What u think a good cabby should do , and what a cabby shouldn't do ?
All members pls feel free to put your opinion across .
Many newbies here would benefit a lot .
And even oldman like me can learn a trick or 2 .
I really hope people like KCTK ( Kelvin ) , Kin , thelionsleepstonight , or BenQEpson can give some advice , they are The One !
I think wearing an expensive watch is not recommedable .
Gold bracelet or they call it bangle , and gold and diamond rings , better keep at home .
Even handphones , use a cheap one .
U guys initiate any talks to pax ?
Me no no no ...
They asked , i answer .
The rest stop .
Maybe angmo i asked more , like where they come from ? Business or Leisure ? How many days ?
From there , i sell Singapore to them .
And take them for a tour inside CBD , hahahahaha and alight them at Merlion , then i can go Raffles Quay Connect another ang mo , hahahahh
I NEVER talk local politics with local paxes .
Like condeming PAP etc .
I dun recommend , not that i scared , i dun feel good talking serious stuff with paxes . I like talk cock sing songs more .
Do it in Sgforums Speaker's Corner , hahahahah
Do you smoke while cruising ?
Esp near City ?
My friend just kena $200 fine for smoking , got caught on camera of NEA Warden . Near ShangHai Road @ River Valley .
Please do educate commuters about the Taxi Pricing in Sgp .
Make then understand , so next time they can tell their friends or colleague .
Make them spread the viruses . Hahahahahah
The best is , make them complaint , no complaint no improvements , i mean LTA , not us .
I go sleep now ..... hope more cabbies share their do and don't .
Walan , rain sleep shiok .
I like taxi drivers to be concientious, be professional, provides good service and not go to war everyday.
But quite hard to accomplish everyday. Some days the traffic just gets to you and I just boil.
What u think a good cabby should do , and what a cabby shouldn't do ?
Everydays we got paxs telling us, when on board, Uncle ..I want Fast, I am Late to the destination!!!
So the other way round they are telling us to SPEED...meaning SPEEDING to fulfill their wish to reach their destination in time.
My new trick, Hello... How Fast You Want to Reach Your Destination?
Just two incident happen today...never ever sympathize pax on their requests, even old lady like this kind ages about near to 70.
What happen? at Tampines St 71... on board shown me a paper written by her son...Jelepang, Bukit Panjang. Poolman homeground.
She asked me do you know this place? Yes... me know. So as usual PIE BKE exit Bukit Panjang.
The only probelm she requested... she wanted fast to her son place the destination. 9am on board 9.20 must reach.
So I told her I (try)...She asked me again, I wanted fast. So I told her again I (try).
So at PIE, she is complaining to me that I am not doing fast as I promised her I (try), she is accusing me, those on the first lane my right vehicles are running as fast as me, one by one already overtook me. Told her..my meter already shown 90kmh that is the speed limit permitted on this highway.I damn care.... what they doing, I only stayed what am I.... my crusing.
So as taxi driver (Speeding) is not our way of life. we just earned a living...paxs like this kind really make our day bad, just because they are late and want us to beat the rule for their statisfaction to their destination in time...
The final part she started to nags nags nags behind. My temperature started to headed the higher side.
Knn... what you want from me? Just the less that twenty dollars trip... If you are late, next time please prepared yourself.. out early and wait for the taxi, and never ask the taxi to rush for you, you understand!!! if anything happen to this taxi in any case of accident how? i got to answer your son and me my families. Another KNN to her in hokkien to her. Than she... stopped nagging.
and I tell you this conversations is recorded in my handphone mode.
New trick. Taxi driver must know. LTA coffee not aroma...lah.
Second incident in the afternoon, accepted on-call job at Pinewood Grove to American club, another similar case but this is an Ang Mo. As usual asked him which route. So at BKE the traffic is heavy, me at the centre lane...suddenly he told hey.... Taxi do faster ...I am in hurry cause Halloween need to rush back after from the club. Time short. Pointed the finger to him at my Sonata speedometer already 90kmh...Sir, highway sign shown (90) not (100). OOh sorry...this is American... than do as at this speed.
Poolman...what will be your definition.
for me most important thing...lose the temper. pple horn you, flash you, give you the finger, ...i try my best never to react. just drive by my principles..Safety, Timely, Comfort. but sometimes really must damn lun, esp. kena those who press their horns the nano-second traffic light turns green. their knnbccb fingers damn itchy mah. only this thing i tak boleh tahan, then purposely slowly move. other things all i lun.
never alienate your pax. you never know if suddenly involved in accident, the pax won't want to be your witness. then big problem. pax 1 word better than our 1000 word composition.
minor collision, if can better settle privately. goto comfort, sometimes got picture also no use. if they say 50/50, you kns liao. i last time kena, lorry reversed into my stationary sonata. no witness. got picture, but comfort say cannot prove cos the picture never show the lorry touching my sonata, got about 6 inches gap. knn i thought nab nab cos my cab stationary mah. very important ... witness. if got no need picture or video also nab nab.
my handphone set shortcut..voice recorder. one press kao-tim. very useful in case you kena invited to drink coffee at lta. my friend..pax say no money, leave handphone with u, i go up and get money ok? never come back. after that go report police say cabby stole the handphone. lucky my friend pantai, recorded the conversation.
