I gotten my TVL and now thinking of getting into the trade
I am not that certain about a few things, hopefully seniors and experts here can offer some kind advice
1. Hirer or Relief
2. I am looking for more affordable rental at this point when I am still new
3. Friends and family suggested I should wet my toes before deciding to go in full force as I might not be entirely familiar with every new route or location
4. Which Company might make better sense in relation to my above circumstances
5. Anything else a New Bird should watch out for
thanks very much
just read everything here and u'll have ur answers~
thanks for the reply, true but its like bits and pieces here and there, i tried but i dont quite make head or tail
for starters, i was thinking to go with Comfort, maybe hirer? (or do they have some sort relief system?), but i dont know how much rental they charge per day, is it paid per day or deducted by giro per week or month? and the security deposit, how much would that be, any condition? i came across some remarks about signon bonus, is that contract based for how long?
i am not sure if start straight OMO is considered suicide or ..? The thing about relief is can share (rental costs), but do we have to come up a share of the security deposit? If I am to start as relief, i dont mind going night time but so far i havent come across anyone offering
quite similiar question .. pls read http://cabby.sgforums.com/forums/3426/topics/376768?page=2
Maybe all the answers are there .
I started off as a relief .... and it should be like started off as an apprentice , then slowly go into next level . That's the way it is , isn't it ?
I am healthy , i am happy , i am ok with taxi salary ..... i have all i want as a cabby , a house , a family , stable income .
All becos i started off as relief .
Until u ORD as apprentice , like 3 months , 6 months probation , then u decide whether to go up one level .
Primary 1 > Primary 2 > Primary 3 > Primary 4 .....
Who is the people who shoot up from Primary 1 to Primary 4 ? Many of them ? Not many certainly not u or me .
if u IQ so high , why are u here asking me all these ?
1am , just saw Zeemax ( Dave ) at Toh Tuck CNG kiosk , he told me he 2 weeks eat grass .... first 2 weeks of being an OMO .
Vincent and Lam also struggled for their first 2 weeks with Azera , struggle with those timing that suits them , now i really hope they settle down .
Ken and Patrick last year start OMO with SMRT oso struggle a few weeks ....
It has proven to me , new bird , to start off a Hirer , without those tricks , it difficult .
Just for how long only .
Like In Hotel line , u started off as Trainee Banquet Manager for 3 months , then the hotel will confirm u as Banquet Manager , isn't it ?
Watson same , all Store Managers were under probation as Trainee Strore Manager before they turn into Store Manager .
Unless u got valid experiences , then straight away confirmed position , but not without experience .
Same la , with taxi . Just that we are our own boss .
If u use some Human Resource concept into taxi driving , u'll find those logic behind those implementations .
Do i sounds idiotic or just logical ?
I am just a primary 3 standard , u can analyse better , right ?
what pool said is correct. many eat grass for 1st 2 weeks as OMO or hirere or newbie. I almost eat grass but fortunately have some bread and butter and biscuits with milo. Now settle down.
Like me .... taxi driving is like Swissotel Stamford , many levels , that higher the better views .
Every levels has got their own unique beautiful views .
The higher u go , the more beautiful those sea views .
U want short cut , straight take lift go highest floor , surely can see good views , but ....
U just miss out on those as good , as beautiful views in the middle of the building !!!
The best is to go floor by floor , then u can see those views , from different angles , from different rooms .
And at the end of the venture , u then analyse , which floor give u the best views !!!
Also to go floor by floor , ur ear also can tahan the pressure bits by bits . U straight go highest floor , ur ear might not tahan those pressure .
aiya i talk cock nia always ......
Think again , to conquer Mt Everest .... u think they train only for 3 months ?
U think they never try Mt Cook or Mt Kinabalu first before they hit Mt Everest ?
Know why ?
Cos from the lowest point , u know where u stand ?
Then u move forward to next peak . Again u know where u stand , and move on .
U will die in Mt Everest if u straight attempt Mt Everest .
thanks so much for the pointers, i think i have better idea now, its sounds kind of tough to start off OMO indeed
seems like Relief's a good way to step off
ok that case, if say i am interested in Relief for Auto Vehicle, where should a new bird start looking, again thanks very much for taking the time to share
also like aln , must wash taxi ? change ...... must top-up diesel , cannot pay cash instead ? Change .....Crown ? Change ......
He change taxi like change underwear .
Originally posted by ALN:just whack any auto taxi near your hse…. can change later… not happy can change some more…. like david chong…. haha
how to 'whack'? any guide
but just change like that? is that ehm 'appropriate'?
Hi Sgcabby, sorry to tag on your thread cos I post some newbie questions at Newbie cabbies thread at Singapore Taxis forum but I think the sifu here missed the thread.
Hope you dun mind I lonpang your thread. :)
Hi all seniors, got a few newbie questions to ask as abit lost on certain things.
Got my TVL recently and intend to drive part-time relief. As I am working shift, I only can drive on alternate Sundays and would like to try alternate Tues and Weds. All day shift.
What is the best time to start on sunday for newbies like us?
Have posted on cabby.com.sg and list myself on Comfort website and thru phone, but was advise that it will be difficult cos of my shift pattern. I went to Loyang today to get some hirers listing.
Have received 2 calls from 2 hirers last week (ie . think is Comfort and Premier Merc) but no confirmation as I am a newbie and need to attend MDT if let me partner with them.
