So was this 37-year-old charge for illegal prostitution ?
Illegal prostitution also can be charge , right ?
It's whether Enforcement want to do it or not ?
My friend's friend , also heard about someone inform Police about some illegal activity going on with someone , also he was a victim ..... but that victim was not charge by Enforcement . The Culprit was caught . Got bang $200,000 , and 4 weeks jailed .
say where is the story of the person who got a free ride ? ? Is it abt law story ?
Ah Soon , i had a kopi with Panda , and i sent him home in my Wish la ....
I had a meeting with him , need some consultation about some local legal stuffs .
Originally posted by Poolman:So was this 37-year-old charge for illegal prostitution ?
Illegal prostitution also can be charge , right ?
It's whether Enforcement want to do it or not ?
My friend's friend , also heard about someone inform Police about some illegal activity going on with someone , also he was a victim ..... but that victim was not charge by Enforcement . The Culprit was caught . Got bang $200,000 , and 4 weeks jailed .
Mr Pool, in all cases the Prosecution has the ultimate discretion to charge or not to charge. the court does not have the power to order the Prosecution to charge a person.
as in that case, the transaction did not go thru, where is the evidence of illegal prostitution? there is only evidence of cheating.
in your fren's case, there is evidence of cheating, for the illegal betting the evidence has to come from the person who run away rite? or your friend admit to it. even then the Prosecution can choose to close one eye. who can force them to prosecute?
i got my degree from University of London (Law)
Originally posted by Pandanchen:Mr Pool, in all cases the Prosecution has the ultimate discretion to charge or not to charge. the court does not have the power to order the Prosecution to charge a person.
as in that case, the transaction did not go thru, where is the evidence of illegal prostitution? there is only evidence of cheating.
in your fren's case, there is evidence of cheating, for the illegal betting the evidence has to come from the person who run away rite? or your friend admit to it. even then the Prosecution can choose to close one eye. who can force them to prosecute?
U are recommending my friend to go on press charges , and hope that the Prosecutions close one eye ?
Hmm ..... that seemed a strong case for my friend .
As for that 37-yr old fella , he has the intent , is that a crime ? Intent ?
Like Intending to cheat ?
Intent .
Like i intend to rape , but i did not , still it's a crime to intend to rape , right ?
i wont say i recommend anything. it is up to your friend how strongly he feels that guy need to be punished.
intention to cheat can be infer from the bounce cheque isn't it? that guy got to explain why the cheque bounce? why no money inside the account he still issued the cheque?
According to bank .... it's a STOP PAYMENT cheque , if my friend reported , and sekali inside got money when it was issued and stopped , then it could be not a cheating case , then my friend kena reverse , kena backfire for buying illegal 4D ...
But according to my friend , he received the cheque on a Sunday night ( after he strike ) , monday was told not to withdraw , he won't get it .
He strongly believe inside got no money at all .
Panda , how if inside proven no money ???? Pure cheating ?
Which Police Department are into this case ?
CID or CAD , or GSB ???
honestly speaking, it's your friend's fault
for example, my friend and i go and rob the bank, before that we agree each person share half of the money. after robbing the bank he dont share with me, do you think i dare to report police? no, right?
that's why that farker dare to cheat your friend. $25k, go calculate. who wont run away with that kind of money?
you dont worry which police department will investigate. your friend want to report or dont want to report we leave it to him. afterall he will need to assist the police in the investigation and not us. Go to court to be witness - also not us but him, so tell him that. the decision is his.
hi pandanchen, need yr expertise...
today during break, my friends were talking about the cabby who molested the 15yr old australian girl. naturally, the topic shifted to caning...and eventually became an argument. the point of debate :
1. that the strokes must be inflicted on the same occasion, not in instalments
2. that if during caning, the medical officer decides that the prisoner is unfit to be continued to be caned :
(a) the matter is reported to the court, which can choose to remit the caning or increase the jail term in lieu of the strokes not carried out.
OR
(b) the rest of the strokes would be administered in another session.
found both (a) & (b) on the internet. which is correct? or neither?
the criminal procedure code got mention?
$50 bet on it. appreciate your help! thanks!
*knock knock , can i come in ? *
Rotan ? Kelvin , u need buy LCD TV in Changi prison ?
Instalments ? I heard direct sequence , no instalments .
I heard after a 3 strokes , Medical officer will examine those wounds , see if they can tahan another rounds of 3 strokes . if yes ... they will go on .
Usually the Prison Medical Officers damn bastards one , they inside know cannot tahan , but they still yes !
U know , if those Duty Canner miscue a stroke , that is consider a stroke , that's the canning practise , usually they dun miscue .
Point A , i think it is possible if the prisoner are sufffering chronic heart disease or things like that .
Originally posted by KCTK:hi pandanchen, need yr expertise...
today during break, my friends were talking about the cabby who molested the 15yr old australian girl. naturally, the topic shifted to caning...and eventually became an argument. the point of debate :
1. that the strokes must be inflicted on the same occasion, not in instalments
2. that if during caning, the medical officer decides that the prisoner is unfit to be continued to be caned :
(a) the matter is reported to the court, which can choose to remit the caning or increase the jail term in lieu of the strokes not carried out.
OR
found both (a) & (b) on the internet. which is correct? or neither?
the criminal procedure code got mention?
$50 bet on it. appreciate your help! thanks!
you wrote:
1. that the strokes must be inflicted on the same occasion, not in installments
ans: Correct!
ans: the court only passed the sentence of how many strokes to cane the accused, after that the discretion is with the prison authority. if the doctor recommends that the accused cannot take it anymore (halfway thru the canning) , all the remaining strokes are canceled. the prison don't have to seek the court authority for this. no increase in jail term
however, if before the caning starts and the doctor found that the accused cannot be caned at all for medical reasons. the prison need to inform the court to amend the sentence to jail only without any strokes. jail term can be increased by the court.
you can confirm this with the prison authority but i doubt they will tell you. this is a matter of practice.
you wrote:
answer: no such thing. all strokes must be carry out on the same day. cannot postphone some to another day
hi pandachen, thanks a lot! i won the bet. : )
managed to download a pdf file of the criminal procedure code 2009. covered in section 286.dun know need permission or not, but anyway i reproduce it below.
Procedure if punishment cannot be inflicted under section 285
286.—(1) Where a sentence of caning is wholly or partially prevented
from being carried out under section 285, the offender must be kept in
custody until the court that passed the sentence can revise it.
(2) That court may —
(a) remit the sentence; or
(b) sentence the offender instead of caning, or instead of as much of
the sentence of caning as was not carried out, to imprisonment
for 12 months or less, which may be in addition to any other
punishment to which he has been sentenced for the same offence.
once again, thanks to pandachen.
Good evening KCTK
everybody is deemed to know the law (ignorance of the law is not a defense in a court of law), so how can you be faulted for downloading the CPC?
it is good to know that citizen like yourself make an effort to know the law, congrats !
Panda Tan , u certainly made a break through here .
By conveying an important message , LAW can be found from the internet .
Hi Pool,
knowledge is power, but sometimes ignorance is bliss :)
hope we can learn from each other as much as possible
i notice you dont understand about evidence to be used in court. the law of evidence is divided into Criminal and Civil. i specialized in criminal and criminal procedures. next time we meet at yew tee, can discuss with you again.
cheers
Helpful Links
Singapore Statues: here
Local cases where caning was imposed: here
Ya la , i'll be surprised if i know those stuff .
Bought these from Amazon dot com, received last night at 6pm by mail: