why do we need so many churches in singapore
liquidate them
Originally posted by Dalforce 1941:I prefer liquidation. Singapore already a lot of churches. City Harvest has tainted the image of churches in Singapore, that is why it must be liquidated.
Liquidate City Harvest will serve as an example for others to see.
Originally posted by BroInChrist:
Not a bad idea. But doing so may ironically mean more churches as a 30000 church can regroup into many autonomous churches of 200 each.
That may not be a bad thing. It may be a good thing.
Originally posted by Dalforce 1941:Liquidate City Harvest will serve as an example for others to see.
Totally agree!
Originally posted by Dalforce 1941:That may not be a bad thing. It may be a good thing.
I thought you did not want more churches?
I don't want big corrupted churches.
Originally posted by Dalforce 1941:I don't want big corrupted churches.
Originally posted by Dalforce 1941:That may not be a bad thing. It may be a good thing.
It's a great thing.
In many people I've met, their level of xia lan is proportional to how big their church is. Many.
This shows once again that no matter how insidious a thief is, he will be exposed and brought to justice after all. Amen.
God's taxmen... Does God need to tax? Does God need to test? Test of faith? More like the taxmen testing the subject's intelligence....
diam lah
cannot wait for 25 July?
I think what churches like CHC needs is a reformation of coming back to the proper teaching of God's Word and back to the NT way of being church.
Watch this video below. Kong Hee's lesson in giving. I didn't know faith is measured by money. The more you give, the more faithful you are. Does it mean no money means no faith? Think about the poor, dear pastor.
Originally posted by Pinknutri:Watch this video below. Kong Hee's lesson in giving. I didn't know faith is measured by money. The more you give, the more faithful you are. Does it mean no money means no faith? Think about the poor, dear pastor.
based on that measurement, KH has negative faith.
disband city harvest and get the members to join mainstream. This will make everyone happy. The members continue to worship God and city harvest ceases to exist. only KH and SH unhappy, but who cares. They won't suffer anyway. I'm sure they have enough savings in their FDs etc etc to feed them and their child for many decades ahead, if they don't spend recklessly, like renting a hollywood penthouse.
The church is not corrupt. At most the top management is. The rest are just followers, even if they follow blindly.
i dont agree leh... it is everyone's responsiblity to be discerning about what is being taught to them and what they learn and follow. In the case of CHC, other than the management, it is also the follower's responsibility to cross check whatever they've learnt from the church back to the bible aint it? especially about tithing and stuffs. I believe the followers do need to share a part of the responsibility too.
Originally posted by Honeybunz:disband city harvest and get the members to join mainstream. This will make everyone happy. The members continue to worship God and city harvest ceases to exist. only KH and SH unhappy, but who cares. They won't suffer anyway. I'm sure they have enough savings in their FDs etc etc to feed them and their child for many decades ahead, if they don't spend recklessly, like renting a hollywood penthouse.
Liquidating a church the size of CHC is IMO a very dicey issue. What do you do with the monies? Members don't own shares, so how to distribute the monies?
Originally posted by BroInChrist:Liquidating a church the size of CHC is IMO a very dicey issue. What do you do with the monies? Members don't own shares, so how to distribute the monies?
if the gahmen does that, money sure go to the gahmen.
Originally posted by [imdestinyz]:
i dont agree leh... it is everyone's responsiblity to be discerning about what is being taught to them and what they learn and follow. In the case of CHC, other than the management, it is also the follower's responsibility to cross check whatever they've learnt from the church back to the bible aint it? especially about tithing and stuffs. I believe the followers do need to share a part of the responsibility too.
The point is that regular givers know that when they are giving money, they are contributing to the operational activities of the church. For them, they trust their leaders to use it "for God".
It is just like in the NT how people will put money at the apostles' feet and let them dispense it for the relief of the needy in the church. See Acts 4:34-37.
But then again, the diff between the NT church handling of monies is a far cry from how churches today handle money. In the NT it was free will giving, no guilt-tripping about robbing God of tithes etc, and the monies were primarily use for the relief of the needy and to support the apostolic workers (who are NOT paid salaries since they are not employees of the church) who go about planting churches. Today, most of the giving goes towards church buildings and staff salaries.
Originally posted by [imdestinyz]:
if the gahmen does that, money sure go to the gahmen.
Whoa, govt is ultimate winner?
Originally posted by BroInChrist:Liquidating a church the size of CHC is IMO a very dicey issue. What do you do with the monies? Members don't own shares, so how to distribute the monies?
Comm Chest...
Originally posted by Paem:
Do you that is possible? Who can initiate that?
I believe it is possible. While I think I know what needs to be done for change to happen, how that is being done and by who is something I honestly don't know. God would have to raise the "Martin Luther" for such things.
See also http://storiesfromtherevolution.blogspot.sg/2011/09/mega-church-pastor-we-are-completely.html
Originally posted by Honeybunz:Comm Chest...
Wow, then they suddenly get win fall liao if that happens. And with all the property owned by CHC and land appreciation, wow.....