Today, got another call. This guy told me he can let me be Super relief for alternate Sundays or call him or he call me on which days I am free to drive. He say depends on which days, it could be Sliver Cab Crown or Silver Kia.
All I need to do is go to Premier Cab alone to register and pay for one year insurance which is about $80 or 90 something. He will give me a cab number when I confirm to go down.
I ask him about deposit and need to open any account, he say dun need.
Just to check with all the senior bros here, it is ok to register like that? Legal bo?
Also, if I register with Silver Cab by buying the insurance for one year, can I aslo partner with another hirer who may be from another taxi company (eg. Comfort or City Cab)? Meaning I can drive for Silver Cab or Comfort/City Cab as a part-time relief?
Sorry for asking so many questions as really newbie. Thanks in advance. :)
All I need to do is go to Premier Cab alone to register and pay for one year insurance which is about $80 or 90 something. He will give me a cab number when I confirm to go down.
I ask him about deposit and need to open any account, he say dun need.
Just to check with all the senior bros here, it is ok to register like that? Legal bo?
Also, if I register with Silver Cab by buying the insurance for one year, can I aslo partner with another hirer who may be from another taxi company (eg. Comfort or City Cab)? Meaning I can drive for Silver Cab or Comfort/City Cab as a part-time relief?
Sorry for asking so many questions as really newbie. Thanks in advance. :)
This is Beach Road Taxi Kiosk lobang ma ..... Kenny Yap ( vee) also driving this sort of Beach Road Taxis ...... more expensive rental , insurance all covered .
OTOT , own time own target !!!
Ang Mo Kio also have the kiosk .
I heard very popular among OTOT fellas .... they just dun mind to pay $4-$5 more for the same taxis , but otot , suka suka .
Auto i heard is about $54-$56
Pool, thanks for sharing and advice. Sorry to respond late cos work 12 hrs shift. The guy told me , Crown - $ 47 , Kia - $55. Depend on which day I want to drive, will be given different cab if avail.
Cos of my shift pattern and newbie, so far cannot find any hirer staying near my area - Pasir Ris want to let out.
May try this lobang.
Thanks.
another issue on these Beach Road and AMK Taxi kisok freelancing taxis ...... the maintenance .....the cleanliness , i got doubts with them .
Cos i heard no need to wash taxi when handover .
Oh my god , i cannot even imagine what will happen to my vehicle will look like if 3 days never wash .....
Must loon if drive for these taxis . Must endure those stench . Or bring a bottle of dettol before u start with the vehicle , do a interior clean up with dettol before u start .
Another option , keep looking for a suitable partner while driving with these freelancing taxis .
Mind you , Singapore Commuters quite fussy about cleanliness of the taxis .
How do i top a Sonata?
Do not want to short change the hirer neither do i want to spent too much time at the pumps. Filling up the Sonata is a pain to me.
The 'tiak' that comes on can be way off the amount based on the mileage i travel. I am not those type that queue at taxi stands for long idling the engine so the mileage should be a good guide. When i keep topping up, sometimes, it even overflows and do not flow down anymore.
Can advise what is the best practice and also the fastest way to top up a Sonata.
Also if i do not want to wash, how much should i offer the hirer. I drive day time 4 days per week.
sonata no point wasting time trying to top up the fuel tank, after auto-stop still can whack around another $12. this time is better utilised picking 1 more pax. just base on mileage, ex. 10km/litre or 9km/litre. easy and fast, ex. run 320km top up 32litres. if based on 9km/litre, same calc, just add 2-3 more litres lor. the simpler the better. i hand over to relief usually around 3/4 tank, so he top up also fast. if hand over full tank, he top up also waste time even using formula. in my case, i usually top up after morning break, whack full tank + $2. by the time i finish at 3+,4pm just nice 3/4 tank. this way no need to queue when topping up.
Originally posted by Poolman:another issue on these Beach Road and AMK Taxi kisok freelancing taxis ...... the maintenance .....the cleanliness , i got doubts with them .
Cos i heard no need to wash taxi when handover .
Oh my god , i cannot even imagine what will happen to my vehicle will look like if 3 days never wash .....
Must loon if drive for these taxis . Must endure those stench . Or bring a bottle of dettol before u start with the vehicle , do a interior clean up with dettol before u start .
Another option , keep looking for a suitable partner while driving with these freelancing taxis .
Mind you , Singapore Commuters quite fussy about cleanliness of the taxis .
Thanks Poolman for the advise.. Will keep a look out. :)
Originally posted by LTeeAye:How do i top a Sonata?
Do not want to short change the hirer neither do i want to spent too much time at the pumps. Filling up the Sonata is a pain to me.
The 'tiak' that comes on can be way off the amount based on the mileage i travel. I am not those type that queue at taxi stands for long idling the engine so the mileage should be a good guide. When i keep topping up, sometimes, it even overflows and do not flow down anymore.
Can advise what is the best practice and also the fastest way to top up a Sonata.
Also if i do not want to wash, how much should i offer the hirer. I drive day time 4 days per week.
when i was hirer for comfort sonata , i put auto when topping diesel , after the tiak , i just squeeze in another $1 , stop !!!!
Very easy to judge , 300km , u just pump close to 30L will do , anything under 25 litre is too low . It's between 27-30 litres .