In fact , many forumites , esp newbies , they would sms me : " Bro , which Terminal good to Q ? "
In fact , me also not god to visualise which Terminal pick and go , or fast like that .
But i do have a routine .
Fix routine .
Cos i believe Airport arrival ,. the flights also fixed .
http://www.changiairport.com/changi/en/flight_information/arrival_departure/?__locale=en#_test
Pls click the link to glance thru those arrivals timing everyday before u start work .
A good schedule listing , took about 20 minutes to compile .
What i did before i master Airport
I do a listing everyday for 6 days .
I realized everyday 10pm onwards to 11pm , all Terminal can try .
But pls do yourself a swee swee listing
Like that format .
Terminal - Total flights - Time
T1 10 5pm-6pm
T2 5 6pm-7pm
and so on .......
This daily listing .... is effect every week .
They won't change the arrival schdule .
For me .....
5pm-6pm ( no airport strategy for me )
6pm-7pm ( no airport srategies for me too ) \
7pm -8pm ( T2 )
8pm -9pm ( T3 )
9pm -10pm ( T2 )
10pm -11pm ( T2 or T3 )
11pm onwards - Airport staffs
T1 ...depends on individual , i never like T1 .
I never empty to Airport , that is for sure .
I go there only when i am near .
Not even Sengkang can get me to Airport empty
is $15 the "minimum" fare that will make the cabby satisfied with the trip?
Nowadays , SATS put up a new info boards for cabbies , since Thursday .
It reads : Terminal 2 need taxis
But follow info blindly , see for yourself . If too long Q , run for your life !!!
It could be there for 10 minutes liao .
10 minutes if 60 cabs saw the infos , the 60 all charge into that same terminal , being the 61st , u lose out .
Cos the next Info that came in 10 secs later after u saw , could be Terminal 3 needs taxis
Originally posted by 105090:is $15 the "minimum" fare that will make the cabby satisfied with the trip?
Will Tampines Simei Bedok people happy to pay for that minimum $15 for that trip ?
Doing your homework it is must for AP trips .
Seeing those forecast at near AP also must read .
Seeing those info near airport also must read .
Listening to walkie talkie for AP info is important to me .
How to master , or forecast how good Airport will be ? This week or this month or next month ?
By reading newspaper .
U see .....
If u see Suntec got IT fair .... u know Sunect bubble will burst , so cabbies all charge into CBD to grap surcharge , bookings + cbd surcharge .... so scenario will be AP lacking of taxis .
My thoery of : 100 flies more here , 100 flies lesser there .
If u read Singapore got what Airshow or things like that , pls expect a very busy to the already busy airport .
Any International Events , means busy time for Airport .
This is cabby's innitiative .
This is how i work .
This is what new generation driver should be doing .
If u wanna drive like those typical Taxi Ah Peh style , Q-ing at Lot-1 or Bt Panjang Plaza or Hougang Mall or Tampines Mall taxi stand .... good luck .
Originally posted by Poolman:
Will Tampines Simei Bedok people happy to pay for that minimum $15 for that trip ?
Should have minimum charge for AP. Even the yong tau fu stall also says "1 piece 30cents, minimum $2.50", why not taxi?
Originally posted by Insg:Should have minimum charge for AP. Even the yong tau fu stall also says "1 piece 30cents, minimum $2.50", why not taxi?
I remember when i was in Hong Qiao Airport ( at that time international airport in Shanghai) in the late 90s'. They have a designated taxi zone for short distance, they implement after many problems with pax and taxi drivers who Q for many hours. Before this implementation and whenever i got into a cab that go short distance hotel - i will tell the Cab driver, just do your job and i will know what to do with your "happy fares".
Of course they don't grumble lah....and smile driving all the way and good chats.
Originally posted by 105090:is $15 the "minimum" fare that will make the cabby satisfied with the trip?
i am not money greed type but i think for short trip to whatever the near distance like flora, loyang, simei - $15 might be fair during "day time". of course not all will be happy from the public and what consider fair may not be welcome.
Cabby has to "jing yue le yue" ma... right? But also meant business if you lost 45 mins to 1 hour waiting..time to serve the public on general queue.
Short distance Q - Pasir Ris fare - becos pasir ris can be quite a big stretch.... Tampines different fares.....
Short distance Q for those wanted to jump over to general Q.....I bet that works becos many cabby get frustrated with long waiting time will give up Q.
Members , take note :
12am - T1 pick & go most time , everyday .
1am - T3 pick & go most time , everyday , Sundau worst .
1.45 - T1 pick & go again .
Budget 1.30am pick & go .
I saw a reduce of taxis Q-ing after their first airport trip .
Once they hit town , RWS is next !
No more rushing back to Airport .
How i know ?
Fuck la walkie explode when i was Catering Side .
I cannot do it , i have Staff committments .
Although i can chose to go , but i chose to chose & pick where i wanna go .
I would rather stick around East side and connect those East Staffs .
$12+$12 ....
$12+$14....
$12 ....
How many liao 3 trips , 1.5hrs ????
Originally posted by Poolman:Members , take note :
12am - T1 pick & go most time , everyday .
1am - T3 pick & go most time , everyday , Sundau worst .
1.45 - T1 pick & go again .
Budget 1.30am pick & go .
I saw a reduce of taxis Q-ing after their first airport trip .
Once they hit town , RWS is next !
No more rushing back to Airport .
Looks like airport might need to increase their surcharge b4 taxi would flock there again. RWS seems to be pulling away those airports diehards.
LTA , dun be nuts la ..... this $3 and $5 will remain for a long long time .
Except for peak hour , which i still think it's sucks , other timing , i like the scenario where the taxis are all disperse around Singapore rather than all saturated in CBD .
y cant say less then 10km $15.
will drive away those marginal paxes who pay from their own pocket. sometimes we need these 5cents/10cents trips to connect to something better.