Originally posted by Pntc70:Bro,
Need a favour. Pls inform me when you received your letter from LTA cos I am staying in JB and the letter will be send to my parents place at Hougang.
I can't call back everyweek to check. My mom don't like it.
Thanks in advance
bro, you took last fri, by tomorrow you should call them. fastest they call you is mon, latest is wed.
i took on a fri, called them the following wed, then wait for them to call back to confirm, next day, thur, went down took pic. if you go down on thur to take pic, the following next fri you can collect your license. thats what my schedule with smrt happen to be.
Originally posted by Pntc70:
aaah, now I remember. You were the one holding the SMRT text book doing a last minute revision. Right?Need some info. What is the rental rates for SMRT?
Nope, it wasn't me.
But that guy was ON lah, working hard on his last minute revision for his re-test :)
BTW, not planning to drive SMRT taxis, but if you want to know the details for SMRT can check here. http://www.smrt.com.sg/taxis/join_smrttaxis.asp
Originally posted by wee's:
bro, you took last fri, by tomorrow you should call them. fastest they call you is mon, latest is wed.
i took on a fri, called them the following wed, then wait for them to call back to confirm, next day, thur, went down took pic. if you go down on thur to take pic, the following next fri you can collect your license. thats what my schedule with smrt happen to be.
Bro Pntc70.
Mr Wee's is right. Don't wait for them, call them.
Last time the SMRT guy told us result should be out to them by around Wednesday. Maybe call them tomorrow lah.
I took my online course with citycab. The people at STA told me LTA will send me letter in 2 to 3 weeks time. Maybe I will call back home during CNY.
Thanks anyway.
So, which company are u joining. I want to join the RED FIRE ENGINE team.
Poolman Shifu,
I am starting to reconsider my strategy. I am thinking of starting as relief if the waiting list for the Wish is long. No point wasting time waiting at home. Everyone here has help me grow and after much considerations. You are all right about being a relief, as a OMO I will have to drive extra an extra 2 to 3 hours to cover the rental. LPPL.
Night shift is the only choice for me but no time for family. Day shift needs to wake up veeeery early but no bus to custom. That's why I wanted OMO, not because I need more money. But that extra 2 to 3 hours is going to burn me down.
Could you tell me more about the shift timings?
I believed that shift timings varies with different owners. Roughly what time the night shift starts and ends.
For u I know, 4.30pm, right?
Bro ..... for a relief , u need to wake up about 2pm if in JB , prepare move out about 3.30pm . Are u discipline to do that ? U are special , u must be discipline , cannot afford any hiccups .
Hit Singapore about say 4.30pm , reached hirer car park about 5pm , start work . Are u prepare to suffer those unseen hardship , u must cos family depends on you .
Depends on your own timing .
Normally , hirer would request you to wash , top-up and handover at 5am or 6am ( 5pm to 5am or 6pm to 6am ) .
Then 6am u go back to 皇å�Žèбå›, another hardship
If i were you bro ....
I would first ... join Comfort ( while waiting for TransCab Wish ) . Comfort has got a bigger pool of Sonata hirers .
Pay tat $1000 by 4 ($250 per week ) instalment , instalment is a kind of saving to me as long as not accident .
Then find a Sonata from Woodland side ( i am sure will have ) , and start learning the business .
U ask for 5pm , if can nego for 4pm - 4.30pm , lagi bagus !
But u must tell your hirer if can , 6am handover cos first bus 170 back to JB .
And hope he can drive u to checkpoint , save $$$ .
U must start rolling back to base around 4.30am , wash and top-up . Handover 5.30am , wait for him until 6am .
If Marsiling Sonata , lagi good , can walk to checkpoint , and vice-versa checkpoint to collect taxi .
U are a grown up man , mine is just a guide , u can fixed yourself a time table .
It's a hardship everyone here know , but since u chose to live your life that way , go and plot your own future . U have our backings bro .
With my guide on night shift , and many here , i am so sure , if u are not stubborn , u'll get to take home $3000 sing dollar . I assure you that . With that sort of duration on the road or more . Positive .
It's a hardship for you , u must be strong enuf to deal with it .
The travelling will punctured you . Your mental strength must be double of ours , stronger .
I am a motivator . U'll see more if u know me .
ALN saw alot .
Right Hougang cabby ?
U may also try putting your names in cabby.com.sg , that side , plenty of hirer looking for relief . (Most effective to me as far as i am concern .)
U may go comfort's DOES and put your name .
U may even put your name in TransCab listings .
U may even want to put your name in Premier .
Open up your options once u are relief .
The nearer to checkpoint the better .
The better collection time the better .
Many ways la .
I started off as night relief .... 3 years .
When i am very good about driving a taxi , i turned into OMO .
Too tiring , return to as hirer night shifts .
Then rest for a year , back as relief night shift .
Night Shift , if got it right , take home $120 sup sup water .
For you bro , believe me ...... 10 hours on the road , anytime take home sup sup water $150 ( $230 collection ) .
U cannot be like me go home at 1am , u lan lan have to stay until 5am .
So what to do then ? Work lor knn .... got work means money knn , simple .
Originally posted by Poolman:
Poolman thanks bro,
You are super. Luckily I stumble onto this forum by accident.
Without you and everyone here, I will be banging my head against the wall.
I can't off on Sunday. Wife off on weekdays Wed and Thur every week. I have talk to my wife and we agreed on alternate Wed or Thur. That is one mth 2 days off.
