I don't know where should i post this at, but is a important note to all Cabbies Driver: If you guys co-incidence drive pass a Driving Centre, please kindly give way to them. Especially for those having TP test, don't be a asshole, sabo them. I encoutered today, 1 taxi driver never give way, tmd then get scolded by instructor.
Originally posted by Han Rocker:Hello Bros.
It's me again. I've taken my test today. I fail by 3 marks for my last paper. Now have to wait till 8 Feb to retake the test. So....... long....... I thought today pass, end of this month can drive.
hi bro, i thought the retest will be avail very fast? how come need to wait so long?
esp female drivers.... last nite me saw a merc sports knock down one motorbike... upon impact, the young rider one side not moving, his bike the other side ... the male merc passenger quickly rushed out to check the rider ... then the merc female driver slowly came out... knn... killed someone maybe still dunno.... damn jia lat
Hi All,
Sorry for not checking back earlier. Don't know why I stopped receiving emails notifying me of updates for the thread. So I thought no one added anything and stopped checking, since I don't have ready internet access.
Anyway, I just received the letter from LTA this evening. I'll go SATA tomorrow morning for the medical checkup, and intend to go straight down to Singapore TAXI Academy to register for the Express Class after that. If everything goes well, I hope to be on the road some time in March or April.
By the way, I received 2 flyers with the letter. One from Singapore TAXI Academy and the other from Comfort. It seems STA course fee is cheaper than Comfort, don't know why.
I'm not sure if STA Express is the same as Comfort Express. If so, 15 sessions will only be 2.5 weeks. Well, I guess have to call up tomorrow and ask before deciding which one to go for. I initially thought of going for Comfort on-line, but no textbook means if i sway sway fail, got nothing to refer to. Any advices?
Originally posted by Teolk:nowadays people really very hardworking & smart. already start to do research even b4 take tvl,u will sure succeed Pat with all these preparation & advise from Pool.
I felt taxi driving is very much like playing chess.every move counts,1 wrong move will change the entire game.there must be a stategy & reason for every move u make.
some cabby treat it like a game of chess
some cabby treat it like a game of uno,fast game but lead to no where,throw cards for the sake of throwing-lose already also donno why
Teolk,
Thanks for the encouragement. I still have a lot to learn from you guys.
Originally posted by linwei20:I don't know where should i post this at, but is a important note to all Cabbies Driver: If you guys co-incidence drive pass a Driving Centre, please kindly give way to them. Especially for those having TP test, don't be a asshole, sabo them. I encoutered today, 1 taxi driver never give way, tmd then get scolded by instructor.
taxi on main road, you coming out from driving centre and expect taxi to stop and give way to you? no wonder instructor scold you!
better revise your highway code then take practical.
call other as*hole somemore.
Originally posted by Pat7471:Hi All,
Sorry for not checking back earlier. Don't know why I stopped receiving emails notifying me of updates for the thread. So I thought no one added anything and stopped checking, since I don't have ready internet access.
Anyway, I just received the letter from LTA this evening. I'll go SATA tomorrow morning for the medical checkup, and intend to go straight down to Singapore TAXI Academy to register for the Express Class after that. If everything goes well, I hope to be on the road some time in March or April.
By the way, I received 2 flyers with the letter. One from Singapore TAXI Academy and the other from Comfort. It seems STA course fee is cheaper than Comfort, don't know why.
- STA Express (3-4 weeks) $250 + $8 (textbook) = $258
- STA Normal (5-6 weeks) $250 + $8 (textbook) = $258
- Comfort Express (15 sessions) $260 (incl. textbook)
- Comfort Part-time (30 sessions) $275.50 (incl. textbook)
- Comfort On-line $267.50 (No textbook)
I'm not sure if STA Express is the same as Comfort Express. If so, 15 sessions will only be 2.5 weeks. Well, I guess have to call up tomorrow and ask before deciding which one to go for. I initially thought of going for Comfort on-line, but no textbook means if i sway sway fail, got nothing to refer to. Any advices?
Teolk,
Pat , Comfort nothing is cheap .
Except the diesel , which i still think they are losing million each year .
Nevermind .
STA is the better option , cos their instructor is all solid and experience . The Elite of taxi instructors .
U see .... what i am saying , unless i am doing a solo here , singing my own songs , then i am boosting those figures .
But some here actually agree that such figures can be achievable , if u get things right .
U can go and compile what i'd said , teo said , Rotary said , and Komade said , u'll find some similiarities .
Taxi always about joining the wrong group of kakis ....
Wrong kakis , meaning negative type , lazy type , u'll soon follow their style .
If u join those kakis , that shows hardworking day in day out , u'll soon find yourself like them evetually .
