Dear Poolman
I like to seek your advice as I intend to be a taxi driver now. My age is 32.
I'm actually holding a good job with pay near to $5k but I am very sick of all the office politics and other stuff.
My mind is set to resign from the job. Any advice how I can get a taxi driving license fast and which taxi company is better ?
Also, any strategy or advice for me when I'm on the road from Monday to Sunday ? I am a night owl so night shift is fine with me.
This is a big decision I made. I know it may be difficult to make the same amount of money as taxi driver but I hope it can be near.
I hope you can help me.
Taxi drivers , what is your advice for this anonymous ?
More advice more merrier .
I felt my propaganda is one sided .
wanna earn near $5k?
be a night relief with Comfort,chose hirer as ah pek as possible so can collect taxi at 4pm
4pm to 4am target $280 (can be done but need to have exp)
Collection: $280
Sonata rental: $53
Diesel: $40 (more than enough)
Wash car: $3
Nett salary: $184
26 driving: $4784
Alvin agree?
To anonymous ,
I may sound rude but wad the F do u even wanna drive a cab if your pay is 5k ? seriously , i dont understand why peeps think cab profession is really being their own boss and can earn a lot & the freedom involved. Please do not believe wat the papers advertise or see poolman's earnings record in here ( Poolman is half human half robot cabby , cannot compare).
(1) As for someone earning 5k , you are probably one who gives orders to your juniors, Can you , for a start , get ordered around where to go by pax? turn left , turn right , go here , go there , lan lan u have to obey. can you stomach that? Being ordered where to go contravenes the FIRST perk of being cabby ' BE YOUR OWN BOSS' (whoever invent this statement can ask them kiss my ass )
(2) Driving cab retards your mind and after a while , before u know it , thats the only thing you can do and u get stuck in this crap for a long long time. 2001 i started , till now , all the kakis i knew then are still !!!... well holding the steering. Some ventured out to work and came back again. The only thing we can brag is that we drive from small corona to big crown to turbo sonata. big fucking deal??
(3) To earn close to what you are getting now , hmmm then you have to make your taxi a permanent home . you eat sleep shit in it then maybe can get close. Other than that , be very happy to live with a pay range of 2k to 2.5k and very very solid 3k .
(4) Day in and day out , its the same shit. i regret coming into this line in 2001 , i thought it was fun but now at 2010 , i come to get sick of this trade . Well no other options , so stick with it la.
(5) As and when you decide to quit and go back to work ? what are u going to put in your resume? taxi driver from - to -? The reason why i cant find a proper job is i have nothing on my resume to start off with, drive 10 years taxi? hahaha
(6) Freedom this word comes with a price , the moment u park your cab , you earn ZERO , KOSONG , ZILCH but with a job , there are times where u can idle a bit but you still get PAID.So many perks go along with a job , i wonder why wanna be taxi driver huh?
Unless you have a huge amt of savings or near to zero liability , then by all means , go ahead and drive , it can be fun without the stress but if you are a family man , please reconsider . This year you earn 2 k per mth , 10 years later ( if there are no fare adjustments ) you will still be earning 2k per mth or maybe lesser coz you lose the energy and strength.
Please , for all newbies that think cab driving is fun la , freedom la , blah blah , please look thru this post and THINK again.
I am someone who is very sick of this trade , and wanna juz get out if there are better options BUT hahaha better options? not now , maybe next time or never at all
Hold on to your job as it pay well.
Driving a taxi not easy, salary up and down.
Cant you accept this? Also, no work, no money.
Hi Bro Anonymous,
If you cannot tahan office politics and craps? Can you tahan give paxs F you upside down?
I'm also holding an office job, driving as part time over the weekend (thurs, fri, sat & sun) I told my wife this, unless i tio retrench and unable to find job. Driving full time taxi will be my last resort. It is not an easy life being cabby.
Hope what you pm Bro Poolman is a new year joke !! :)
I did tell him to switch job , to something like $4000 or a bit less $3K , change environment .
And work part time like ALN .
Work only on good days , like Monday , hahahahahah
Then OJT as part time ...suitable then go FT , if not suitable , at least got a FT job tahan .
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:To anonymous ,
I may sound rude but wad the F do u even wanna drive a cab if your pay is 5k ?
Ya lor , $5K ? I will stick the job like a leech .
Why people kept playing politic with him ? Cos either he's good , and they are jealous and wanted his job and salary or he an idiot , people think he dun worth that $$$ .
But at the end of the day , who paid him ? Who set his appraisals ? The Boss .
The Boss will have final say on him , not those office politicians .
Half robot half human ?