Wed and Thur, which is better? I think Wed night is better cos ladies night. Right???
I will need your advice on how to attack the night shift.
Thanks again
Originally posted by Pntc70:Poolman Shifu,
I am starting to reconsider my strategy. I am thinking of starting as relief if the waiting list for the Wish is long. No point wasting time waiting at home. Everyone here has help me grow and after much considerations. You are all right about being a relief, as a OMO I will have to drive extra an extra 2 to 3 hours to cover the rental. LPPL.
Night shift is the only choice for me but no time for family. Day shift needs to wake up veeeery early but no bus to custom. That's why I wanted OMO, not because I need more money. But that extra 2 to 3 hours is going to burn me down.
Could you tell me more about the shift timings?
I believed that shift timings varies with different owners. Roughly what time the night shift starts and ends.
For u I know, 4.30pm, right?
pntc70 - lucky you change your mind to be a relief. Otherwise if you are OMO you will start to worry about car servicing, checkup, inpection.
Another nightmare you will have is your CAR Park in a car park where no one watch out for you when u are back in JB.
Your travelling back and fro to JB is really time wasted and tiring.
Originally posted by ALN:JB to woodlands is something like hougang to woodlands? hmmm… if ask me to take bus daily to and from woodlands, i can last only few months… hahaha
me can only drive long hours… other things cannot e.g. wash taxi, pump diesel, go servicing, take bus etc…. or worst wash vomit… phui phui phui… hahaha
Yep ALN,
It's like Hougang to Woodlands but without the traffic lights. Ha Ha
Actually the travelling time is not so stress. Half an hour from my place to custom, it just that JB and SG custom have to walk a bit. A little bit of exercise is good for me. Driving and taking public transport is roughly the same time.
Originally posted by Pntc70:I will need your advice on how to attack the night shift.
Thanks again
Just have enough rest , eat well , drink lots of water ( aircon might caused dryness inside ) , pee when needed , and shit as u like , and charge into CBD , collect $3 surcharge , and see how after this trip .
Discipline from 5pm to 12 am , no idling allowed . This 7 hours is all about striving $30 per hour , if possible . We called it chiong !!!
The more u sit inside coffee shop , u less ur income will be .
Learn day by day those routines .
If u can record a higher collection than me from 5pm to 12am , u are on the way to triumph in taxi driving .
i have david chong asking me about taxi driving , i said the same thing those same stuff , where is he now ? A happy sonata hirer . And earning so much better than working class .
I have Curtis asking me , now he temp retired a bit ......
I have ALN asking me about taxi driving a few years back , looked at him now ? One of the most solid marathoner currently .
I have this Komade , prawning his hobby , after making good bucks on driving .
One thing for sure , when u have one leg into taxi driving , it's hard to take it out .
Yeah i have been in this line for coming 10 years this March .
And some like Rotary , Ken , Patrick , Zeemax , all are one happy driver .
Driving the wish , whom i thought has got the best benefits .
And many other more , who chose to peep and learn here .
Whether am i true on those takings , it's up to them .
It's about ur motivation in making a success on taxi driving , not me .
I am just a guiding tool .
Originally posted by ALN:wed and thurs nite to me not much different…
best is Fri nite then Sat, next tier is Wed, Thurs, then last tier is Sun, Tue, Mon…. haha
so i think your schedule is like this
3.30pm: leave JB hse
4.30pm: reach taxi
4.30pm to 4am: drive taxi
5am: return taxi
6am: reach JB6am to 7am: rest and breakfast
7am to 2pm: koon
2pm to 3pm: Lunch3.30pm: another day!
wa… sounds like no life leh… better find 1 taxi very near checkpt… so that you can choose to end early and walk to customs instead of waiting for hirer to drive u to customs… so drive 4.30pm to 2am keep liao… save 2 hrs… haha
Earliest bus from sg custom is 4am or 4.30am, I think???
Must check with my father-in-law. Every morning he drives workers to ST AMK.
So, I just ceased work at 4am then walk over to Woodlands Checkpoint. Reach JB at 4.30am. Should reach home by latest 5.10am.
Think too much also useless. Just let it be. agar agar can already. Right? Bros.
Start already then adapt lah.
When I was back for reservist last year. Every morning 5am I am at Woodlands hawker centre lim kopi, I did saw a few comfort taxis park at woodlands carpark. (near Sheng Siong) Didn't notice got sonota or not. I think after CNY then follow father-in-law go woodlands look see, look see.
If really cannot find nearby custom then just go to the taxi and wait for the owners to show up. Ask him need night relief or not.
Just have enough rest , eat well , drink lots of water ( aircon might caused dryness inside ) , pee when needed , and shit as u like , and charge into CBD , collect $3 surcharge , and see how after this trip .
Need more input.
How about ERP? Peak-hour surcharge?
According to the book, I am not allow to collect peak-hour surcharge if the passengers are paying the CBD surcharge.
Sorry, ignore this. Answer just found at http://www.taxisingapore.com/taxi-fare/
Shifu
How do I know where is under CBD and where is not?
It's not that I don't know where is CBD. What I mean is the cut off point.
Originally posted by Pntc70:
Bro Pntc70
I've been searching it quite sometime ago....![]()
and finally found it with the help from bro KCTK.![]()
http://www.lta.gov.sg/public_transport/doc/CBD%20Map%20-%20Nov%2009%20website.jpg
hope this might helps you too......![]()