Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:And last thing to add , If you think that driving a taxi is really a business , your own boss , please do think again.
Business good , many people , you can only pick juz one. you cant employ FTs to drive for u and u collect GST. Every $ that u make is all hard earned effort. Even if Shenton way is flooded with tonnes of people , LPPL you can only pick one.
This sums up the taxi trade.
Quite True - and don't think you are your own boss...paxes sometime think you are their own personal drivers....pull in there right to the boat, right to the rubbish chutes lot, right the house steps....Even they cannot walk just a few step to doorstep...
Don't think you are your own boss. You can only pick one and after that you make a KangChia quick turn-around back- No more paxes...
Taxi Driving, tutut drivers, are all the modern age of the Old age Rickshaw Pullers in the early 1900s. Just that we have modern automobile, air-condition with some comfy setting. However sit too long create other health problems...ha..ha..ha..
Rickshaw puller, Rickshaw riders exercise too much under the hot sun and rain and suffer other health problems...
My cents of stupid comparison...
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:First of all , whats there to be hao lian about ? u on meter $3 , i on meter also $3 , you said u drive for 7 years to know that easy money is made by the call centre ops people , i happen to know that too. anything wrong?
you are against the 35% , KC is against , KC is my long time friend , does it mean i have to support his stance coz i know him for donkey years?
come on la , you have not even seen me and yet u are here saying im a typical taxi driver talking big lol , arent u a bit too quick to judge?
As for lobang sharing? i am not a limo driver , i do not have a walkie talkie , i got no jobs to page out , what lobang u want? from time to time if i see massive jams i will sms KC and my kakis. that is juz about as much as i can do.
KC bro , seems like having a debate here can get on people's nerves , this should be my last posting. anything we can talk via sms. good luck in your forum discussion
Tio Call Liao....your input are very constructive opinion by your own right and i think everyone see things and issues on a different perspective. Don't give up lah...
Discussion on the topic. Focus on the issue. Bombard the points and opinions given and make corrections if you have your own assessment. DO NOT MAKE PERSONAL ATTACKS. It's all about improving work.
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:seems like my sms couldnt get to your mobile as there isnt any reply. so i guess i have to come back here again :P
you say u have comfort friends who are complaining.. then why dont u wanna hear from someone who isnt complaining? You dispute the fare structure without listening to both sides of the story . you only wanna hear what you wanna hear, how to have a discussion like this?
I admit my after 8 pm sucks to the core , thats why im learning to do something abt it. why not do the same as well?
Hirer or relief thats not really the point , to raise a point , you have to listen to both sides mah.
I can sense the hostility from you after i post what i wanna say , if you are angry , i also bo pian.
As a moderator , its better to be fair and open to all instead of juz stickin to your own points and views. If its going to be like that , why have a forum in the 1st place?
Ya man , i switch back to my 8100 that one , 9277 many cannot find me .
Hostile , siow la ...... online i am always like that .
Go and read those missiles i threw at man Utd fans , u scared sia , hahahahahah
Originally posted by thelionsleepstonight:Discussion on the topic. Focus on the issue. Bombard the points and opinions given and make corrections if you have your own assessment. DO NOT MAKE PERSONAL ATTACKS. It's all about improving work.
Lion , Good Saying....agree with you.
Tio Call Liao, Stay lah....i am red and you are blue...knn...Forum is our Best "Speaker Corner's".....
Better then those stupid Hong Lim Park.....
Regardless of Blue, Red, Silver or Golden....We can Rendevous here!
Anyone shut it down...we rendevous other sites....ha..ha..ha..
Own boss or sowhatever , personal drver or whatever .....
Do we really need that peak hour surcharge 35% ?
Let's get back to the core ......
Taxi policy in Singapore is like that ......
Got sickness , then they prescript you some medicine , and cure .
Sickness No 1 : Changi Airport ..... No surcharge .... who the hack driver want to kang chia go up ?
Medicine : Implement $3 and $5 weekend airport surcharge . Solve the problem , long Q everyday .
Sickness No.2:Singapore Expo ..... Airport surcharge $3 and $5 , all drivers chiong airport , Expo no taxi
Medicine : Inplement $2 location surcharge .
Sickness No.3 : CBD also same flag down , outside CBD also same flag down , go into CBD for what ? But CBD taxi under supply , taxis over demand
Medicine : $3 CBD surcharge , and cure the disease .
I personally never heard about having peak hour problems ...never .
And why the overhaul prices during peak hour ?
In fact , with $1 peak hour , during some time of the evening inside town , also i cannot find paxes , now talking about 35% ....... why no itchy go on scratch ?
Anyway .... i am still finding solution to ask why TransCab wanna follow Comfort pricing ...
