IF NOT for his meagre salary, Mr Ko Guan Chui is convinced he would have married by now.
Two years ago, the 37-year-old warehouse assistant was set up on a blind date with a woman from China, but she ceased all contact after learning he earned only $1,200 a month.
Recently, he went on a date with a Malaysian woman arranged by his parents at McDonald's. 'The same thing happened,' he said. 'After she heard what my job was, she stopped talking. She was more interested in her fish burger than in me.'
The number of singles in Singapore has been on the rise for more than three decades and it has become common to defer marriage into the late 20s or even 30s.
But bachelors like Mr Ko - low-income, lowly educated and pushing 40 - actually do not mind getting hitched. The only hitch? They cannot find a mate.
Since the issue of educated men marrying down, rather than their educational equals, was first discussed openly in 1983 by then Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew, the situation has changed. About two-thirds of graduate men now marry graduate women, compared with 37 per cent in 1983.
-- ST
that's why lots of old hentai out there ![]()
Seriously with a $1,200 income in Singapore, how does he expect to support a family
cant blame the women, who wants to suffer the rest of their life?
He got rejected by a Malaysian woman and a PRC woman.
So he can't say that Singaporean women are too choosy.
Originally posted by fudgester:He got rejected by a Malaysian woman and a PRC woman.
So he can't say that Singaporean women are too choosy.
It's always the woman's fault ![]()
Well, I can't exactly blame the women for not wanting him.
At this stage in their lives, they want to settle down and have a family with a good, stable man.
If his lack of academic qualifications and low salary is such a problem, then he can always fix the problem through upgrading courses and night classes. 37 is not very young, but he's still not too old for all that, either.
He should be changing himself to fix the problem and not expect the whole world to change to suit him.
Fudgester.......................consider this..............
the 37 yr-old guy probably can't afford to further his studies when he was younger..............
maybe his family was in bad shape so no extra money ....................
now...............education lagi more expensive..................
even if got people sponsor.................by the time he finish, he'll be at least 40 yrs-old.................
how many companies willing to hire a 40 yr-old ''rookie'' ......................
don't marry never mind lah..................no children lagi never mind lah................
when very old liao leh.....................
visit www.exitinternational.com.........................for an elegant way to die
let's not forget we have so many cheaper younger foreigners now..........................
vote out PAP........................the only thing we can do.................
But is it really hard for 1200 guy to find a 1200 woman ?
If the woman is roughly equal or slightly below.......isnt it then roughly compatible ?
I dont understand.
The 1200 woman wants the 2100 guy.
if you marry a girl based on income and social status, whats the point?
she marry you not cos she loves you, but because you are able to provide for her when you marry her. this is like a transaction based kind of marriage.
I rather be single than marry if that is the case. marrying a woman who is like that is very painful and lots of hassle in the event of divorce.
no money, no honey
money can buy honey n honey cannot buy money
All along it is always expected of the man to be the head of the house, to be the provider and protector of the wife and children. Therefore, women look for men who can at least be able to afford a roof. With $1200, after any bank home loans whatever, how is that man going to feed the children, pay for hefty education fees etc etc. If the woman works and earn more, she will feel the 'imbalance' and start not to respect the poor hubby.Soon, she may even wanna seek other better men.
Maybe at 1st some women don't mind marrying the poorer men but after some time, they will start to resent them and worst...treat the men like dirt. Vice versa, men with more capable wives may find themselves 'useless' and in order to feel they are still 'man'..they look for other women for the reassurances of their attractiveness, despite being poorer.
At the end of the day, is really money that can have the final say if the couple can go ahead with marriage. No money , go get monkeys .
Originally posted by Asromanista2001:Fudgester.......................consider this..............
the 37 yr-old guy probably can't afford to further his studies when he was younger..............
maybe his family was in bad shape so no extra money ....................
now...............education lagi more expensive..................
even if got people sponsor.................by the time he finish, he'll be at least 40 yrs-old.................
how many companies willing to hire a 40 yr-old ''rookie'' ......................
don't marry never mind lah..................no children lagi never mind lah................
when very old liao leh.....................
visit www.exitinternational.com.........................for an elegant way to die
Singapore garmen where got let u die in peace one?
I don't have enough money for honey, but i got no problem also, I think I'm still lucky and blessed.
The government can import more when they raise up this issue, just trying again to justify their immigration policy.
guys if you do not earn much (even earning at 3-4k is considered little by women's standards now), then dun bother getting married. stay single, you will be better off this way. get a gf instead of a wife, as you can dump or part amicably unlike in a divorce, have to apply for separation or divorce and split matrimonial home, so much of a hassle.
Originally posted by elindra:Seriously with a $1,200 income in Singapore, how does he expect to support a family
the guy needs to improve himself and stop complaining.
Originally posted by av98m:the guy needs to improve himself and stop complaining.
Maybe he should just buy a bride and get over with it
Originally posted by av98m:the guy needs to improve himself and stop complaining.
so gals go for money
seriously the women charter ought to be balanced in line with the times.....
why low fertility rate? mentioned too many times....the issue was largely ignored by the system
the rise of singles and late marriages account for low birth rates....whats the causes?..
right before your eyes
Originally posted by Ice kosong:
so gals go for money
what is the point of marrying someone who can barely support himself and seems uninterested in improving his circumstances?
so no money no honey
u see $$$ eyes BIG BIG
Originally posted by Ice kosong:so no money no honey
u see $$$ eyes BIG BIG
U mean you won't?