So those cheaters dun try taking a Wish and ask to us to wait and u go up .....
U'll be in grave trouble ...... if Wish driven by me .
It's ok we make ur life difficult and u boycott Wish , it's ok .
WE DON'T NEED PAX LIKE YOU !!!!
hi, just to share,
for me, whenever I take a taxi, and I have $50, I will tell the driver. Some will say okay, some will moan. if they moan, I go off.
However, there is one that said okay, later, at destination, he found he has no change. Drove me to coffeeshop, take my 50 and went to get change, and the meter was running the whole time. And at my destination, he charged me full. is that morally right??
For me, as long as you told me beforehand you got $50 and later i found out i don't have change for you. I will stop the meter upon your destination and get the change for you.
But if you didn't tell me you have a big note beforehand, sorry.. i will do what the taxi driver had done ![]()
I rely on my intuition and 6th sense. If my instinct tells me the passenger is genuine, I will just wait. Otherwise depending on the situation and my mood, I might just fuck them up, send them to the police station, or if it is just a few dollars, consider it charity if I am in a good mood.
Maxing out my $$/hr is my primary motivation most of the time. I usually dont get into a foul mood unless it helps to increase my $$/hr.
have you encountered any passengers, upon reaching the destination, open the door and then bolted?
Rooney , thank god , so far so good .
maybe they see my tai ko face they scared ? Hhahahahahaha
Some Forumites who saw me say my face damn kwai lan face ..... hahahahaha that's why so far so good .
Quoted from the SINGAPORE Statutes :
Chapter 259B of the PUBLIC TRANSPORT COUNCIL ACT
Section 24D - don't think you can just run away from the TAXI without
paying. Better Think again.
EXTRACT :
Failure to pay taxi fare
24D. Any person who, having made use of a taxi service and without reasonable excuse, fails or refuses to pay the fare as indicated on the taximeter shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a fine not exceeding $1,000 and, in the case of a second or subsequent offence, to a fine not exceeding $2,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months or to both.![]()
I have to thank CantonBoy from taxiuncle.com , courtesy from him , for this article .
we are protected species in this instance .
Originally posted by ALN:actually $50 not really big lah…. $100 onwards then a bit too much….
but still it is courtesy to inform cabby beforehand….
i fact , i remember , if i am not wrong , a Indian national wanna pay me $4.80 taxi fare with a SGD$1000 note .....
SGD$1000 , is it purple in colour ?
KNNBCCB Ah Neh ......
i hope i dun confused with SGD $100 notes .
HI fatboy,
Actually you can say settle the bill with the taxi driver on the fare. Dun forget our income is based on time and doing this a service it takes time wastage . If you are not so generous with taxi driver , next time my advise to you bring smaller change like coins. Coz we taxi drivers need coins coz no use of you to deposit coins in the bank as they charge you see.
Also remember if you are not happy with the meter running, next time tell the taxi driver," Uncle pls keep the change .". It really brightens our day .
We the taxi driver will say " HUAT AHH" and many good fortune will come to your way.
Well for me, I won't give my IC man.....maybe something like my driving license.....Even leaving my personal belongings is too mucn for me.
Only happened to me once, I left my bag in the backseat and sincerely told the driver I go up and take money. I offered to leave my mobile no. but the driver was so trusting! LOL.
Then another time, when I student, bo lui one hor.....only realised got 2 bucks in my wallet after boarding taxi. I showed the cabby my wallet, the fare was 4 bucks...and he readily said ok ok, without the slightest displeasure. Wah, that's very kind! haha
Originally posted by benqepson:HI fatboy,
Actually you can say settle the bill with the taxi driver on the fare. Dun forget our income is based on time and doing this a service it takes time wastage . If you are not so generous with taxi driver , next time my advise to you bring smaller change like coins. Coz we taxi drivers need coins coz no use of you to deposit coins in the bank as they charge you see.
Also remember if you are not happy with the meter running, next time tell the taxi driver," Uncle pls keep the change .". It really brightens our day .
We the taxi driver will say " HUAT AHH" and many good fortune will come to your way.
well, I did not dispute the fare, nor did I make any remarks such as, "why did you not have change?". Rem, I paid in full.I am just questioning.
Yes I do know your income is based on time, and rem, as I shared, I did state earlier when I entered the taxi, "I have a $50 note". And if the driver does not have change, I won't take the taxi. I am doing my part as a consumer which I think should be appreciate and encouraged, right?
Do note, consumer's time is precious too, else, most would have taken other modes of transport, so it should be a win-win for both drivers/consumers, and not just a "our income is based on time". That just doesn't sit nicely with me.
I don't feel it is morally right to tell the driver to keep the change in this case, when evidently, I did my part. I did not try to make things difficult. and I felt the drivers may let the meter run, but maybe just take some fare off when he returns the change. And gladly, I would have given a tip for the consideration/effort.
Yes, giving a tip/keep the change may make both ends happy, provided, the consumers had had a pleasant ride.
Originally posted by riskman:For me, as long as you told me beforehand you got $50 and later i found out i don't have change for you. I will stop the meter upon your destination and get the change for you.
But if you didn't tell me you have a big note beforehand, sorry.. i will do what the taxi driver had done
thanks, I think that's good consideration. Do note, I did not try to make things nasty or make stupid remarks which I do believe most drivers do encounter when consumers whipped out a $50 at the last moment, and chide "why no change"..
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Well for me, I won't give my IC man.....maybe something like my driving license.....Even leaving my personal belongings is too mucn for me.
Only happened to me once, I left my bag in the backseat and sincerely told the driver I go up and take money. I offered to leave my mobile no. but the driver was so trusting! LOL.
