If wanna be hirer OMO. then fire engine has the best deal like wad KC have said. good luck
Poolman < am one that dun rely on bookings , all street hire .
Eg it's like Tio Call this my old classmate , driving a Comfort .
He can get consecuitve 8 calls , but i zero calls , our income neck to neck , sometimes i overtook his wages>
KC pls la u always overtake me in takings la haha. i cant compare with a workhorse like you. frankly im damn tired of this trade liao. sick sick sick but well no alternatives for now.
I sleep on the job literally , PING one sound then i wake up and go. no sound i carry on sleeping but of coz must sleep in a call zone area la lol. Its hard to be able to work like you , simply cant do it hehehe.
Wow Poolman,
That is very informative! Thanks for taking the time to write it all out, I really appreciate that. Ok, now I know if I want to join, I should join TransCab for maximum benefit.
By the way, do TransCab offers "Course fee & application fee refund" like Comfort? I tried looking at TransCab's website, but there's only information for passengers. I think it's not been updated for a while now, as it states "All our vehicles are Toyota Crown (LXS 12)". I remember you've mentioned something in the old post about Comfort giving $500 referrer and $300 incentive or something like that. Is Transcab giving something similar? Is there anything else that I should be aware of as a total "geen bird" besides the above?
Tio Call Liao,
Thanks for the additional information. I've not really decided if I want to be a Hirer or Relief, but thanks for sharing your views about this. I'll keep in mind that for Hirer it's better to go for TransCab and for Relief, Comfort.
$716 is not permanent hor...and not all from transcab...although transcab contribute a big portion..there are cng rebates...road tax rebates...xtra road tax rebate from gov....at least it is transparent to show that it is return back to drivers....
WTF the other companies put it in their own pocket....and say they give you diesel discount......., the other "Fuel" value card....free no rental days...all the cannot see $ type...another type-$5K bonus from your own money...LOL..
Due to the Wish's popular demand , TransCab decided to withdraw all referal and new hirers benefits .
Logic la .
Why should they throw away unneccessary profit ?
But they do subsidised those courses .
Rememer this , what others can provide , TransCab can provide , what others can match , they can match or even better .
That's TransCab biz mentallity .
U need to call up TransCab for more info .
Yes .... if OMO , TransCab the best . $716 .
if relief , wider options .
I would say , to be a relief , a night one , any cab will do .
Comfort will be one of my choice .
Night relief is all about CBD !!! Ulu places like what Tio Call Liao said , not in my vocabularies !!
As long as i am in a live-wire places ..... it's never a problem for me .
Except Wlands , Sembawang ,Punggol , Sengkang , Hougang .
When i am at West or East side , never never a problem for me .
4.30pm to 12am Mon-Thurs , my average collection always maintain at $180 , just dunno why ?
I think all in your head .
Hey guys,
Thanks for all the input. I wanted to check back earlier, but no internet access at home. Too bad, can't check back as frequently as I like.
From what I can see, TransCab wins hands-down. However, I've a concern regarding CNG refill since I'm living in Pasir Ris. As the newbie I am, I don't know if the $7392 difference in benefit is worth pursuing for the added inconvenience. I may end up spending more getting to the north or west to get CNG, if it's not on the way. Can anyone please comment on this? Thanks in advanced.
I've thought of proceeding with the Comfort's Super Express Course first and decide on which company to join after obtaining the VL. Unfortunately, by taking up the course, it includes a 1-year contract in joining the company as a hirer. That means, I'll have to decide on which company to join from the start before proceeding, or I won't get the course fee refunded. In other words, to enjoy the fully subsidised course fee, I will have to be a hirer and no option to be a relief.
Originally posted by Pat7471:Hey guys,
Thanks for all the input. I wanted to check back earlier, but no internet access at home. Too bad, can't check back as frequently as I like.
From what I can see, TransCab wins hands-down. However, I've a concern regarding CNG refill since I'm living in Pasir Ris. As the newbie I am, I don't know if the $7392 difference in benefit is worth pursuing for the added inconvenience. I may end up spending more getting to the north or west to get CNG, if it's not on the way. Can anyone please comment on this? Thanks in advanced.
I've thought of proceeding with the Comfort's Super Express Course first and decide on which company to join after obtaining the VL. Unfortunately, by taking up the course, it includes a 1-year contract in joining the company as a hirer. That means, I'll have to decide on which company to join from the start before proceeding, or I won't get the course fee refunded. In other words, to enjoy the fully subsidised course fee, I will have to be a hirer and no option to be a relief.
Most important on the decision , are u going to be a OMO or just another hirer , and plans to have a relief ?
If u plan to have a relief , go for comfort , cos Loyang can top-up diesel liao .
Walan , now take course also must sign contract ?
Then i dun wan join them lo .
Sign course contract ? Take Sonata contract ? Handphone contract ?
Up to you .
For me , many pay course by our own pocket money .
No contract , no other obligation , just pass and find our taxi companies .
Pay the course with your own money first , pass liao , then decide which company .
Then if joining Comfort , since signing up Sonata got 1 year contract , then take the subsidised course fee back .
Right ???
I still think newbie like you , Prime Hybrid is the last choice !!!!
Not the money issues ...
Not the vehcile issues ....
Not whether u can issues ...
It's the 5-yr-contract !!!!
No pls if u dunno if you suitable for taxi driving .
Pat , i advised you , better la dun sign up that course 1 year contract .
Pay yourself first ...
Become relief first .....
Then when are a better player , then decide what u want to do .
For new bird of Comfort , with 1 year contract , and sekali cannot make it , u can't pull back . No " insurance" .
Unlike Trans , used Wish 6 months contract , month end $716 payout , safety net !!!
Better la , drive as relief , for any company .
