SINGAPORE: Marina Bay Sands has launched its final burst of hiring before it opens on April 27. Singapore's second Integrated Resort (IR) aims to bring in some 5,000 people in various positions over the next 60 days.
Already, there are 3,600 casino staff on board and in just the last 48 hours alone, Sands said recruitment doubled with croupiers coming in for training.
Within a commercial building located at Mountbatten Road, is the newly-formed Marina Bay Sands Training Centre.
Behind closed doors are where thousands of dealers and croupiers are put through their paces.
Sands said nearly all its dealers are Singaporeans. It was unable to give an exact figure but added most of the people it has recruited across the entire IR are locals.
All casino staff have to undergo a training stint that could take up to seven weeks.
There's no room for mistake for the dealers once they're on the gaming floor.
Geraldine Wong, dealer inspector trainee, said: “We need to calculate a lot for this job like how to get the payment fast and accurate.”
Training started six weeks ago.
With some complaints over inexperienced dealers at the recently-opened Resorts World Sentosa, Marina Bay Sands is not taking any chances.
Thomas Arasi, CEO, Marina Bay Sands, said: "We're going to strive to open as close to perfection as we possibly can. So, while there are no guarantees in there, there are assurances and we are just incredibly focused. We're giving it our 100 per cent and we hope to get as close as we can to 100 per cent in terms of execution."
Sands said there are various positions available in areas such as hotel operations, security and F&B.
There are currently about 1,800 dealers being trained in the casino training school and it simulates a real working environment with dealers working in eight-hour shifts.
As part of the certification process for the casino, representatives from the Casino Regulatory Authority have also visited this school.
Sands has said it will open the S$7.7 billion Marina Bay project in phases.
The announcement comes after three years of work including several delays and even concerns over the business viability of its parent company, Las Vegas Sands, which took a battering during the global financial crisis.
But things seem to be on the mend.
Las Vegas Sands Corporation has said that it will seek to refinance about US$5 billion in bank debt.
Mr Arasi added: "This is definitely a marathon and not a sprint. The reality of it is about the kind of experience and reputation and the type of market reach that you have over a period of time."
Unlike Resorts World Sentosa which targets leisure travellers, Marina Bay Sands has said its focus is on high-end business travellers as well as the meetings and convention sectors.
As for social safeguards, Sands said it is working closely with the relevant authorities.
The Marina Bay Sands recruitment centre is open from Monday to Friday 10am to 7pm, Saturday 10am to 3pm and is located at #02-34 Mountbatten Square, 229 Mountbatten Road. For more information you can call 6688 8860. - CNA/vm
i smell blood .
Guys , go for the killing ........ not on the table , but on the road .
Day shift , i dunno so far RWS got any massive effects on them ? But night shift , RWS created chaos everywhere surrounding town .
Now RWS + Sands ?
I don't want to imagine RWS + Sands + Holiday Eve , surrounding CBD .
I dun want to imagine how long people at Little India must wait for a cab .
I dun want to see those cham faces from Vivo Giant taxi stand .
I foreseen further chaos .
I foreseen we need not worry about 35% peak hour surcharge anymore .
Some need to pay us $3.50 booking + CBD $3 + 35% peak hour surcharge to take our cabs .
Believe me !!!
Huat further night shifts .
So after joining lake view will get more booking $$$plus meter???
I foreseen that ..... i foreseen $5 also not cabs .
Cos chaotic la , everyday !!
Sunday Wall Street can jump up to $8 plus meter ..... Friday one $10 plus meter to Hougang , knn , hahahahah
Huat ah~~~~
Confirm will be hearing $$ plus meter soon,
Woodlands will be $20 plus meter haha even
so dun knoe will got ppl sup or not :P
that's why i'm returning to omo again very soon, really miss all the nite shift fun
Originally posted by ALN:circle line no negative impact?
what circle line ?
KNNBCCB got money pay $100 go casino , take circle line ?
Circle line?? even more happy they take the mrt back
to these tai ko places :P
Originally posted by komade:Circle line?? even more happy they take the mrt back
to these tai ko places :P
wah if this happens , i will be very happy!!! NE pax pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee take MRT!!!
me staying NE also leh but i take bike to go out
relax no need to grab for cabs. But if i do take cab
i aim for blue colour 1s to go hm......... :P
Go out i take red 1 haha
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:wah if this happens , i will be very happy!!! NE pax pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee take MRT!!!
It's ok , if they take a cab home .
Anyway , not my business Circle line pax take taxi or not ?
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:wah if this happens , i will be very happy!!! NE pax pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee take MRT!!!
But unfortunately , funny enough , although got NEL , but knn dunno why still alot take taxi home to Upper Serangoon , Hougang , Sengkang and Punggol .
Originally posted by Teolk:that's why i'm returning to omo again very soon, really miss all the nite shift fun
Teo , realx now ... 2 weeks before Sands starts , warm up first .
Then last week befor Sands starts , ur gear to 4th gear liao ...... anytime ready to fully charge into 5th gear .
Huat la knn .....
No huat i dun surname LEE . !!!!
Today a bit quiet ..... also hit $200 plus with $55 SATS trips . Until 1.35am , keep liao .
knn $55 Sats trips in 1 hour 35 minutes .
Komade even more solid , one trip nia ...... tmr's rental settle liao .