What would you choose if you got a job offered vs driving a cab?
After driving for 8 months, full time, I decide to go for a salaried job. I am 35 years old. Got many passengers esp good hearted ladies advise me to work cos got CPF contribuation. Due to signing up with the wrong company, I lost about about $1200 every month. (OMO+Petrol)
Now I intend to drive relief on weekends so as not to lose contact with this trade.
My current work place got many foreign talents. I dont feel secure too. Who knows the next downside, I am driving cab again full time.
Have I made the right choice? My band of brothers
congrats on leavin the taxi trade! u have made a very good choice. This trade is dead end . 10 or 30 years later will still be the same . both hand hold steering , do u think is there any regret to leave?
once again , congrats , leaving taxi trade is much more satisfying than tio 4d
wau pian... this trade is dead end 10 or 30 years still be the same.
what are you saying, what you are saying, even a former taxi millionaire your mentor red gang ah tau...the one and only in SG..... once left, oso back on road after leaving the corporate world...now (both hand hold steering) still in this industry, and still doing his teaching, how...ha!
Originally posted by kinwashi:wau pian... this trade is dead end 10 or 30 years still be the same.
what are you saying, what you are saying, even a former taxi millionaire your mentor red gang ah tau...the one and only in SG..... once left, oso back on road after leaving the corporate world...now (both hand hold steering) still in this industry, and still doing his teaching, how...ha!
i also dunno why he come back . was very surprised to see him at the car wash one nite , somemore even more surprise!! red fire engine!! haha
bottom line is can work work la. actually taxi driver is not self employed ,we are daily rated workers ! got drive got $ , no drive lan sai eat ownself. how can be classified self employed? think many kena trick hahaha
Originally posted by kinwashi:and still doing his teaching, how...ha!
i think he wan to open another taxi school to compete with the academy hahaha. knn later he come in will say we talk behind his back haha.
knn later he come in will say we talk behind his back haha.
he steady ones...he can take it...lah.
all rubbists oso he accepted, no feeling ones to him.
if not.... how his millionaire ....driving taxi.
one trip sometime less than 10 dollars lucky some more than ten dollars, coming back with those 2,3 hundreds....for those ten hours, holding the steering.
all must thank our hougang ALN...given him this title MILLIONAIRE TAXI DRIVER. mah. tolerate tolerate.
ALN why? nowaday alway refreshed me where got paxs abundant.
think... he will be the next consultant......hehe.
anyway it's very helpful without any cost..... you want this service? from him.
Same old crap la ..... if anyone can pay me $3000 a month , work 5 days . I'll jump into it .
I doubt current employer so stupid to employ me at $3000 for a fucking O level .
Again , I'll be lucky to earn $1600 working average 10 hours a day . 5 and a half daye per week .
Some told me taxi drivers earn $1500 a month ..... better find a job that is $1500 .
Yes if one cabby earn just $1500 a month for 30 days work as a cabby , they should start looking for a job really .
I congrats him if he leaving this trade .
If his new job's salalry can match that of a cabby .
I was offered or given a job as a Sales Engineer a few months back .
For an establish LED Provider .
Starting his own firm selling established brand Lighting products , tubes , bulbs , designers lightings etc .....
Needed me to run a Retail Shop cum Showroom .
At the same time , do some Marketing job during lull period .
44.5 hours per week .
Need to open retail outlet for 24 hours for one day a week .... during weekend .
Starting pay ?
$1300 ..... 7 days annual leaves ..... medical benefits at a cap ..... dental benefits at a cap .
Upon confirmation $1500 .
Will you take up the offer ?
He convince me good prospect .
At $1500 a month ?
I went home did a calculation ....
$1500 - cpf , say 22% , all in all .............take home $1170 .
CPF account fatter by $370 .
$1170 i eat what ?
Hello i got a maid , 2 kids ,2 kid's insurance , my insurance , 2 handphone bills , SP Bills , groceries ........
Surely die cock stand leh .....
Unless i am a bachelor , can la $1500 .
Even for bachelor nowdays , $1500 now also eat grass ar ......
All thanks to the PAP government , bringing in FT to squeeze our wages down .
They can go on squeezing ... i am staying on as a $3000 salaried cabby , now with Sats , i can get slightly more .
The best thing is , when i rejected the offer , he asked me : " Why KC ? "
I honestly told me i am expecting $3000 a month , and i dun mind working at that kind of working hours .
He said i drive cabby where can get even $2000 ?
When i said i earn $3000 as a cabby ..... i don't understand why was he shocked ?
If FT-15 , his new job can get more , com'on la ...... waiting for what ?
i mean if he OMO and earn only $1500 -$2000 a month , pls quit if that job offers $1800 and if he has no family obligations .
If he is earning $3000 like me consistently , and quit for a job @ $1800 , i think one fine day u'll still see him driving a cab .
knn give me $1800 basic salary guys , take home $1395 ..... i tell u what , let me die better !!!!
