Remember , taxi drivers , many of them i would say ..... are selfish one , where , when , which , what , who need taxis , they will not tell you . Or no time to tell you .
They just want you to fail in taxi , and they got one competition less if u quit .
Most would think that way .
At least during my times , me 31-years-old to drive a cab , many Uncle tell me to go back to work .
U cannot be affected by such people .
It's OTOT , own time own target !!!
Some drivers u give them lobangs they also dun wan .
Just an update. Went to the orientation on Tuesday night. This morning booked for excursion but the next avail is only on 7Feb.
Kenna by the durian seller this time :) The lady on the phone said they have excursion every week?? But found out they only have every 2 weeks and this week full already ???
Anyway, I have bigger headache in front of me. I still not sure what colour to drive after getting the licence (if I get one. lol)
1. If I become hirer OMO.
I know many of you are with Transcab because of the $700+ rebate. My question is what happen if three months down the road I find it very siong to drive taxi, or worse still, if I got a (borrowing Alvin's words) "millionaire job" and want to return key? Do we have to return the 3months x rebate?
Sorry to ask the question here. Tried to call 62876666 many times but always no answer.
2. If become night shift relief.
How to find hirer looking for night shift relief? Tried to go to the Comfort Yishun Kiosk, not much luck. Tried cabby.com.sg also not much help. Any suggestion?
Again, thank you for your help guys!!
Ya , many newbies will have those doubts . Cannot blame you .
I also cannot say everyone can succeed as a OMO .
That is why ALN and me , i guessed we 2 are the oldest cabbies around , would advise newbies to try out as relief for 3 months , probation .
From this 3 mths , cos we are self employ , we have to assess our "standard" , as on where u stand , compare to when u started ?
How to assess ? Of course by those money u earn ? Getting more or getting less ?
When u get more , how much compare to regular drivers ?
When u get the amount like those regualr drivers , are u very tired ?
This is those factors u need to look into .
Everyday must fine tune .... until the "alightment" is right . Got the picture ?
So for a start , very dusty ..... your vision very blur ....
And as days goes by , when the dust settled , ur vision will be clearer , then u asked yourself : " Am i ready for OMO ? "
Everyone has a weakness and strength .
So u start asking urself questions .....
On what are my weakness or weaknesses ? How to curb ?
And on what are your strength ? How to capitalised more with my strength ?
These are those factors that finalise your decision .
Taxi easy ?
Yup easy , if u have ample experiences .
Along the way for the 3 months or even 6 months , u also learn from cabbies those what , where , when , which , who need a cab .
No need to write , just set yourself a formula to remember .
If 3 newbies .... came out together to become taxi drivers , at the same time .
Cabby A - OMO
Cabby B - Relief Day
Cabby C - Relief Night
Guess who will get the highest pay ? By rank ?
C , B then A .
Why C ? Night has got more surcharges . All saturated inside CBD . Easy to work that way .
Why B ? He only pay half a rental , only problem was the amount of competitor from the same trade , taxis population abit too much during the day .
Why A ? Responsibilty / Full Rental / Fuel consumption / Fatigue / Long hours .
see the diff ?
Originally posted by Poolman:If 3 newbies .... came out together to become taxi drivers , at the same time .
Cabby A - OMO
Cabby B - Relief Day
Cabby C - Relief Night
Guess who will get the highest pay ? By rank ?
C , B then A .
Why C ? Night has got more surcharges . All saturated inside CBD . Easy to work that way .
Why B ? He only pay half a rental , only problem was the amount of competitor from the same trade , taxis population abit too much during the day .
Why A ? Responsibilty / Full Rental / Fuel consumption / Fatigue / Long hours .
see the diff ?
Thanks Pool.
I'll really bear this in mind.
If you don't mind me asking another nOObs question, do you find a hirer first and join the company or join the company first and then find a hirer?
do you find a hirer first and join the company or join the company first and then find a hirer?
