SINGAPORE — The number of tourists visiting Singapore rose in November at its fastest rate this year, the government said Monday.
The city-state welcomed 830,000 foreign visitors during the month, up 8.4 percent on the same period last year, the country's tourism board said in a statement.
Tourist numbers slumped in the first eight months of 2009 as people cut back on business and leisure travel due to the worldwide economic downturn, but started growing again in September.
Visitors from Indonesia, China, Malaysia, Australia and India accounted for over half of the arrivals in November, the board said.
Singapore is aiming for up to 9.5 million visitors this year, generating an expected 12.0-12.5 billion Singapore dollars (8.6-9.0 billion US) in revenue.
It received 10.1 million visitors last year, missing its target of 10.8 million as travel slowed in the second half due to the global slump.
http://www.google.com/hostednews/afp/article/ALeqM5ix3aYcp3_OkMT1S3rr4VkmXa2npA
the higher the rate climb , the shorter the waiting time to the already short waiting time .
The last time I queued at Changi International Airpork was back in 2008!
I also don't like to Q at airport. Once inside the Q, cannot get out and stuck for ard 30-45mins. Perhaps for night shift, more worth while to Q.
Should have two queue, 1 for shorter journal and the other for longer journal.
Imagine someone ask you to go temah merah, I am sure your face will turn black.
My shortest journey from T2 is to airport police station:(
THE year started badly but a strong second half pushed Changi to end 2009 with a total passenger haul of 37.2 million.
This was just 1.3 per cent less than a year earlier.
At the height of the global economic crisis, there were fears that Changi's total traffic for 2009 could dip by more than 8 per cent.
In December alone, 3.83 million passengers walked through Changi's gates - the highest ever for any single month.
Despite the economic downturn, the airport also handled more flights last year; a total of 240,360 or 3.6 per cent higher than in 2008.
Changi Airport's chief executive officer Lee Seow Hiang said: 'We are beginning 2010 on a strong footing, and expect the improving global economy and exiting tourism developments in Singapore this year to have a positive impact on Changi's performance.'
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_479723.html
What those stories about planes parked at Texas Deserts all i don't care ..... i earn more from Airport than any other time last December .
We still need to support United Airlines , Lufthansa , Korean Air , JAL , BA , MAS , so many , why worry about SIA parked at Desert ?
Right ?
I say before , forecast in taxi driving is important .
But pls don't use it on horse racing .
Had 2 trips in the last 2 weeks. And both times I took taxis back to Simei. First was a Merc Cab and the 2nd one last night was a Silver Cab. Both times, both uncles were excellent. As expected, they were out of the cab, helping me with my luggage. But once in the cab, I tend to try to see their reaction when I mentioned "Simei". Some uncles immediately quieten down, their tone change. But these 2 uncles maintained their very courteous tones and even asked me which way I prefer and did some small talks along the way to make me feel comfortable. The fares came up to 11 plus each time, I gave them 15 each time. I know its a difficult job. But its a service job, nobody is gonna feed you if attitudes dun change. There are some who insist they dun need this job, they can retire actually, fine. But for those who wants a living out of this job, learn from this 2 taxi uncles. I dun think, they are always happy all the time, maybe inside their heart, they are cursing, nabei, simei, but they dun show it and still showed their professionalism and I think that will bring them a long way.
Got good customers , got bad customers .
Got good drivers , got bad drives .
Got good taxi companies , got bad taxi companies .
And Singapore are not a Heaven of Angels .
I guessed there's more devils out there than angels .
Very well said, Mr You'll nvr walk alone.
Originally posted by Poolman:Got good customers , got bad customers .
Got good drivers , got bad drives .
Got good taxi companies , got bad taxi companies .
And Singapore are not a Heaven of Angels .
I guessed there's more devils out there than angels .
at times i dont agree with some things u said but this one i agree fully. lol
Originally posted by gasband:Had 2 trips in the last 2 weeks. And both times I took taxis back to Simei. First was a Merc Cab and the 2nd one last night was a Silver Cab. Both times, both uncles were excellent. As expected, they were out of the cab, helping me with my luggage. But once in the cab, I tend to try to see their reaction when I mentioned "Simei". Some uncles immediately quieten down, their tone change. But these 2 uncles maintained their very courteous tones and even asked me which way I prefer and did some small talks along the way to make me feel comfortable. The fares came up to 11 plus each time, I gave them 15 each time. I know its a difficult job. But its a service job, nobody is gonna feed you if attitudes dun change. There are some who insist they dun need this job, they can retire actually, fine. But for those who wants a living out of this job, learn from this 2 taxi uncles. I dun think, they are always happy all the time, maybe inside their heart, they are cursing, nabei, simei, but they dun show it and still showed their professionalism and I think that will bring them a long way.
this is how i judge , if its a pick and go situation , i think most wont complain. those who kpkb most likely waited for very long . when i was queuing regularly at the ap last time , i had so many AP- simei , tampines trips that i totally gave up going there , it came to a point where the moment i get into my cab to drive , i expect a simei , tampines , flora road , anything further is a bonus hahaha
though i think its wrong for drivers to vent their frustration ( not your fault u stay simei right? tio bo? ) but maybe juz try to understand a bit. give N take la.afterall its a short journey :)
frankly , not many are generous like you to give $15 if the driver gives good service.most will pay the exact fare ( 5 cts also take back ).
ONLY once did i encounter one lady pax , she boarded my cab and immediately apologised , i was like huh? wtf? sorry 4 wad? she said ' uncle dont be angry , im going to bedok , u take this 15 dollars , confirm more than meter fare , sorry.
u think this kinda pax a lot? bro maybe 1 in 5000 la.
yah lor u wan to Q juz accept where ur pax wanna go.
i kenna alot of tampines liao but got once pax come onboard
i help them load luggage then tell me pasir ris drive 14 i also
happy happy tok cock with them along the way. When they
reach juz gibe me $15 tell me keep the change. So juz keep happy
unless its those pax kpkb 1 like tat day i bring 1 vietnam ger frm
outside H81 rochor to Geylang lor 42. Knn bfore board the uncle
olredi told me send her there liao then i juz go then she tok to me
veri loudly, GEYLANG LOR 42!!! not once but twice i say i knoe.
Cause frm there i cant turn left into queen street liao mah then have to
go up to sim lim sqaure then i can either turn back right go back by
Upper Serangoon rd or go back by victoria street mah i wanted to tell
her get out of the cab take another 1 by i juz "lun" lucky she found me
on a gd mood that day else whack her upside down liao.
all it takes is one of this kind of LJ pax to break your day. what to do. lun is the word for this LJ trade la bro. hahaha
yah lor gotta "Lun" bro, 1 ccb pax ruin ur day u get angry
ur mind cannot tink well then ur day's earnings will go down
tats wat i notice. if u remain postive u can tink well. ur earnings
will remain or go up more.
Dun let one ccb pax affects ur day/night driving. I used to get very demoralised. But I learn to forget quickly and carry on else in the end you suffer when u do not earn enough.
There is a chinese saying:" He qi sheng cai". Meaning harmony begets wealth.
So did the airport authorities take my advice : 2 lane (one for shorter distance and one for longer distance).?