CPF ? Fuck la ..... If i earn $3000 a month , i be my own boss , save $675 inside my bank , take home still $2325 .
But too bad , me no discipline to save $675 , so i bought a set of insurance at $225 per month premium .
L-P-P-L
Originally posted by F-15T:I lost about about $1200 every month. (OMO+Petrol)
I lost about $1080 per week to rental .
I lost about $20 a week to ERP .
I lost about $600 a month to CNG .
Ya la , anyone can provide me a free taxi to drive everyday ?
But i can tell everyone here , i got about $3000 a month after making such losses .
Replying to Tio Call Liao ......
Whether i be holding a steering or not ..... in 10 or 20 years . Same to me , just a job .
The main differences that makes : My kids will be in University , how ? From insurance money lor .
Second difference : When i am 55 , my insurance matured liao , can take money liao .
All thanks to those cold hard cash i earned everyday that make me afford those premium .
If i work as a Sales Engineer , taking home $1395 , i don't think i can afford to buy any insurance for them or myself .Very early lapse liao those insurance .
Do you know why some taxi uncle their kids can go on to become doctors ? Some 3 kids into University .
Think about it .
Only 1 thing i will stop you from driving cab .
If u have massive outstanding on your HDB mortage .
And wife not working to support .
Like just bought a house for $300000 , and still have 30 years to pay .
Pls find a job . Get those employer to pay partly for your houses .
Taxi driving cannot help you .
That day one guy told be working got bonus .....
My wife work like hell , company making money , earn Marina Sands contract for the vinyl wall coverings and carpets .....
In the end , what ?
Just 1 month extra , bonus ?
So i calculated ....
My O level calibre , the most i can fetch $2000 .
One year earned $24000 , plus one month extra $2000 , total $26000 a year wages .
Taxi driver , an idle one , earning $36000 a year .....
Deifict : $10,000 .
I am staying as a cabby , an idle one .
2am reached home type .
If u cannot harvest net $2100 a month as a cabby , pls quit !
Cos u are at the moment , not good enough .
Case close .
First & foremost, thank you guys for sharing your comments.
Mine vs Poolman
Monthly Rental: $2300 vs $1080 [Diff: $1220]
Fuel: $825 (Petrol) vs $600 (CNG) [Diff: $225]
Total: $1220+$225= $1445
The high operating cost is killing me.
Oh i see ..... u signed up the Prime ?
Sorry bro , i am not criticising directly at you .
U lost big time , the $5000 u lost big time sia bro .
It's ok la .
Money can make back .
So it's not the salary that is taking it's toll , it's the operating cost .
Only if u are here earlier , u will have plenty of opinions about OMO-ing a petrol taxi .
I guessed u are driving a 7-seater Honda Freed ? Just wild guess , i am always good at making wild guesses .
U shouldn't have throw back to them .
7-seater must drive like a 7-seater driver , 7-seater bookings and 7-seater timings .
I will be a richer driver if i am a 7-seater driver .
Of course with a walkie .
To be a 7-seater driver ..... 1st calibre must be experience .
7-seater cannot sweep on the road , must have jobs to cover for the cost of running for petrol .
If 7-seater and day shift 6am to 8pm , die cock stand .
7-seater must work at night .
Imagine Poolman has got a 7-seater , and making trips to service SATS jobs ?
Imagine , people take 4 paxs , i take 7 paxes ?
4 paxes good one $52 , imagine 2 times of $52 ?
But bizarre , if $100 CNG Wish hirers can tahan OMO , after less $73 also , a $73 Petrol taxi cannot tahan ?
CNG and petrol
Base on 400km travell by petrol , $71 on petrol
Base on 400km travelled by CNG , @$1.04 per litre , about $41.60 .
Per day F-15 earn less $30 .
Maximum $900 per month differences .
If Mr Cheong my friend can earn $4000+ a month OMO a Wish , minus $900 , F-15 should be earning more or less between $2500-$3100 as OMO .
Difference it's the standard set , Mr Cheong is a out of the world driver .
Just my 3 cents .......
I employ myself to work as a taxi driver .
I am discipline cos i need to report to myself .
At the end of the day , it's myself who give me salary .
At the end of the year , then myself will give me a appraisal base on attitude , commitments and desire .
This is my definition of employment of a cabby . Simple theories .
If u are good , u are good .
No excuse .
For me after working 4 mths as a cabbie, im so used to being a
daily paid worker that i cant think of going back to a regular job
unless it pays me 3k per mth. Used to work at A*di cars last time
paid me 1.4k per mth after cpf left 1.1k+ nia F la how to survive man.
Now how much i earn is how much i want to ciong n grab like fri/sat
i always set myself 400 as a goal i go get it. Nowadays in Sg 1.5k
with family really cannot survive lar, 2k olredi cmi liao. 3k is the min now
veri soon in another 10yrs i can forsee 4k as the min......