What u think a good cabby should do , and what a cabby shouldn't do ?
Haha...as like today rainy day.
Calls got plenty, either current or advance. Call is also another good contribution to your collection. Like today heavy downpour islandwide, where to got customer plying like penguin along the road. so we depend on calls.
So just completed one street job at smith street that was 12pm, just settled the fare...tink!! one advance job at 12.30pm...advertising company at kadayanallur street off maxwell road. so superfast activated my finger on the bid button, job secured. than parked my taxi at maxwell market carpark go for my lunch.
At 12.30pm at the lobby... On board one advertising art director and three other of her collegues. Airline house...near cargo.
Like this destination... already given...must we ask for the direction? or do our own way? as we like.
Some... when we opened our mouth to ask, kenna f**k... you taxi driver you do not know.... meh. Some as you like, than we do our own way, some traffic jam or some other like road work or accident also kenna f**k. Some pax are foreigner, we really do not know we are not local. Some local, really good, tell you all they want their routes. Some sunday pax knn want to go hotel never mention the hotel name, as like uncle... king george road near hotel 81. embarrass with lady companion. Me understood what they are doing...lah.
Aln the baton to you, your comments.
I can understand the frustration of cab drivers when they pick me up from the airport (I would prefer to take the MRT if I'm not lugging 2 giant luggage plus laptop and handbag) since I'm going to Simei
However, my rule of thumb is that I'll leave at least a $5 tip for the driver if he is nice and polite but most taxi uncles I see is either downright rude or downright sarcastic which never fail to piss me off.
i never never like to route a big round if busy period , a waste of time .
A few circumstances if i ever did that , if that way it's traffic jam .
or .... not much diff if less traffic lights .
Like Airport to Miramar Hotel @ Havelock Road . normally people will take PIE > CTE > Exit Outram u-turn at Chin Swee .
but why not ECP > Keppel > Cantonment > Outram > Chin Swee ? With better traffic condition ?
2nd example : Yishun to Jurong East .
Big round : SLE > CTE >PIE > Jurong Town Hall .
But what a waste of time , my way is Mandai > BKE > KJE > Brickland Road > Bt Btk > Town Hall !!!!
Time is money people !!!
2nd example : Yishun to Jurong East .
Bro . where will taxi go by this way one???????????????? cannot be la , thats a ridculous route to take , waiting to kena butter from pax only
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:2nd example : Yishun to Jurong East .
Bro . where will taxi go by this way one???????????????? cannot be la , thats a ridculous route to take , waiting to kena butter from pax only
knn my Merc Cabby did that !!!!
His excuse to me , he forgotten there is a route call Mandai Road . He still got the chick to tell me : " This road so far !!! "
He is the type of people that know only town side , mountain side he damn jiak lat .
That China Man kao peh kao bu , but he still pay la .
My Merc friend he very stubborn one , tell him always don't listen .
Originally posted by elindra:I can understand the frustration of cab drivers when they pick me up from the airport (I would prefer to take the MRT if I'm not lugging 2 giant luggage plus laptop and handbag) since I'm going to Simei
However, my rule of thumb is that I'll leave at least a $5 tip for the driver if he is nice and polite but most taxi uncles I see is either downright rude or downright sarcastic which never fail to piss me off.
It is only natural, people behaviour.
When I was living in Pasir Ris, like you, I will give a $5tip, but no matter what the attitude of the driver. See their reaction when you tip them.
Now as a taxi driver, I am 'taught' that locals WILL not give tips or appreciate the services rendered. I remembered I took a man from the airport to Simei, he bought so many packages from wherever he came from, boxes of them, and with his luggage my boot and back seat were filled. He was alone and I had helped him load them from the airport and unload them at his destination. All he can do was to complain to me how exhorbitant the airport surcharge is; needless to say no tips and I felt so unappreciated.
For the record, I twisted my back and had to lay off work for 2 days. No income and still had to pay rental.
Now I will not queue at the airport.
I was a lucky chap ....
Whenever i Q at airport and got a tai ko trip like that .....
I play reverse ....
I will say : " What to do ? This is part & parcel of the job ."
That's all .
They quiet i oso quiet .
Most at the end , tip me extra , like $10 , $2 extra .