If u joined kaki that tell you $230 everyday , u'll find urself doing $230 everyday .
If u joined those $150 kaki , u'll find yourself into that $150 group .
If joined mahjong kakis , die liao .....
if joined Peak hour kopi tiam kakis , also siao liao ....
If joined massage parlour kakis , also siao liao ....
Originally posted by wee's:
hi bro, i thought the retest will be avail very fast? how come need to wait so long?
I also thought I can take on the spot. But the admin told me the fastest date is on the 8 Feb.
Originally posted by Pat7471:Hi All,
- STA Express (3-4 weeks) $250 + $8 (textbook) = $258
- STA Normal (5-6 weeks) $250 + $8 (textbook) = $258
- Comfort Express (15 sessions) $260 (incl. textbook)
- Comfort Part-time (30 sessions) $275.50 (incl. textbook)
- Comfort On-line $267.50 (No textbook)
Teolk,
Hi. Fyi, I apply for on-line course. If you want text book need to pay Comfort $8. I borrow the textbook from my friend.
haha yah like poolman said muz join right group of ppl.
hehe now is me more like pushin my comfort buddy who
has been driving for almost 2yrs liao. Always call him wake
him up for work etc :P But more fun when got khaki like say
he where n where got pax can share info then both can earn more.
but when need to unwind can join us be prawning khaki at Bishan on Sundays :P
Komade , Hougang cabby always like to ask kang tao , then later keep kang tao for himself when got kang tao !!! knn Hahahaha so dun give !! Hhaha
Hougang cabby damn Houlian , got call , they will tell me : " Bo pian CDG taxi bla bla bla ....."
Then i strike my gong tao back : " Woodlands la this call . " Hahahah
Agree with mxing with the right kakis.
By seeing all the postings here, it's already motivate me to sign up as taxi driver. I am very confident I can drive up to 12 hours daily. This one I'm very sure.
My only concern is that I dont have pax for me. For a night shift, I can cheong and cheong before midnight. Is it fairly easy to have good connections from 4pm to midnight everywhere ?
But after midnight, even I guai guai Q up at some of the hotspot, I guess with the waiting time, I can only make a few trips before I return the car to the hirer. Dont think can make alot from the few trips.
Basically, the only worries are getting pax fast enough to earn my daily target with the 11-12 hour shift.
Kernel21 u be suprised by how much u can make after midnite
on a gd nite, i hav tried earning max $63 per hr after midnite with
sometimes hittin $50 quite often juz for 1hr of short burst :P
Norm after midnite can hit $150 n above on a fri/sat frm 12am-5am
last pax then 6am return car.
Originally posted by Insg:taxi on main road, you coming out from driving centre and expect taxi to stop and give way to you? no wonder instructor scold you!
better revise your highway code then take practical.
call other as*hole somemore.
Hey you don't understand what i mean, then don't anyhow reply please.
Lane change all those la. You think so stupid is it? Of course main road cannot give way la.
Originally posted by linwei20:Hey you don't understand what i mean, then don't anyhow reply please.
Lane change all those la. You think so stupid is it? Of course main road cannot give way la.
Not that I think you're stupid. Read your original post properly.
"I don't know where should i post this at, but is a important note to all Cabbies Driver: If you guys co-incidence drive PASS A DRIVING CENTRE, please kindly GIVE WAY to them. "
Did you mention anything about lane change? NO! You just assume people can understand what's on your mind
I went SATA for the medical check up yesterday, but the report can only be collected after 2 working days. So, I'll have to go back on Monday to collect the report before I can go register for the course.
Called STA this afternoon to enquire about the Express course. I was told that the next available date starts on 22nd February. Wow, that will be more than 1 month from now. I also asked them about the difference between their course and the one offered by Comfort. The guy on the other end says he doesn't know anything about the course offered by Comfort. So, I called Comfort and ask them. It turns out the course "offered" by Comfort, is exactly the same one conducted by STA. In short, Comfort does not conduct any Express course at all. I guess the $2 difference is the "handling" fee then.
Originally posted by Poolman:Pat , Comfort nothing is cheap .
Except the diesel , which i still think they are losing million each year .
Nevermind .
STA is the better option , cos their instructor is all solid and experience . The Elite of taxi instructors .
Hey Poolman,
Thanks for the advice. Initially I thought of going for the Express course. Now that I have to wait more than 1 month, I'm starting to consider if I should go for the on-line course instead.
Originally posted by Han Rocker:Hi. Fyi, I apply for on-line course. If you want text book need to pay Comfort $8. I borrow the textbook from my friend.
Hey Han Rocker,
I don't know how much material needs to be covered. If I go for online course, you think it's possible to finish everything within 2 weeks? If so, I may book for excursion at end of January and go for the test early February. Kindly advice, thanks in advanced.