LTA must have given them perks to follow the pricing , like guarantee 8000 low price COEs for their New Wish .
Taxi occupation (not business) is not like yester years where old timers says 'close one eye, turn on corner will have pax waiting for you".
Too many taxis? Too little taxi commuters? Pricing? Or too many people working late such that our peak hour paxs are much limited? Do ERPs contribute to people staying late at work? (CTE, after 10-30pm, jam, so many cars going back after ERP hours).
On a side note, do ERPs contribute to our country lessening population, not enough babies. To avoid ERPs, go home late, no time for family, so no make babies.
So guys lend me your ears ....
As long as the peak hour surcharge remains ....
And pax kept hiding out until 8pm , especially those surrounding CBD .
Give them a run for their money , dun take them !!!!
How ?
Make sure those outsde CBD don't get a cab after 8pm .... eg Sim Lim , Tekka ( those FT ) , Gateway ( those expats ) , Golden Mile , North Bridge road etc .....
Make them complaint .
Make them call for comfort taxis ...... cos i know Comfort taxis also shunned outside CBD bookings , esp Tekka .
This way also can make Comfort discover why their implementation of new fare structures don't work long term . Even for bookings , their own drivers also dun wan .
As far as i know , Tio Call Liao never take outside CBD call . Cos he will never get suspension , ting go and ting lor ...
Now without IR so many outside CBD problems .....
With IR , god bless those areas .
I am so sure there'll be another surcharges inside IR , besides the CBD surcharge .
And also Sentosa surcharge .
Without implementing such surcharge , i am already busy at Tanjong Pagar , and not only Vivo City , Sentosa , u siow ar ?
I standby to see .... at the end of the road , who is in control ? Taxi Driver us !!!!!
We will have the last laugh eventually , if we get it right with our plans .
MRT and Buses ? No taxi rules !
you got the point of free market....Why Transcab follow Comfort?
Why? I assume if they follow - some drivers will throw they key and join back comfort...
Why? Maybe your reasoning of LanTowAdministrator powerful influence....is correct...
Same like Diesel lah....You think goverment will pass on the law to run all taxi on CNG?
I think the Answer is NO.....Who is going to consume Domestic Diesel supply? No demand.....Petrochemical industry can shut down....because if you process crude for higher end fuel....for aircraft. etc.... who is going to buy lower end?
Also i still think COE for taxis should not be on the biddings with private car....Cost go up and our Rental cannot be reduce....Import tax for taxi is another factor....
ERP for taxi should be half price or lower...to encourage public transport... Discourage Private Car on the road unnnecessary....JUST Imagine the massive jam on the road nowadays....
Of course the 35% surcharge can be tweak if traffic conditions improve or otherwise like the airport scenario......CBD scenario.....
If every fare of you is only CBD play....what about those drivers on the day shift....no CBD surcharge...q here and q there - waste time.
The new pricing system has lessen my working hours.
The peak hour charges are steep but the normal taxi charges are too cheap. Traffic jams now lasts until midnight not until 8pm. There will come a time when normal taxi charges becomes too little to cover lost time.
Reduce car ownership, promote public transport, how to when at peak hours taxi fares to and fro work costs more than to own a car.
Increase car pricings to last time. But less cars means less ERPs which means less revenue for the government. (maybe that's why the red licence plate hours are now extended, to make way for future ERPs revenues)
I think the solution is to get more people to ride on taxis, so less cars, so less jams, commuters and drivers will be happier. See the cars going to and from work, only 1 driver and no pax. To transport 1 person to work takes one car, no sense. How to make these group of people convert to public transport?
regarding the surcharges, I believe one way in the long run is to rationalise the surcharges into Airport, CBD & major tourist attraction i.e. JBP, Zoo, Sentosa.
As for the meter fares, I believe the peak hr surcharge should be at 15 - 20% range. 35% is way too high. Same goes to scrapping the ERP commuters have to pay, it does not make sense (Taxis are always on e road unlike cars which can be controlled).
Finally, taxi stands at major location ought to have intelligent system to update everyone of the queueing situation
Originally posted by sbst275:regarding the surcharges, I believe one way in the long run is to rationalise the surcharges into Airport, CBD & major tourist attraction i.e. JBP, Zoo, Sentosa.
As for the meter fares, I believe the peak hr surcharge should be at 15 - 20% range. 35% is way too high. Same goes to scrapping the ERP commuters have to pay, it does not make sense (Taxis are always on e road unlike cars which can be controlled).
Finally, taxi stands at major location ought to have intelligent system to update everyone of the queueing situation
Yeap - scrap ERP for taxis so commuter don't have to pay....UP ERP for all private cars so to control traffics....LOGICS...
Then 35% surcharge can be reduce....everyone gain....commuters and drivers...