Once i got an Ah Pek Tampines St 21 from T2 ..... he gave me $20 .
Lucky me ..... oso got no tipping one , i just drive off , totally forget about the trip .
Next pax pls ......
worst thing is they vomit in the cab. every taxi driver worst nightmare. or meet ghost in kranji who pays with banana leaves...
i think i've queue at the airport for more than 300 times till now of course i have a fair share of wat pool said 'tai ko' trips
the best i got was midnite t1 to tuas south ave 4 (tis trip i'll remember 4ever lol,1 of my first few virgin airport trips)
worst is t2 to budget ter
everytime i got pax going to pasir ris,tampines etc i just kept quiet lan lan
where got everyday sunday i tell myself
best tips i got was a lady from t3 to loyang valley,she kept saying sorry thruout the short journey. $30 keep the change she said
Don't be pissed off when pax say going to Tampines or Pasir Ris , just part and parcel of the job . Just keep quiet and drive on .
They stay there , mana wo pian ?
I remember on Friday night , i dun mind this sort of paxes , cos Pick & Go at T2 , to Pasir Ris , i can go airport again ...
My record is 3 times in one hour .
First go Pasir Ris , go back T2 again for that $5 , second go Tampines , go back again T2 for that $5 ....3rd get out of East side liao ...... Do i complaint ? No la , i hugged the 1st 2 paxes and kissed ar ..... hahahahahah
Another advice .... i seldom drink coffee with taxi mates when they call me between 4pm to 12am .
I dun do that ...Golden Hour , i dun need that coffee break .
I discourage good friends on working hours , drink coffee together . After 12am , no problem .
Anytime before that , u help urself , i am on the road .
It has been that attitude since Day 1 i start driving .
One uncle told me. he got a pax T3 Hotel to T1, hahaaa........ any shorter than that ?
Everytime i got pax to airport, i will turn to Budget terminal coz i can see the number of pax as well as the nos of taxi queuing very clearly and decide to join queue or not. Can the same be done for T1 to T3? Don't like to go in and then get stuck in the queue for hours.
Hey LTA , AP got timing one ..... sometime u see got people , but sekali they are walking only , not taking taxi .
Orchard midnight got many people , walkinbg also .
Budget u will kena hours sia .....Q-ing .
Maybe glance thru the Arrival/Departure schedule good for you .
Normal mon , wednesday , friday ....
5pm can .... all terminals
7pm can ....all terminals
10pm can ....all terminals , T3 must try . T2 ok la .
The rest cannot .
Tuesday Thursday .....10pm can , all Terminals .
No need to glance , wait 20 minutes , surely go out of Airport . Any terminal , esp . T3 .
T2 everyday 10pm ok .
Saturday ? Airport ? Over my dead body , not for me !!!!
I would rather go Tanah Merah Ferry Terminal
Originally posted by ALN:T1, T2, and T3 also can see taxi q length without joining
To see pax q length also can…. but waste time….
T1 u drive innermost lane and pass through taxi stand see pax and then come out….
T2, u u-turn before bridge and pass through taxi stand…
T3 u drive into coach lane or canteen lane and pass through taxi stand…
Still very confusing about the lanes coz i still not familiar with the taxi q for T1 - T3 but i take note and see if i can spot any taxi q in future.
Yeah , if see a Merc Cab empty .... U-turn and fuck off from Airport !!!
Same la , if u see Chrysler and Merc charging towards Airport , just follow them , hahahahahah
Haha, nice and simple tips. Never thought of that. Will test it out to see if this simple guage works or not.
Alvin , who taught you that ? Sounds familiar , hahahahahah
Originally posted by Poolman:
What code word ? Nonsense la , protect what ?Taxi company only know how to protect themself , they protect their money .
I never dislike pax to sit beside me , but i prefer they sit at the back .
Never irritate , no point gets irritated .
What irritate me , if they have strong arm pit smells . or stench from their clothings .
Hirer and relief la , lang ga 50-50 hirer jiak lat la , must pay access $2000 first . All stay at home . Who lang ga who pay access .
oh i see..
cause whenever I go into taxi, i find that the drivers always will call or tell their friends where they heading, and going for supper.
it seems too concidence.