Some of the drivers here do need a good GPS to navigate for them on the road .
U can recommend one currently u are using , or a better one if you are trying to replace .
Pls list the brand and model , price if u know .
A big Thank You from all cabbies here .
pls also indicate accuracy level , like 8/10 , or 9.5/10 near perfect ratings to be more precise about the accuracy .
Holux GPSmile 6210+ S$399.
http://www.eastgear.com/store/holux-gpsmile-6210-personal-navigation-device-p-354.html
Am using Nokia 6110 Navigator hp, not bad leh, I always kana the thai go to the ulu ulu industrial, I blur they drunk, so take out n use lor, very effective n accurate, but no short cut for routes. Now I upgraded another New Nokia Navigator Hp 6710, covered many countries like Sin/ Mly/ Indonesia/ Thai/ Aus, very fun to use it, can telephone some more, use it for my spare hp.
recently just sold Holux 62, the older version of 6210. i sold it at $280. Pagago is also popular beside garmin.
but i decided to rely on my Iphone which has google maps.
Originally posted by CM840_2009:recently just sold Holux 62, the older version of 6210. i sold it at $280. Pagago is also popular beside garmin.
but i decided to rely on my Iphone which has google maps.
Hi CM or other bros, would like to check your experience when driving using the GPS, especially your passenger response.
I went Comex and try out some of them, the voice navigation can be a bit annoying/noisy if use thru out the journey and the inputting destination can introduce a bit of a delay. Is GPS really reliable say 90% of the time? even in Shenton areas?
Will be driving soon and poor with roads, i know Poolman and all old birds have integrated GPS installed on their grey matter, but i just want to cut down on the left, right , centre from passenger and give still need to give discount to them on the fare. Thanks.
Iphone 3GS - compass and google map
watch the video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bU1jKaEAizc
Iphone is good but beyond my budget, i might go for China made GPS with big big screen.
I am seeking view on passenger response to Taxi driver using GPS as a tool , not so much on GPS features.
Was at Mountbatten kenna sent by pax to NUS and from Clementi kenna sent to CCK. Quite close to change shift 5pm ( Sunday ) and hope can get pax to sent me back to my base in the East.
Circle round CCK, only got pax sent me around CCK to market, HDB block within the estate, swimming pool. ( all directed by pax )
Giving up, head towards highway when one very frail and old grandmother with tongkat flag my cab and want to go Jurong Kechil. I told her i very new and do not know how to go and i also have doubts about her giving me direction. She refused to leave my cab and start scolding me of picking pax. I began to think i'm in trouble liao. She said she agar agar know the way and start directing me from behind, 300m turn left, junction turn here, keep which lane, just like a GPS system but difference it is Hokkien voice assisted and intersperse with some scoldings here and there. You do not know how relief i was when i see the road sign Jalan Jurong Kechil. hahaha
what is GPS ...... oh ! Is it something that make u all even more kalang kabok ?
Originally posted by ALN:haha… nowadays i seldom encounter roads that i do not know except those small lanes lah…. it is more of how to get there without getting f….. haha….
it took me just 3 months to know all about Singapore major in and out of expressways .
6 months to know about small roads and lanes .
9 months to master CBD area
In 12 months i know about commuter's choice of shortest routes .
All is along the way learn .
along the way , i learn to master the route where ERP Zones is activating ...... by the cheapest and shortest , but no jams within the City area .
It is something u guys should learn , it is something GPS dun guide you .
eg , from ChinaTown point to Centrepoint , which way to go at 6.30pm ?
U want to exit out of CBD and go in CBD again ?
Or u want to U-turn and go by Stamford Road , how many gantries along the way ? River ERP , Orchard ERP , how much total ? How much time taken ?
Or exit CBD and go by Orchard Link and pay ERP cheaper ?
It is something need to know .
So it is good to write ina piece of paper , River ERP is how much ERP at what time ? Park Mall ERP is what price at what time ? Then Orchard Link ERP is what $ at what time ?
Some drivers might say , aiya , mai chap siao la , just whack ..... but we must be pro to know this basic , just in case one day one those know-ERP-charge very well ang mo test u , u can handle it well .
Ang Mo they know one ... cos they travel taxi everyday , u might have taken them once in your lifetime , but they take taxi everyday , we cannot any whack one .
top-the-line-model : MK 1 hUMan bRAIn
size (mm)(approx) : 140*167*93
weight (g)(approx) : 1300~1400
each model is unique.
boomz!!!
Originally posted by Poolman:along the way , i learn to master the route where ERP Zones is activating ...... by the cheapest and shortest , but no jams within the City area .
It is something u guys should learn , it is something GPS dun guide you .
eg , from ChinaTown point to Centrepoint , which way to go at 6.30pm ?
U want to exit out of CBD and go in CBD again ?
Or u want to U-turn and go by Stamford Road , how many gantries along the way ? River ERP , Orchard ERP , how much total ? How much time taken ?
Or exit CBD and go by Orchard Link and pay ERP cheaper ?
It is something need to know .
So it is good to write ina piece of paper , River ERP is how much ERP at what time ? Park Mall ERP is what price at what time ? Then Orchard Link ERP is what $ at what time ?
Some drivers might say , aiya , mai chap siao la , just whack ..... but we must be pro to know this basic , just in case one day one those know-ERP-charge very well ang mo test u , u can handle it well .
Ang Mo they know one ... cos they travel taxi everyday , u might have taken them once in your lifetime , but they take taxi everyday , we cannot any whack one .
ya agree. sometime out & in cbd save more $ & time rather than turn here turn turn there just to avoid going out of zone
I have a Holux GPSmile 6210+ with 1 free battery only use for 1 week. WTS for S$350. Please call me at 92472979 if you are interested.
Garmin AUF 3503 3.5" GPS at only $159 with any old MP3/4 trade in.
Very good deal at Audio House Liang Court. Currently using the old
model Garmin 200 from 2005. Until now never break down on me, still going
strong. I recomend Garmin sets, German technology very reliable...
My friends have loan me different GPS from different manufacturers. Thus i have the chance to test them out.
If you are using it mainly in Singapore/Malaysia. Get Holux.
If you want to use it also oversea like USA - then get Garmin.
Holux - with papago maps and direction giving are more car user friendly.
I would recommend the new Holiux 62E Price at around $290. Get from East Gear - as they provide great tech support.
Originally posted by Poolman:what is GPS ...... oh ! Is it something that make u all even more kalang kabok ?
What happen? just last week after finishing my lunch at Fook Hai, than headed to multi storey carpark, beside my sonata, there is a AhBuNeiNei experiment his GPS??? so he open his door uncle, you know from ...here how to go bedok jetty...knn me cabby...Puzzle, you got GPS how come you still need to asked....aiyoyo never shown...knn what GPS. You guys try and see whether is there any bedok jetty, changi exhibition centre is there???
Bedok Jetty cars and taxis cannot go inside la .... The nearest drop off point is at the Hawker Centre car park , then walk inside 5 minutes .
Ai yo yo .....
Bedok Jetty cars and taxis cannot go inside la .... The nearest drop off point is at the Hawker Centre car park , then walk inside 5 minutes .
Ai yo yo .....