Oh me ? During my year ...different , totally different .
In the taxi industry , only got Comfort , CityCab and SMRT .
The reason i joined Comfort , it's becos at that time , they are the only taxi comapny that allow me to pay the security deposit by instalments .
The rest , like CityCab and SMRT all need one time $1000 security deposit payment .
So i went to Comfort , ask for the listings , and start calling those hirers , and once that hirer agree with all , i signed for Comfort .
Now ?
To become a relief , u have to find a hirer first , then register as their relief .
Without a hirer , u cannot get into the company as relief , they won't accept you .
Unless u register under "Super Relief " .
Whatever companies ...... u find liao , then register .
I feel that it all depends on individual committment. Driving taxi is very much different from working for somebody. If u wanna make more money, u put in more time and hardwork, u can make more. If llazy then bo bian liao . . ha ha (talk is easy)
Of course we have to learn the tricks from the lao guis and yao guis here, most importantly to work smart.
Originally posted by Freemanisa:I feel that it all depends on individual committment. Driving taxi is very much different from working for somebody. If u wanna make more money, u put in more time and hardwork, u can make more. If llazy then bo bian liao . . ha ha (talk is easy)
Of course we have to learn the tricks from the lao guis and yao guis here, most importantly to work smart.
Correct ma bro ....
Today , like me , 12am , $186 , me faster keep liao lo ....... idle one , take home $111 .
What else i want ? Start 4.30pm , 12am close shop , take home $111 .
If i need more $$$$ , just chiong to town lor , from Jurong East , but dun wan la , CNG so near liao .....
But my Comfort kaki , tio call liao , still on the road . Cos he need more ma .
Bo pian , Tio Call Liao 8pm to 12am , sibey weak one , hahahahaha .
If he see these , sure sms : " Bro , don't post my details online leh . " hahahah
not bad. $3k a month, not bad
My salary transparent one .
Monday - Thursday if i stop at collection $180 , my nett is roughly $110 .
4 days $440 salary
Friday me anytime take home $250 .
So 5 working days already $690 .
Multiply by 4 weeks , $2760 .
Hmm .... i never includes Saturday , cos my Saturday very inconsistent , suka suka driver , suka off . Hahaha
But mostly Saturday i got salary la .
What i can say , i can take home about $3200 each month .
Me Singapore Idle one la knn .
i really think taxi drivers their salary Government fixed one . They fixed those fare accordingly , against fuel consumption and average minimum wages .
They have a formula one la .
They know the figures la .
For government to know how much roughly a driver made in a month , chicken feed .
Comfort just provide them not individual report , but of an average driver earning report .
Some may earn $5000 , some may earn $2000 , and come into an average .
That average is what most are earning i think , $3000 .
Managed to persuade SMRT to include me in last Sunday excursion :) Passed all the papers on Friday. Now waiting for them to issue me the licence. A big THANK YOU for Ken Teo, Poolz, and ALN for the advices.
Checked with the taxis companies. Comfort and Transcab no immediate taxi available (actually they have lah if want to drive Crown). Silvercab has the Kia Magentis available anytime you want, but....... Chang Charn is mileeeees away from AMK here. The plus points for Silvercab is that they ask for very low deposit $$$ for new TDVL holder and 2 Sundays free every month. Hmmm, tempted.
Have not contacted hirer for night shift relief yet. Paiseh lah, haven't got the licence in my wallet yet. Actually at this rate not sure when I am able to start driving a taxi yet.
Any advise whether I should:
a. start looking for night shift relief
b. take the Silvercab Kia
c. take the crown first while waiting for night shift vacancies or the auto cabs.
Thank you.
Ken
I encourage newbies to have a run-in first .....
I mean be a relief while waiting for the new car .
while being a relief , ur options is wider .
U will know how the taxi business is all about ?
From there , u up your gear .
I am so sure , those relief into OMO , due to these transistions , they will be a better driver .
In terms of earnings .