Let me start the ball rolling....since this forum is relatively new
Also a good way to know each other better
For me,I like the freedom,payday everyday,free car for own use.
I'm sick of the office enviroment,u back stab me I bad mouth u,knn never ending
If i need $150 tomorrow,I just start my engine till 6am & i know i sure get it! No need wait for payday
If i wanna go holiday with my family, I drive like mad for 1 week & then enjoy myself for 3-4days
I apply no leave & I write my own paycheck
Uncle, I am sure u are enjoying your jobs. So you always go geylang to pick up customer izzit. haha.
Originally posted by Itedino:Uncle, I am sure u are enjoying your jobs. So you always go geylang to pick up customer izzit. haha.
Geylang not for me,too messy & chaotic
Maybe those ah pek cabby like to go,lots of prc women for them to see lol
too bad i still go 7 yrs to go b4 reaching the minimum age or else i would wanna join in..![]()
Uncle Poolie me why drive taxi ?
KNN need money ma ..... and honey ma , lol .
Who dun need $$$ in Sgp ?
I left my sales job year 2001 i think ... went for numerous interviews for the same sales positions , mainly the job for new bird la , starting pay like $900 excluding comm , eat what ?
Recommend my jobless friend go taxi course , told him when time is up , i will join him .
I passed the test .... on the same day i got my TVDL , i got a Toyota Corona as a relief .
Thought like drive first , when economy gets better , then go interview later .
Now i still waiting for the interview day , after 8 years , wait la , i buy a set of newspaper first , no see newspaper why got interview .
Freedom !!!
everyday solid cold hard cash !!!
Can see midnight soccer !!! And sleep the whole afternoon next . And no termination letter from boss .
Afternoon can do my own thing , at night then work .
Work shorts hours like 7 hours daily , still can get $2000+ .
No stress .
Originally posted by Itedino:Uncle, I am sure u are enjoying your jobs. So you always go geylang to pick up customer izzit. haha.
I also hate Geylang ...
But drive taxi tiring right? How come the taxi drivers that I meet with all complain about low income, long hours and picky passengers???
Anyway, if based on my years of taxi-riding experience, I think many of 'taxi-driver-uncles' are politically adept. ; )
Oh, and not just that -- who else on this island know so much about our roads than our beloved 'taxi-driver-uncles', if you love them that is.. heh..
is it possible to drive taxis b4 30th birthday? or is it must die die after 30th birthday then can start apply?
Originally posted by kengkia:is it possible to drive taxis b4 30th birthday? or is it must die die after 30th birthday then can start apply?
Yeah die-die must wait ....
Pre-requiste for becoming a Taxi Driver:
- You must be at least 30 years of age.
- Valid class 3/3A driving licence.
- A Singapore Citizen.
- Able to converse and write basic English.
- Have at least 1 year’s driving experience with a clean driving record.
Maybe u can appeal to your MP , to let you take the taxi course first , then until 30th birthday can start driving .
Actually i support the idea of anybody , any age above 25 to apply fo a TDVL , but must wait until 30-yr-old then can ply the trade on the road .
I just wanted to try out the taxi driver life, am a PT night driver, after driving for a yr, I felt that not easy, if u really hv a big family to support, the energy n effort u spended is balance that what u earn, like what ALN mentioned No fine n No Accident is a gd day.
For me, am drive experience abt 18yrs, but I really not very familiar Sin routes, so am doing the orientation only, not the die hard cabby, but now my cash flow is pretty awesome, why still got cabbies oweing loanshark, if go as normal routine driving, I think soon can buy condo n employ maid, hor..... pool/ ALN. lastly my advise that pls driving carefully n safely on the road, don pick up pax n shoot out to the road, dont alight pax in the taxi Q, that is I hate most, So wishing all Taxi Bros Good LUCK n Happy Driving. Get enough sleep then go on the road, Take gd care of Ur health. Money Will nv enough, but only one. Cheer...............catch up wf U guys.
Originally posted by Teolk:Geylang not for me,too messy & chaotic
Maybe those ah pek cabby like to go,lots of prc women for them to see lol
After passenger alight at Geylang, staright away lock all the door and change the rooftop sign to BUSY!
Originally posted by Googooboyy:But drive taxi tiring right? How come the taxi drivers that I meet with all complain about low income, long hours and picky passengers???
Anyway, if based on my years of taxi-riding experience, I think many of 'taxi-driver-uncles' are politically adept. ; )
Oh, and not just that -- who else on this island know so much about our roads than our beloved 'taxi-driver-uncles', if you love them that is.. heh..
that is y we have this forum so all cabby-soon to be & existing cabby can share info & knowledge. These r important so that we do not drive blindly & we drive smart,use minimum hrs to generate max profits!
Taxi driving is tiring (try driving for 12hrs u know wat i mean) I must admit but my effort always = my profits
the more hardworking i am = the more $$$ i earn
This is the new era of taxi driving,drivers are getting more educated,younger & more biz minded
Originally posted by Poolman:Uncle Poolie me why drive taxi ?
KNN need money ma ..... and honey ma , lol .
Who dun need $$$ in Sgp ?
I left my sales job year 2001 i think ... went for numerous interviews for the same sales positions , mainly the job for new bird la , starting pay like $900 excluding comm , eat what ?
Recommend my jobless friend go taxi course , told him when time is up , i will join him .
I passed the test .... on the same day i got my TVDL , i got a Toyota Corona as a relief .
Thought like drive first , when economy gets better , then go interview later .
Now i still waiting for the interview day , after 8 years , wait la , i buy a set of newspaper first , no see newspaper why got interview .
Freedom !!!
everyday solid cold hard cash !!!