LTA and gahmen say they lost revenues....KNN --- goverment also want to make money... Later on they will say we privatise LTA.... like HDB...like post office..... bullshit privatisation....to escape......Still run like a government shop...
What is the statistics of ERP collection from Taxis? What's your average deduction from your cashcard daily?
Originally posted by RotaryEngine:Yeap - scrap ERP for taxis so commuter don't have to pay....UP ERP for all private cars so to control traffics....LOGICS...
Then 35% surcharge can be reduce....everyone gain....commuters and drivers...
LTA and gahmen say they lost revenues....KNN --- goverment also want to make money... Later on they will say we privatise LTA.... like HDB...like post office..... bullshit privatisation....to escape......Still run like a government shop...
What is the statistics of ERP collection from Taxis? What's your average deduction from your cashcard daily?
In e first place I suspect they gained lots, since even SBS buses gotta pay ERP now.
I dare to even question these of e scholars - to who are we serving, our people or profits?
ERP is the modern day of "mai-lu-qian"....
come to think of it , why Sunday no 35% surcharge ?
No CBD $3 , why ?
Why Airport got $5 surcharge ?
Same what , orchard many shoppers ma ....
Suntec calling for SOS at 10pm .....
Why ?
Thought it is suppose to help cabbies take up rental quickly ?
Why Sunday no need rental ?
U all got think of it ?
Originally posted by Poolman:come to think of it , why Sunday no 35% surcharge ?
No CBD $3 , why ?
Why Airport got $5 surcharge ?
Same what , orchard many shoppers ma ....
Suntec calling for SOS at 10pm .....
Why ?
Thought it is suppose to help cabbies take up rental quickly ?
Why Sunday no need rental ?
U all got think of it ?
Tat $5 airport thing was from Paya Lebar Airport days, hard to explain wat happened here.
as for 35%, it's supposed to be the strict peak hour. If not really ar, whole Sunday (maybe ok la, from 11am - 9pm) would end up become peak hour wo
Originally posted by sbst275:
In e first place I suspect they gained lots, since even SBS buses gotta pay ERP now.I dare to even question these of e scholars - to who are we serving, our people or profits?
SBS bus pay ERP - for show lah...At least they can tell the public even buses pay ERP.
How many frequency trip on that same bus trip? The cost of ERP is distribute among so many passengers in the packed bus.
Then Scrap SBS bus ERP and Taxis ERP altogether...At least taxi ride can be more convenient.
Those serve to make profits.....Which public service in SG doesn't make profit? I can only think of Buangkok Green (former Woodbridge). Those poor chaps that really kapok and no relatives really care about them and don't pay.
I heard that there are many students and teachers patients in that Buangkok Green and high class type wo..
Originally posted by RotaryEngine:SBS bus pay ERP - for show lah...At least they can tell the public even buses pay ERP.
How many frequency trip on that same bus trip? The cost of ERP is distribute among so many passengers in the packed bus.
Then Scrap SBS bus ERP and Taxis ERP altogether...At least taxi ride can be more convenient.
Those serve to make profits.....Which public service in SG doesn't make profit? I can only think of Buangkok Green (former Woodbridge). Those poor chaps that really kapok and no relatives really care about them and don't pay.
I heard that there are many students and teachers patients in that Buangkok Green and high class type wo..
In the first place, last time e paper toll era SBS buses dun even pay a single cent. Wat's more 1 gantry would cost abt $4 - $8 per bus per entry.
profits is sure to occur for it being a capitalist system, but wat abt social responsibility?
Originally posted by sbst275:In the first place, last time e paper toll era SBS buses dun even pay a single cent. Wat's more 1 gantry would cost abt $4 - $8 per bus per entry.
profits is sure to occur for it being a capitalist system, but wat abt social responsibility?
Social responsibility in Sg is outsourced to private entities.
Really. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:
Social responsibility in Sg is outsourced to private entities.
Really.
bleah...
We've highly paid scholars and wats not, a decent level of social responsiblity to the people of Singapore they're serving is not there?
Originally posted by sbst275:
bleah...We've highly paid scholars and wats not, a decent level of social responsiblity to the people of Singapore they're serving is not there?
You think they care about your bus captains and cab drivers?
All they can think about is, how they can make more money from us.
You should be more familiar with how the transport companies and ministries work in sg. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:
You think they care about your bus captains and cab drivers?
All they can think about is, how they can make more money from us.
You should be more familiar with how the transport companies and ministries work in sg.
wait, tpt co follows wat govt's policy are
They dun want to promote public tpt also llst
Raymond Lim said some 2 - 3 yrs ago: ERP help ppl to own cars
Now he says: We've focused less on public tpt on e past few years