Then when u are better like us ..... u throw me any key , sup sup water to me .
I'm thinking of driving day only. So, looking at being a hirer and look for a relief. Unless I can get to be a day Relief which is very unlikely right?
I've tried calling TransCab for past few days wanting to ask about their Express Course, if there's any. Unfortunately, I always can't get through. It keeps redirecting to a non existent extension then ask me to try again. :(
Ya, I also thought of taking the course with my own money then later claim from the company I join. But that will be the normal course, not express, will take longer.
Prime, 5-yr-contract? Thanks, but not for me. Seriously, I dunno if taxi driving is my cup of tea. I "walk-head-no-road", jobless for six months le, partly I think is my age also - almost 40. I'm tired of siting at home and draining my savings, so have to do something to bring in some income. I think you are right, it doesn't make sense for me to sign any contract since I'm not sure. I better take the course with my own money, drive as relief first. If this life suits me, I'll then consider making it my career.
Poolman, thanks for the valuable advise. Without your advice, I think I'll still be troubled about the many restrictions tied to the various contracts. Hopefully I'll be able to drive day as a relief when I obtain my VL. So now, my next step is to approach the Taxi Academy.
Pat , take your time to take the course , next fastest way is to go online , quite fast .
When u passed , then slowly looked for a hirer near your house , drive day .
With the current taxi population , it's not that difficult to find a day shift .
Especially next year , many OMOs will need to find a partnership .
I think with another 1000 TransCab Wish on the road next year ... easier .
When TransCab has got 100 new drivers , other companies will need to cover the hole .
That is where u come in .
Let me tell you this , many cabby , who took taxi as a stepping stone , will leave for Marina Sands Resort to work .
And Sentosa to work inside the Resort .
Again , that is when u come into the taxi biz .
People go , people come ,Economy rolls on !!!
Originally posted by Pat7471:I'm thinking of driving day only. So, looking at being a hirer and look for a relief. Unless I can get to be a day Relief which is very unlikely right?
Now , without a license , hirer throw u a day shift u also cannot drive .
So best is get the license 1st ... bo license talk no use .
Then start looking ....
Hopefully can get ...
If cannot get , be a hirer lor .....
I'll try everything , until the last resort , bo pian , then lan lan ....
U try Comfort , if cannot , find Trans , if dun have , find silver , if dun have , find SMRT , if dun have find Smart ...... so many options .
有志者 , 事竟� 。
before i started during year 2000 , i also worry here worry there .
That time where got Sgforums got kaki advise you ?
All is about gamble .
I asked myself : " What is your advantage ? What is your disdvantage ?"
I got myself a piece of blank paper , draw a vertical between the paper , and start writing downs those good and bad of choosing a new job .
hey .... more good than bad .
That was just fundamental , the tough one is when u are on the road .
Indeed for a start , quite tough .
Dunno which lobangs ?
But one thing works for me : Hardworking !!
Just go Orchard , anywhere in Singapore , if empty , just charge into Orchard !!
From there , learn the tricks .
Then apply another day .
Everyday is learning , nothing but learning .
And beside learning , is to be more vigilent , observant .... and analyse more .
Find out where got more tourists , more locals , what's the speed of different taxi stand at different time slot ...... where is midnight best Q ?
People kept saying airport airport , why airport ?
Why not Night Safari or ZOO ?
All need to know why .
Then ur job will be much easier .
Why did Merc Cabbies can earn a living ? MAke good living ?
Especially when u see them walkie talking like casual talk ?
No ! This is people who are serious about their job .
Walkie Talkie is opportunities .
Taxi needs the right opportunities .
How ?
Know more cabbies , learn from those cabbies .
Like people here , they surf , they read , and they discover .
Discover about the ideas of how to drive a cab and earn a decent living .
Those who failed as a cabby , it's those people who are isolated , all about themself .
When u wanna to be like that , u must be ready to fail .
I seldom see drivers like that succeed .
All those succeed as a cabby are those people who has links .
Multi links .
From links , u improve .
Why cabby so many kopi or teh tarik sessions ?
Go and think why ?
Hi Pat7471, like wat poolman have said muz be hardworking n analyse.
Lucky for me i got help frm my comfort buddy who used to be my colleuge
in the navy n learnin frm poolman n the rest of the guys. Been driving for 2
months onli myself (perm nite shift) but have formed out a formula for fri/sat
where i can get over 300 n above on these 2 days. Now working out a formula
for tis coming xmas eve n new yr eve so that can finally break over the
400 barrier :P
Knn Friday $300 is a disgrace , to get $330 easily , $350 satisfactory . $375 good connection , $400 work over time , hahahahah
Pat , why bother what other cabbies does ?
This oldies children all grown up liao ..... they drive for past time , earn a bit drink coffee , talk cock sing songs .
We cannot afford that kind of luxuries .
We must be serious in whatever we do .
It's a responsibiltiy to ourself and our families .
They talk cock , we smile , and we go on with our routine ,
nowadays people really very hardworking & smart. already start to do research even b4 take tvl,u will sure succeed Pat with all these preparation & advise from Pool.
I felt taxi driving is very much like playing chess.every move counts,1 wrong move will change the entire game.there must be a stategy & reason for every move u make.
some cabby treat it like a game of chess
some cabby treat it like a game of uno,fast game but lead to no where,throw cards for the sake of throwing-lose already also donno why
Hi Guys, need some help from you all. Juz got my TVL yesterday & this morning went down to Transcab to apply for a used Wish, also went to Comfort to apply for a used Sonata. Was being told that both place waiting time approx 2 - 3 weeks.
I 4got 2 ask, Transcab need 2 attend MDT like Comfort? They say waiting time 2 - 3 weeks, zhun boh 1? Or wait till GOD knows when?