DESPITE clear signs that the taxi industry is overcrowded - operators posting thinner profits, outright losses, and hundreds of taxis laid up idle - there is a new applicant for a taxi-operating licence.
Confirming market talk that has been circulating for weeks now, the Land Transport Authority said on Tuesday: 'LTA has received an application for the taxi operator's licence recently, and we are currently evaluating the application.'
The authority would not reveal the identity of the applicant, but The Straits Times understands the applicant is Tiong Asia Marine, a small company that does repairs, paints and cleans boilers for the shipping industry.
Yeah this news is not new , but know what ?
They are coming out with Toyota Wish ( powered by Euro4 Diesel engine ) .
Just a rumour , a strong rumour within the industry .
that is one reason why Comfort has been pushing out their fleet of new Sonatas .....
Before even more Crowns and Sonata got stuck .
Also Union's TransCab Wish also kena push to their limit .
Think Smart is pulling their punches .... smart move .
SMRT is see see look look .....
Premier is at the moment , just contented with their current fleet of Crowns , Magentis and Arrow .
Should be interesting to see how this new operator the impact they can caused 2 the industry .
wow just imagine a 7-seater diesel Toyota Wish,how cool is that
7 seater and diesel will be tempting. Imagine you don't have to crank your head on how to manage your cng mileage and inconveniences and time lost.
Good competition in taxi business.
Originally posted by Teolk:wow just imagine a 7-seater diesel Toyota Wish,how cool is that
i really dun think it's a 7-seater .
If it is , then rental must be near to $100-$130 , which is not what we want .
We want a small company , to give good benefits plus if it is best below $100 , not another prime of course . And a good reliable car like Wish .
We drivers now mindset has change ....changed alot .
Last time booking alot , take booking to cover lost time .
Now it's like all zoom into CBD style .
Nets and cashless payment becoming less important to us . All cash is best kind of mentallity .
Most important , mth end , we have money into our bank account from our taxi company .
And we then see if today we can afford to take a day off ? I am so sure we can afford when we have that access money in our bank account .
Rumour that first 200 coming out very soon . 2010 i think .
But i got doubts about their maintainance service .
I scared they put ship engine into the wish .
Originally posted by Poolman:Rumour that first 200 coming out very soon . 2010 i think .
But i got doubts about their maintainance service .
I scared they put ship engine into the wish .
tractor engine or grass cutter engine?
Originally posted by Poolman:
i really dun think it's a 7-seater .If it is , then rental must be near to $100-$130 , which is not what we want .
We want a small company , to give good benefits plus if it is best below $100 , not another prime of course . And a good reliable car like Wish .
We drivers now mindset has change ....changed alot .
Last time booking alot , take booking to cover lost time .
Now it's like all zoom into CBD style .
Nets and cashless payment becoming less important to us . All cash is best kind of mentallity .
Most important , mth end , we have money into our bank account from our taxi company .
And we then see if today we can afford to take a day off ? I am so sure we can afford when we have that access money in our bank account .
If they don't have anything special or better than others, then it doesn't make any difference and cannot grow the taxi business. Diesel engine and 70 bucks NETT will instantly get all the drivers and become number 1. I will be one of them to hop.
if they use Prime markeing with bonuses , with 5-yr contract , they are prepare for the doom .
if the boss see this , let me tell him what we want now ...
Rental closed to $90 wih GST it's still ok with Wish .
1 month $500 bonus .
Upon completion of 1 year contract $1000 bonus .
To fill in another 1 year , another $1000 bonus .
Completion of 2nd year , $2000 bonus .
Isn't it the way to keep drivers to drive ur taxi for long time ? Money talk ma .
u talking about prime ? prime bankrupt ? I dun think so leh ....
This Tiong Marine has to learn the lesson from Prime , they are lucky before they launched those scheme for hirers , headlines that 15 suing prime for misleading .
They have to think twice about those policies and those complications .
wondering what colour they used ?
Blue = comfort
yellow = citycab
green = smart
white = smrt
red = transcab
prime = copper
premier = silver
yellow top = yellow black
..................pink ?
I like SkyBlue . Wondering if Comfort got register this skyblue colour ? They used to use skyblue , now Dark Blue .
This might be the closest thing the taxi might look like. :-) But it a 2004 model
http://www.netcarshow.com/toyota/2004-corolla_verso_d4d/02.htm
Take note the engines
Originally posted by Poolman:Yeah this news is not new , but know what ?
They are coming out with Toyota Wish ( powered by Euro4 Diesel engine ) .
Just a rumour , a strong rumour within the industry .
D4D powered Wish would be fucking cool. seriously.
btw since this mention of D4D engines, anyone got any idea about the power ratings of the one used in the HIACE van?
Originally posted by Poolman:u talking about prime ? prime bankrupt ? I dun think so leh ....
This Tiong Marine has to learn the lesson from Prime , they are lucky before they launched those scheme for hirers , headlines that 15 suing prime for misleading .
They have to think twice about those policies and those complications .
wondering what colour they used ?
Blue = comfort
yellow = citycab
green = smart
white = smrt
red = transcab
prime = copper
premier = silver
yellow top = yellow black
..................pink ?
I like SkyBlue . Wondering if Comfort got register this skyblue colour ? They used to use skyblue , now Dark Blue .
i think white plus black look really cool for a taxi
Originally posted by Teolk:i think white plus black look really cool for a taxi
what about this ?
not this combination lah bro lol,more like those cops car in USA
like this one

An idea like that not bad , i like it !