Is that a compliment or sarcasm ?
Hey Tio Call Liao , Cheong is the Robotman , not me !!! I really salute Mr Cheong .
I haven't seen anyone that wanted collection $300 and above on a daily basis .
U need a Super Mentallity to do that .
Cheong is one of them , Komade is another , my old buddy Sam is another .
Not forgetting Ken Teo ..... another example of Marathoner .
U and me are just a joke in this line .
the best is drive taxi & find other biz opportunity at the same time...
people like me & pool will never go back work for people again,rite pool?
of course if salary more than $4k can consider
anything less than that me drive taxi better
me once met a cabby while queueing at ap & he's running 4 chicken rice stalls,2 bubble tea & 1 hair salon
he use his taxi run around all his stalls & drive only 3hrs/day with pax
just enough to cover rental & his whole day fuel...smart lad
don't have to commit another car
Bro Annoymous, u must be kidding! I am also a new bird in this taxi trade, only driving for about 4 months only, OMO. But I joined cos I have not much of a choice. Kena retrenched, I used to earn 5k as a technical manager with a plastic moulding co; got 40% pay cut early last yr n eventually, 'copper' handshake! (copper cos lousy retrenchment payout).
I am already into my early 50s, so it is not easy to get another job, less said about close to 5k pay, lol. As a taxi driver, I need to clock in about 12 hours daily, 6 days a week, to make close to my last drawn pay (after 40% pay cut one). Luckily, wife is also working, so still manageable. But I have no other choice, at my age cab driving is one solution. With my girl in uni, boy entering NS soon, I have to but take everything in my stride and go all out to make a living. Driving a taxi cannot equate to being your own boss. Do not forget there are no staff benefits, CPF, medical leave etc. I went for hol with family during Dec and for that period, zero income for me.
So unless you are really really very piss off with your current job and unable to get another job, taxi driving is not a wise choice; esp if you are still in your prime.
Wishing you all the best for the new year, make wise decisions, not hasty ones bro!
haha KC bro , really mah , u da man when it comes to consistency hehehe.
Anyway Taxi suckssssssssssssss la , whoever say taxi is good is either a new bird or juz wanna console himself LOL.
<<me once met a cabby while queueing at ap & he's running 4 chicken rice stalls,2 bubble tea & 1 hair salon
he use his taxi run around all his stalls & drive only 3hrs/day with pax
just enough to cover rental & his whole day fuel...smart lad
don't have to commit another car>>
Run so many stalls still take a cab to run , guess his bizness isnt that fantastic. otherwise with so many stalls , can easily get a toyota vios ? used one? 35k? one mth how much nia? 600 ? hire a taxi and run? one mth 3k? i think he is smoking u la lol. dont believe too much wat pple tell u
he nits to wk up his blardee idea.
Originally posted by ALN:who is cheong?... more yao gui here liao… haha
Obviously a very solid lao gui !!
Ultra Robotic Human .
Tio Call Liao told me so , i believe Tio Call Liao , he don't joke about performance .
tats true .. i wonder how he does it. NY eve he clocked $510 with plenty breaks in between ( still can go countdown ) lol. Very consistent player , $300 every day. but from my guess , maybe 5% of cabbies can drive like him. not me for sure.
Originally posted by ALN:wanna earn near $5k?
be a night relief with Comfort,chose hirer as ah pek as possible so can collect taxi at 4pm
4pm to 4am target $280 (can be done but need to have exp)
Collection: $280
Sonata rental: $53
Diesel: $40 (more than enough)
Wash car: $3
Nett salary: $184
26 driving: $4784
Alvin agree?
eh teo, $280 per say 10 hours nett of driving every nite? even got stamina also hard leh… except for Fri and Sat….
some more no bonus no cpf hor….
ALN , don't underestimate this Ken !
When he say it , i know he can really do it , how i don't know , i just know he can find ways to do it .
Like i saw him 7.30am online ....
Then my hirer told me he saw Teo at CNG Kisok !!!! At 8.10am .
I think he no need sleep .
knn by 5am my battery level blinking liao ... hahahaha
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:tats true .. i wonder how he does it. NY eve he clocked $510 with plenty breaks in between ( still can go countdown ) lol. Very consistent player , $300 every day. but from my guess , maybe 5% of cabbies can drive like him. not me for sure.
knnbccb $510 ?????
Champion !!!!
ya bro $510 lol but i din sms him to ask him NY day earnings. if still $300 , i have to bow to him liao hahaha
KC bro , juz imagine every day like that.. 300 ... how taxing is it on the body , the mind , the dick? hahaha
really respect