with makes him so. last time like that our older generation behavee like that our parents use belt and rub chilli powder over it man.wait until such people jump track mrt or rush across the road when you and our wife suddenly she feel pain from going to give birth or some embulance rushing patience to ER. then kena this type of peopl who cause problem road and get knock on the road jump mrt track. then you can come and curse me. no my time is not for you to decide. sympathy and amplathy worth how mucnh? silly boy
this one die good arh. one less problem to the society
Well what u said "Last Time", People always say "以å‰�çš„è¦å¯Ÿç©¿çŸè£¤", last time people walk 1-2km to school now they take bus take mrt take cab, last time kids seldom eat chicken seldom eat duck or any meat stuff, now we have mcd kfc. Last time people go hospital need take normal car go, now got ambulances. Last time people build their own house now got HDB. Last time people use fan, now got air-con... Yes children mischevious must teach must cane. But please read clearly he's a special need student, Well no one can change your thinking but is your life la just enjoy your life being a selfish person maybe next time when your turn old your child will just sent you to the old folks home cause you no need any sympathy...
Originally posted by Emoslacker:Well what u said "Last Time", People always say "以å‰�çš„è¦å¯Ÿç©¿çŸè£¤", last time people walk 1-2km to school now they take bus take mrt take cab, last time kids seldom eat chicken seldom eat duck or any meat stuff, now we have mcd kfc. Last time people go hospital need take normal car go, now got ambulances. Last time people build their own house now got HDB. Last time people use fan, now got air-con... Yes children mischevious must teach must cane. But please read clearly he's a special need student, Well no one can change your thinking but is your life la just enjoy your life being a selfish person maybe next time when your turn old your child will just sent you to the old folks home cause you no need any sympathy...
i got that covered. you think i will depend on children meh. silly your little brain or mayb too big inside all coconut? ![]()
first thinking you can call when my time's up, seconadly making wild predictions about my future? anymore ![]()
is that the best all you can think of? ![]()
anyway nothing can be changed. the monkey shit died and for the goood and better of our society. ![]()
AMend ![]()
LOL now i understand. Thank you man... Really Troublemaker2005 LOL Expire le la... Bye~ Rofl~
Originally posted by Emoslacker:
HE WAS mischievous and loved to play by himself, often pretending to be the monkey god from the fabled Journey To The West.
But on Saturday, his playful nature might have ended up costing him his life.
That afternoon, Yuen Kai Lek, 15, a special needs student, was found unconscious in his bedroom with one end of a nylon rope tied around his neck.
The other end was tied to a window grille in his bedroom. He was pronounced dead by paramedics shortly after.
When The New Paper visited the Yuen family's three-room HDB flat at Ang Mo Kio last evening, more than five relatives were inside with the grieving family. Kai Lek's parents looked tired, like they had been crying.
The family collected his body from the mortuary yesterday morning and cremated him in the afternoon.
While Kai Lek's elder brother, Kai Fai, 17, and his father declined to go to the door and speak with us, his mother, Madam Toh Kim Hiok, 57, told The New Paper yesterday that she had been at work when she received a call from Kai Fai.
Kai Fai, who works part-time, had wanted to enter the bedroom, but he found the bedroom door locked. He shouted out to his younger brother, but could not get a response.
The teen then used a spare key to open the door, only to see a shocking sight.
He was dressed, but his face was already blackish by then, said Madam Toh in Mandarin.
The shop assistant rushed home, but it was too late. Her son was already dead.
Madam Toh said that when she left the family's flat at 1.45pm on Saturday, Kai Lek, who had Down syndrome, was happily playing with his Game Boy in his room.
Her husband, vegetable stall assistant Yuen Kok Chee, 63, was in the living room at that time with Kai Fai.
Kai Lek's bedroom door was ajar.
"Who would have thought he would have played until this happened? Perhaps it was destined," she added with a heavy sigh.
She said: "We've kept that nylon rope for more than 10 years. It was always in the storeroom; I don't know when he took it.
"He must have seen and taken it without us knowing."
Earlier reports had said that Kai Lek was allegedly mimicking a magician who freed himself after being tied with rope.
Huge fan
Kai Lek was such a huge fan of the Chinese classic that he watched the series "more than 10 times".
Said his mother: "He would watch it over and over again. When the series ends, he would start from the beginning. He never got sick of it."
The teenager watched the series so often that he picked up Cantonese from there.
Kai Lek attended Fernvale Gardens School, a special education school set up by the Movement for the Intellectually Disabled of Singapore.
He did well in his school and was to have studied there for four more years until he turned 18, said Madam Toh.
"He was very obedient. In school, his teachers taught him to do simple household chores like sweep the floor.
"Although he couldn't do it very well, he tried to help me at home," she said.
She added: "He would help me with little things. Sometimes, he would go downstairs to help us buy newspapers.
"He could also buy soya milk for himself after his teachers taught him how to buy things."
Kai Lek enjoyed simple hawker fare like chicken rice and duck rice.
Every Sunday, he would pester his mother to take him to a nearby coffee shop to have nasi lemak.
"He could eat those three dishes every day," Madam Toh said with a fond smile.
A neighbour, who declined to be named, said that Kai Lek was a jovial boy who was very polite.
"He always greeted me 'Aunty' when he saw me.
"Even though you could tell he's not a normal child, you could still have a normal conversation with him," she said in Mandarin.
Kai Lek also loved to sing karaoke and her family got used to hearing him sing every afternoon without fail.
"About 2 or 3pm, he would start singing. He would sing for about two hours. Sometimes, his father sang with him," said the neighbour.
She added: "Although we could not really make out the words he sang, he could sing in English, Mandarin and even Cantonese.
"His parents doted on him too, taking him with them whenever they went shopping."
When contacted, a police spokesman said that police received a call on Saturday at 3.50pm, requesting for police's assistance at a unit at Block 417, Ang Mo Kio Avenue 10.
Upon police's arrival, Kai Lek's body was found motionless at the unit.
The New Paper understands that when Kai Fai found his brother unconscious, he cut the rope with their father's help to bring Kai Lek to the floor.
But it was too late.
Paramedics pronounced him dead at 4.05pm.
The police have classified the death as unnatural death and investigations are ongoing.Source: http://forums.vr-zone.com/newsroom/1002431-news-teen-found-dead-locked-bedroom-rope-around-neck.html
This is proof that feeble-minded vermin must not exist. They have destroyed my existence by just being in existence in the first place. They must be exterminated, wiped clean from this planet.