Originally posted by Poolman:I NEVER talk local politics with local paxes .
Like condeming PAP etc .
I dun recommend , not that i scared , i dun feel good talking serious stuff with paxes . I like talk cock sing songs more .
Do it in Sgforums Speaker's Corner , hahahahah
What wrong with that, as alway you told a piece of voice.
Knn my incident, happen picked one enviroment office from sunset clementi, heading to MoE building near newton. Wow ...best opportunity to bring up my complains. They are talking about green environment. So asked here (littering) is the main probelm now in Singapore in anywhere like in housing estates etc. Ya, so what? are you going to do with this probelms. educate by campaign again and etc.
So what about those flyers like those housing agents and etc dropping into letter box, to your main door gate and even your car parked at the carpark are not spare either.
OK this my email write in your complains.
Originally posted by kinwashi:Second incident in the afternoon, accepted on-call job at Pinewood Grove to American club, another similar case but this is an Ang Mo. As usual asked him which route. So at BKE the traffic is heavy, me at the centre lane...suddenly he told hey.... Taxi do faster ...I am in hurry cause Halloween need to rush back after from the club. Time short. Pointed the finger to him at my Sonata speedometer already 90kmh...Sir, highway sign shown (90) not (100). OOh sorry...this is American... than do as at this speed.
Poolman...what will be your definition.
I always tell the pax this way : " Sir , i will try my best , still safety is my first priority , not only for me or my family , it's for you and your family as well ."
I will add that i will speed base on the traffic condition . Like raining condition .
This will make them think what i said is fair .
If the road limit is 90km/h , i will speed a bit at 100-105km/h , i will not stubbornly do it at 90km/h , and i will not go beyond the excess 20km/h for overtaking speed limit .
As in 105km/h is my fastest , good for him , good for me , good for TP , they can close one eye , or summon .
To drive a Sonata @ 90km/h , not only killing the pax , it will kill me too .
Speed a bit below 20km/h excess is ok , it must be safe la .....
To drive a cab if base on principle , u wil be happy , most people will not . Flexible is better .
Going into war like what Tay said , it's your attitude and motivations towards driving , not a war with other cabbies .
Pls do not speed if u are cruising for paxes .
Cruise reasonably .
Keep left .
Use the hazard lights in advance . Not so kiasu , but a distance where it is safe for behind vehicle to take note of your intentions .
Pls keep your taxi clean ..... especially TransCab Wish drivers , what ur tidiness and cleaniless , can really reflect the images of all TransCab Wish drivers .
If one fine day , one pax said to you : " I like taking Wish , cos it's so clean ."
That is the reaction from them when all of us did the same routine of keeping the taxi clean all the time .
Like the SilverCab i took , so filthy and smelly , the next time i take a SilverCab , i will be really worried the same thing happened again . Smelly and filthy .
So far , i've seen Patrick , Rotary Tan , Zeemax ... they can really keep the car really clean . Good job .
Especially Rotary , knn used dettol everyday !!!! Clean the seat .
Patrick also another Mr Clean , scary sia , his cab so clean !!!!
Teo i dunno , haven't seen his interior so far .
if passengers flirt or seduce you, what should you do?
let's say the female passenger has no money, or doesnt want to pay the cab fare, say sex me one time in exchange, would you do it?
U guys talked on the phone when pax on board ?
It's good if u don't like it , pax , most pax don't like it .
Me i dun care , when someone call me , i will answer .
But i won't take too long .
And also , if u think u are those that cannot drive and talk , pls dun try !!!!! It's pretty dangerous .
Originally posted by Rooney9:if passengers flirt or seduce you, what should you do?
let's say the female passenger has no money, or doesnt want to pay the cab fare, say sex me one time in exchange, would you do it?
Local ? Local cannot la ...... police catch then u know . Then u be charge rape or molest !!!
If Vietnamese ladies , or Thai , or Philipina gals , can negotiate .
But in principle , bring them to the nearest police station , any race , any nationalities .
A Pro Cabby will do that .
Chee Ko Peh will go by the back door of Hotel 81 .
Courtesy is a natural thing .
DO i need to emphasis on courtesy ? Basic one enough la .
Dun spoil the market of opening the door , closing the door , knn meter only $3 , dun do that .
I never do that ... got all , if pax carry many things , no hand open door , ok la in this situation , also good if u are blocking the traffic behind , by opening and closing the door , u'll clear the traffic faster .
Very important , talking about woman pax .... 1-to-1 case .
Always direct them to the back seat !!!
Why ?
Go think about it .
If 4 women , bo pain ok la , one sit infront ....
Go think why ?
what if the passenger dun want to pay, hurl abuse at you or tried to beat you? what would you do? if you try to catch him, he run away, how? fight back and chase after him isnt it?