i sometimes notice many cabbies.. like to keep high-revving their vehicles till high rpm then change gear.. all those automatic ones.. also floor accelerator till high rpm then make the gear change.. then black smoke all come out
some cabbies also like to brake very hard..
what i trying to ask is, so what happens if the taxi breakdown? the hirer just send it back to company and take another vehicle out? if accident? also just tow it back and get another vehicle next day drive liao?
little wonder taxis only has a 7-8 year lifespan with most being scrapped after 5 years..
no offence to any cabbies.. i just curious to find out ![]()
r the taxis engines very powerful? heard the crown is 3.0L diesel.. equivilant to those large toyota commercial vans
please lah, taxi runs average 500km a day, 15,000km a month. this is what most private cars do in a year. and u wonder why taxi lifespan shorter? distance covered is like in a ratio of 1:12 leh.
105090, just wondering, u have a driving licence? auto cars shift gears automatically as the name implies, not easy to make it change gears at high rpm (3-4k maybe max). unless the the driver change the gear shfit to semi-manual mode (steptronic), but actually serves no purpose other than providing more power when overtaking. normal driving no auto car driver use this mode. so dragging gears..i think u must be talking about the manual shifts.
brake very hard..normally shouldn't, but many drivers forget diesel engine torque very high, acceleration super. so if car infront brakes, need to brake a bit harder.
there is nothing to be gained in making the taxi breakdown cos we stop earning money immediately. rental deduction for workshop down time only. no taxi driver wants his taxi to breakdown cos it will mean that day no money to buy food on the table.
yea i drive auto n manual cars.. nowadays auto cars got these paddle shift thing.. u can choose to change gear slightly earlier or later.. as what u say.. the semi-auto thing..
about making it change at high rpm at normal D mode.. sometimes at gear 2 or 3.. u floor accelerator the vehivle can go till 5-6k rpm.. then i let go accelerator a bit to make it change gear
just wondering lo.. cos sometimes see some taxis.. really look like 15 year old
Hmm... auto still need change gear then what for drive auto?
Speaking of this i board a STDA Taxis provided by my co at Changi Airport.Driver seem very moody to the taxi co-ordinator regrding the route that my friends stay.I Eunos,Then one uncle ubi and 1 officer in Kembangan.He drive so recklessly nearly swipe a coach body with the coach driver gave him an airhorn blast.Upon reaching Ubi the Uncle told him there's a new way to PIE and he reply in rude manners"No need to teach me lah friend,Go go",I and the officer was damm shocked when he drove off w/o the Uncle even have the time to close the door.Then he jamm brake and ask the officer behind to close the door.He ask my permission to send the Kembangan first and i was okay.He shortcut to one route which lead to terrace hse before jam brake again at Jln Kembangan to drop the officer.He did again by moving off w/o the officer closing the door but this time the officer did shout at him"Hey you try to kill me is it?Then he snap the taxi with his phonecam.The driver show no remorse instead blabbering saying things like "He think i'm afraid ah"?I WAS LIKE WTF?You treat your pax as what?Your blardy fool is it?Then he try to shortcut in a one way street which nearly collided with a Comfort Sonata Taxi with the other driver showing confuse gesture.The he sped in a narrow lane going over humps with high speed then again meet a dead end road.I was so pissed off with his stink attitude and asking him"Hey friend you know the road out or not"?For damm 6 minutes your drive round and round here?Then i show him the way and by the time reach my place i was gonna to see whether he is going to do the same thing but not.Then i told him nicely"Uncle you can always reject whatever route you dun prefer by turning one round to collect another pax,But by doing this you've made more sceptical and impression that cabbie is really worse be it in attitude and driving manners"This time around he was quite cool in replying "Aiya sian leh,Why route give me all rojak one?I explain that this is not our decision but from my Duty manager planning.You can always complain to your STDA but by doing all this stupid thing you put your pax life at risk.Then i show him my Vocational license with bus driver(PA/CB/PZ) and Taxi driver classification and he look at me laughing.No wonder you keep cool ah boy,You drive Taxi before?By the time i'm typing this the cabbie was suspended from driving Taxis due to his recklessness and attitude problem by LTA.Actually many pax complained him before.He drive a City cab Sonata and i dun think its appropriate to post his number plate here.I understand his frustation but again if you're moody pls avoid taking pax and stop risking pax life with unruly driving manners.That's all.But again there's always nice and patience cabby i met and befriend.Most of them driving yellow top followed by Smart one.
Cheers
Originally posted by 105090:i sometimes notice many cabbies.. like to keep high-revving their vehicles till high rpm then change gear.. all those automatic ones.. also floor accelerator till high rpm then make the gear change.. then black smoke all come out
some cabbies also like to brake very hard..
what i trying to ask is, so what happens if the taxi breakdown? the hirer just send it back to company and take another vehicle out? if accident? also just tow it back and get another vehicle next day drive liao?
little wonder taxis only has a 7-8 year lifespan with most being scrapped after 5 years..
no offence to any cabbies.. i just curious to find out
r the taxis engines very powerful? heard the crown is 3.0L diesel.. equivilant to those large toyota commercial vans
honestly , i persoanlly on board a cab doing those things u said , i also wondering wy 4th drag so long ? Buay makan diesel meh ? And he can tahn those sound meh ?
For me , my 1 , 2 , 3 gear all chop chop changed one , 4th to 5th also chop chop , i hate dragging gear .
Usually young drivers don't drag , usually those 55 onwards drivers did that .
i drove a Toyota Red Wish , i wanna drag the machine also dun let me , fully auto , and customers will also dunno the machine is up gear or down gear , cos it's so quiet , and the force they felt it .
Anyway , any form of taxis in SGP , 21st Century liao ..... 5 year they are ready to off the road .
Actually , hirers dun care one la , just whack .
Spoilt liao ? Workshop .
Why not ?
It's not their taxi , it's company's .
Down time rental rebate somemore , it's crazy not to sent .
If never sent for repair , on the road broke down , TOW lagi troublesome , why should they not sent to wkshop ?