Originally posted by linwei20:I don't know where should i post this at, but is a important note to all Cabbies Driver: If you guys co-incidence drive pass a Driving Centre, please kindly give way to them. Especially for those having TP test, don't be a asshole, sabo them. I encoutered today, 1 taxi driver never give way, tmd then get scolded by instructor.
U need CISCO outriders to clear the road for U or not?
being able to take the TP test doesnt mean U are ready to pass...driving on the road also involves looking at the road conditions...not asking people to stay out of your way.![]()
somemore its just instructor...not even TP tester.
Originally posted by Pat7471:I went SATA for the medical check up yesterday, but the report can only be collected after 2 working days. So, I'll have to go back on Monday to collect the report before I can go register for the course.
Called STA this afternoon to enquire about the Express course. I was told that the next available date starts on 22nd February. Wow, that will be more than 1 month from now. I also asked them about the difference between their course and the one offered by Comfort. The guy on the other end says he doesn't know anything about the course offered by Comfort. So, I called Comfort and ask them. It turns out the course "offered" by Comfort, is exactly the same one conducted by STA. In short, Comfort does not conduct any Express course at all. I guess the $2 difference is the "handling" fee then.
Hey Poolman,
Thanks for the advice. Initially I thought of going for the Express course. Now that I have to wait more than 1 month, I'm starting to consider if I should go for the on-line course instead.
Hey Han Rocker,I don't know how much material needs to be covered. If I go for online course, you think it's possible to finish everything within 2 weeks? If so, I may book for excursion at end of January and go for the test early February. Kindly advice, thanks in advanced.
Hey Pat,
I've check for the next excursion will be on the 7feb and 28feb.
Fyi. After I recieved my medical report, I straight went to apply for on-line course. Then I have to wait two weeks to go for the orientation class. Many people go for on-line that's why wait for 2 weeks.
You are given 1 mth to study and complete the test given by comfort before you can book the excursion. I took only 1 week to finish and book the excersion. I had to wait 3 weeks for the excersion. Also long Q for the excersion.
After the excursion, I wait for 1 week to take the real test at STA. 5 subject to take. I fail 1 subject by 3 marks. Now must wait 1 mth for retest the subject I fail.
Originally posted by Han Rocker:Hey Pat,
I've check for the next excursion will be on the 7feb and 28feb.
Fyi. After I recieved my medical report, I straight went to apply for on-line course. Then I have to wait two weeks to go for the orientation class. Many people go for on-line that's why wait for 2 weeks.
You are given 1 mth to study and complete the test given by comfort before you can book the excursion. I took only 1 week to finish and book the excersion. I had to wait 3 weeks for the excersion. Also long Q for the excersion.
After the excursion, I wait for 1 week to take the real test at STA. 5 subject to take. I fail 1 subject by 3 marks. Now must wait 1 mth for retest the subject I fail.
Thanks for your prompt reply.
Hmm, say wait 2 weeks for orientation, then still have around 3 weeks left to study if aiming for the 28 Feb excursion.
Ok, will check on Monday after collecting my medical report, to see if orientation date is around 2 weeks from now, and if 28 Feb excursion is still available. If have, I'll go for online. If not, then I'll go for STA express course.
Thanks again for the valuable info. Without them, I don't think I can make such a swift decision. ![]()
take online course much faster i finished mine in 3hrs :P
juz answer the quiz using the book answers lar then quickly book
the excursion. When u got time within 1 mth then come back slowly
go thru the quiz without the book. Dun waste time slowly do the quiz
cause the excursion can take quite long. I booked my excursion on
the day i did my orientation n i waited 2 mths for the excursion.
Go for course leceh still need to go down....
The last thing u must always remember for driving a cab ..... hardworking , drive smart !
Drive smart , act blur .
No excuse if u are lazy .
Don't complain too much if u start late .....
Don't complain too much if u chose to anyhow pick and got another Wlands type of trip .....
Don't complain too much if u are no good .
If u are good , means u are good . Good drives are those bendable type , damn flexible and quick thinkings .
If u are lousy , means u are lousy . Usually those lousy drivers are those stubborn drivers .
Show yourself justice , show yourself you're good .
If u chose to drive day shift , pls must accept the life of Q-ing everywhere , and massive compettions . This is the challenge ahead for day shifts .
And of course , day shift u have another challenge , to really drive with care , those TPs are eyeing u all the time . Those cameras are active .
Night shifts , nay , those TPs they really don't know who to eye , cos every cabbies is speeding .
And during night time , their camera cannot work in low lights situations . No Camera allowed at night ...hahahah