Then another time, when I student, bo lui one hor.....only realised got 2 bucks in my wallet after boarding taxi. I showed the cabby my wallet, the fare was 4 bucks...and he readily said ok ok, without the slightest displeasure. Wah, that's very kind! haha
U are one example of genuine will come down type .
I agree driving license also can , but sekali no driving license ? How ?
NRIC is the best .....
Originally posted by iceFatboy:thanks, I think that's good consideration. Do note, I did not try to make things nasty or make stupid remarks which I do believe most drivers do encounter when consumers whipped out a $50 at the last moment, and chide "why no change"..
Ah Pui ...... imagine i will have 12 paxes average each night , if everyone $50 , wait for change for a $10 trip , i need how much $10 standby ?
$500 bro .....
Originally posted by Poolman:
Ah Pui ...... imagine i will have 12 paxes average each night , if everyone $50 , wait for change for a $10 trip , i need how much $10 standby ?$500 bro .....
so what's the standard? how much U have b4 you start? if U bring 4 $10, and the first guy flash a $50, then pretty much, U are screwed right?
and if customer nice to tell you they got $50, U said U got change, later u don't have. U still charge for going to get the change. If that's the case, no need to discuss lor.
if 12 pax, U get 50cents for each, then u get $6 per night for money-changing, while ur taxi idle.. swee leh..
or best, like some suggest, you ask the guy to let you keep the change lor. huat leh.
being a cab driver, you need to have lots of small change and coins. I dunno how the cabby do it, but having small change and coins are a must. but I understand thats not always possible, as the cabby can run out of small change and coins on a given day.
make it a habit to change money all the time at coffeeshops, during lunch and tea breaks?
Originally posted by iceFatboy:so what's the standard? how much U have b4 you start? if U bring 4 $10, and the first guy flash a $50, then pretty much, U are screwed right?
and if customer nice to tell you they got $50, U said U got change, later u don't have. U still charge for going to get the change. If that's the case, no need to discuss lor.
if 12 pax, U get 50cents for each, then u get $6 per night for money-changing, while ur taxi idle.. swee leh..
or best, like some suggest, you ask the guy to let you keep the change lor. huat leh.
Usually, i bring 2 sets of 4 $10. The rest all in coins
coins and $2 never was a problem since i starting driving ....
It's that $50 bill .
I usually get about 8 pieces ..... first one change still can , 3rd one still can , cos in between 2nd one might pay me 1 piece $10 .... if 4th one $50 , siao liao ....
Hey too many $10 , and $50 hazard , sekali kena robbed , it's like fuck .
Keep so much with us for fuck ? Looking for trouble sia ....
Originally posted by Ah-Bickle:I feel that regardless of what, the onus is on the taxi drivers to find the change for the fare without the pax being shortchanged. But often, the very notion of customer service just fly over the head .Honestly, it irks me that some taxi drivers think that their time is money and therefore take it as their divine right that everyone should make concessions for them. Its that sort of me-only attitude, profits as the be all and end all as they drive like maniacs without due care for other motorists that make them perfect fodders for ST Stomp, and quite possibly add to the unfair perception that most are just unruly and uncivilized. Then again, it’s easy for me to criticize.
For the most part, there is little emphasis or incentives for drivers to be customer-oriented (beyond greeting you) except when coming from their own heart or they are in the business of taking regular bookings. Whether u’ve had a good or bad experience, the chance of taking the same cab is remote. As a job, driving a taxi is pretty much self-governing. Without any supervison and fear of reprisal, sometimes it’s easy to lapse into moments where you would take the option which gives you the most benefits, even at the expense of others. No excuses, however i do empathize with drivers who constantly have to deal with difficult paxs.It’s not easy to be all happy and smiling. Alongside that, I’ll take the assumption that the stress of paying rental, maximizing their earnings during peak hours and often being the sole breadwinner to be the reason for them tipping over.
So where customer satisfaction is concerned, i set a very low threshold for myself when taking a cab.
And it’s probably only right that you should hand over your IC/traceable identity or something of value to put the cabby at ease when you need to return back to pay the fare since in the first place one should have enough cash. Unless you inside got ghost.
Ah-Bickle, i think the perception of the uncivilised taxi driver is passé. one outcome of the economic crisis is that the number of highly educated sgp'reans taking up taxi driving has increased significantly. throw a stone and you're likely to hit 2 or 3 drivers who have been retrenched from their PMET jobs. even among the older generation, many cabbies with 10 or more years of experience do provide very good service. granted, there will always be black sheep, young or old. but they should be in the minority.
a common failing of us asians is that while we frequently criticise sub-standard work or service, we do not praise or show our appreciation when we get good work done or receive good service. so the reports of errant cabbies in stomp,ST, or any other media far out number that of cabbies providing good service. or any other service staff for that matter. Singaporeans and FTs EXPECT good service without realising it takes 2 hands to clap. a real life example...a few months back..it was raining cats and dogs when i saw a lady frantically flagging my taxi from a sheltered walkway. there was no shelter that i could pick her up from and a grass patch ran parallel to the walkway. my only umbrella was in the back of my cab, so i stopped my taxi, got out and retrieved the brolly from the back seat and then sheltered the lady to my cab. PTW! rite? by then i was drenched. back in the cab...not a word of thanks, instead..Taxi Driver, send me to xxx. CB rite? i'm not desperate to earn that few dollars, but because it was raining heavily, and she look to be in desperate need of a taxi, i obliged. talk about graciousness. not abnn hor, poolie, sgp chinese.
it is ok to expect good service, but be nice in the first place and i dare say excellent service will be forthcoming. Will we even ask ourselves..do i deserve good service?