Can see midnight soccer !!! And sleep the whole afternoon next . And no termination letter from boss .
Afternoon can do my own thing , at night then work .
Work shorts hours like 7 hours daily , still can get $2000+ .
No stress .
Hi Poolman,
Really? 7+ hours can get $2000?
But what about cpf benefits?
Originally posted by kengkia:is it possible to drive taxis b4 30th birthday? or is it must die die after 30th birthday then can start apply?
young man, my advise to you is still look for a proper job and upgrade yourself. There are many learning curves in life exposure for you. I think that's part of the reason of our Gahmen strategy to impose a minimum age limit. Otherwise the whole streets are full of young people who never work before become Taxi drivers.
I remember many years ago , the criteria was tougher. Age limit must be above 35 and must prove that you are unemployed for a certain period before you can apply. Then they relax the rules to create more taxi drivers as the demand is there for the infrastructures.
Taxi driving is not a career or a job. You have to fight your way. You cannot take leave or sick leave or a proper holiday becos you still have to Pay Rental Every Day.
Originally posted by frosterbeer:Hi Poolman,
Really? 7+ hours can get $2000?
But what about cpf benefits?
Frosty , not many can do that , in 7 hours , only those with experience can do that .
My experience ok la , Alvin know me very well ....
If i work 6 days Frost , each 7 hours work i take home just $90 ....
Per week my salary $540 , 4 weeks $2160 .
I just need to get $45 ( rental ) , CNG ( $21) , $7 ( petrol ) , $100 ( salary ) = collection $163 , easy like ABC for 7 hours .
My Friday night is more than $90 , double maybe .
My Saturday , if i work hard , another bingo double .
So estimation is not difficult to get .
Originally posted by frosterbeer:But what about cpf benefits?
Discipline yourself ..... take some cash buy a set of life insurance for retirement .
Taxi can get $3000 if hardworking , normal work with CPF maybe starting pay $1300 ????
U go any figure out .....
But Medisave must pay cash every year , like my friend kena $900 on year from Iras , got caught when he want to buy a house .
Kena retrenched, cannot find jobs cos aging already BUT children still schooling, so thought y not be my own boss - BE A CABBY!
Hopefully, with my diligence and some wits (of course together with lots of advice fr all the old birds here), can make enough to support family. Motivated by what Ken n Master Pool said. Ai piang jia eh yiang!
Will announce once collect cab and join all of you whack the roads! Cheers bros!
same sob story..golden hand shake in dec. 07. found another job with higher $$$ but same old work life and maybe even more stressful environment. no kid, no loan, debt-free, jus me & my oku-san. told myself what the heck, no more bosses for me. became unker lor!
at least u and ur beloved only. Me? Uni fees, JC fees eoungh to drive me nuts! Already uncle, even ah pek, also must work, so LL get TVL and join in this brotherhood lor. Hopefully won't kena sampan crown, me not greedy, enough to support the 3 mouths at home, happy liao!
Originally posted by RotaryEngine:Young man, my advise to you is still look for a proper job and upgrade yourself. There are many learning curves in life exposure for you. I think that's part of the reason of our Gahmen strategy to impose a minimum age limit. Otherwise the whole streets are full of young people who never work before become Taxi drivers.
I remember many years ago , the criteria was tougher. Age limit must be above 35 and must prove that you are unemployed for a certain period before you can apply. Then they relax the rules to create more taxi drivers as the demand is there for the infrastructures.
Taxi driving is not a career or a job. You have to fight your way. You cannot take leave or sick leave or a proper holiday becos you still have to Pay Rental Every Day.
Originally posted by green hornet:at least u and ur beloved only. Me? Uni fees, JC fees eoungh to drive me nuts! Already uncle, even ah pek, also must work, so LL get TVL and join in this brotherhood lor. Hopefully won't kena sampan crown, me not greedy, enough to support the 3 mouths at home, happy liao!
bro take it easy,I'm also having lots of mouths to feed.this makes me even more motivated & more eager to make more $$$
I do not have such motivation when I'm working for people,salary always the same,lots of OT also no use
But now I know the sky's the limit :) let my effort decide my paycheck
Do join us for kopi session & we can learn from one another
Originally posted by green hornet:at least u and ur beloved only. Me? Uni fees, JC fees eoungh to drive me nuts! Already uncle, even ah pek, also must work, so LL get TVL and join in this brotherhood lor. Hopefully won't kena sampan crown, me not greedy, enough to support the 3 mouths at home, happy liao!
Do you know there is plenty of cabbies out there who has brought up their children up to the University by driving a cab ?
That is their generation ....
Our generation , our expenditure too much , so what is my solution ?
I buy Insurances for my 2 kids .... die die i pay one , just one good night from Friday i can pay off their mthly premium .
I oso bought a set when i was 32 , til 55 years old i take back $55,000 , now i 41 , 14 years to go .... very fast one .
So tentatively bro , i settle partly their educations , plus my CPF for their education i never used yet .
Discipline about money issues .
Cannot have China girlfriend , cannot gamble , buy 4D can ....
Everyday u put $50 inside your bank account , u dun touch , see if u can see money or not by mth end ....
Originally posted by chongctd:After passenger alight at Geylang, staright away lock all the door and change the rooftop sign to BUSY!
Wow David , u so respectful ?
me never saw sympathy ..... zvrrom straight to suntec to hunt for my next prey , my next city to city $3 prey ....
have your own car as transpor, be your own boss, flexible timing, serve as sideline when free as i have an corporate gifts and design company but not doing quite gd. anyone looking for corporate premium gift can contact me, sure give gd price.
can observe ppl in all sort of ways, know sg better then can bring love ones ard rather than staying home or stick too usual same old places (boring sia).
that the reason to be a cabby for me