SINGAPOREAN men are divided in their opinions on whether women should volunteer for NS, according to an online poll conducted by The Straits Times on Thursday.
When asked 'Would you be supportive of your daughter, wife or mother volunteering for NS?', 54 per cent of 1,300 respondents indicated 'No'.
The poll was created in response to Nominated MP Viswa Sadasivan's call to let women volunteer for NS, made in Parliament earlier this week.
Second Minister for Defence Ng Eng Hen had replied: 'The Singapore Armed Forces will not draft women for national service because there are no operational needs to justify doing so.'
On Facebook and Twitter, Straits Times readers debated the pros and cons of having women don green fatigue.
Among them was Mr Melvin Hoe, who wrote: 'I'd venture a guess that NS helps to forge a sense of national identity. What's the use of only inculcating this in the males then?'
Echoing him was Mr Yue Sern Mok, who wrote: 'Girls have always asked for equal rights accorded to them. So why can't they also do NS?'
Speaking up for the ladies was Ms Geraldine Tan, who wrote:
'If us girls have to take up arms to protect ourselves, on top of the cooking, washing, having babies and having a career, we need men because...?'
-- ST
Originally posted by QX179R:SINGAPOREAN men are divided in their opinions on whether women should volunteer for NS, according to an online poll conducted by The Straits Times on Thursday.
When asked 'Would you be supportive of your daughter, wife or mother volunteering for NS?', 54 per cent of 1,300 respondents indicated 'No'.
The poll was created in response to Nominated MP Viswa Sadasivan's call to let women volunteer for NS, made in Parliament earlier this week.
Second Minister for Defence Ng Eng Hen had replied: 'The Singapore Armed Forces will not draft women for national service because there are no operational needs to justify doing so.'
On Facebook and Twitter, Straits Times readers debated the pros and cons of having women don green fatigue.
Among them was Mr Melvin Hoe, who wrote: 'I'd venture a guess that NS helps to forge a sense of national identity. What's the use of only inculcating this in the males then?'
Echoing him was Mr Yue Sern Mok, who wrote: 'Girls have always asked for equal rights accorded to them. So why can't they also do NS?'
'If us girls have to take up arms to protect ourselves, on top of the cooking, washing, having babies and having a career, we need men because...?'
-- ST
Gals should serve NS.
Are you sure every girl will do all that? Want to serve or not, women already say ,"No." So forget it, let them take up the foreigners' arms and leave this country so that PAP will have less slaves to use.
Originally posted by Askingyouto:Speaking up for the ladies was Ms Geraldine Tan, who wrote:
Are you sure every girl will do all that? Want to serve or not, women already say ,"No." So forget it, let them take up the foreigners' arms and leave this country so that PAP will have less slaves to use.
I got a feeling.... Geraldine is one of those who cant cook, cant wash, dun wan to have babies.... and have a career only.
young women wash and cook these days? haha. Shd make them serve as nurses for 6 months or other light admin duties. Then men's NS shd be reduced by 1 year.
if women are to serve NS, you will see a lot less guys doing admin work in the SAF, like clerks, medic etc etc.
its fair that girls are also called to NS. also it would be good if a chiobu can be PTI, motivation for guys when they do PT lessons ![]()
I guess that it's only fair since both gender resides on the land and people had to take up their side of responsibility...
With our dwindling birth rates, the female population will need to serve NS, it is just a matter of time.
Hey........
you guys really want ur gf to gain Big muscles during NS?
Originally posted by Mr Milo:
Hey........
I thought you like having chio bu cumming to serve NS? ![]()
Originally posted by Rooney9:its fair that girls are also called to NS. also it would be good if a chiobu can be PTI, motivation for guys when they do PT lessons
From personal sexperience, me agrees... ![]()
come serve NS can, but not run hill, carry weapons
Hey........
Some ppl like.
come serve NS can, but not run hill, carry weapons
Ok la, sometimes if I tired help carry my weapon a bit also can la... I don't mind.
If don't run hill, run track can bo? ![]()
Originally posted by octega:With our dwindling birth rates, the female population will need to serve NS, it is just a matter of time.
Yes. Agree !!!
Or gahment hire mercendary soldiers.
import FT to serve NS?
if they come NS strengthen their body, it is a plus
they need the strength for their body and when they grow old
if they come NS strengthen their body, it is a plus
they need the strength for their body and when they grow old
Tone body, as well as gain stamina, also not bad.
But gt one problem, no women regulars to train them.
let man train nt good wait c breast big or figure nice go molest touch touch.
Originally posted by Taiyaki:no women regulars to train them
Got.
For example, when do stand-by area for girls' bunk, is the zabor officer go in inspect de.