Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:no la 40 to 45? where got so high? my 8 to 12 is very very average. if 2 trips connect 1 up jurong , 1 down from jurong , maybe 45 have . but nah not so heng nowadays.
i think 25 should be the norm for me.
Bro u power 1 gibe u go up Jurong to ur "classified" area
u can make magic ;)
Hallo my dear cabby uncle friends, how are you all? From the postings here seems that all are doing well. J
I am back online and will try to pick up from where I left and continue sharing my experiences with you all. Sorry if some are a bit outdated or irrelevant now. Actually looking back at it, I am amazed at how different a person I am now compared to just over one month ago. Not just different at the way I ply the trade, but also at how I look at life. Driving taxi sure is an eye opener to me, almost like seeing a parallel second universe that I did not know before.
Anyway, before I bore you all more to death, as they all say, let’s the story continue……..
Wednesday, 3 March
Monday was not good day for me.
I saw Poolie face that he did not believe me when I told him that. My “cousin” Kenny even nearly choked on his kopi when I told him, he said he was so busy until no time to break, not even have time to buy cigarettes
I started at my bro’s fave place (and by now my usual starting point) near my house at AMK. Not many taxi but not many pax either. After abt10mins waiting an aunty carrying those plastic bags get in “Ah Di, Woodlands Dr 40 please”. Later on she told me she only take cab that day because it was going to rain.
Reached Wld, drive here and there difficult to get pax, until got a teenage malay couple flag me “Uncle, Bukit Batok please”, ouch another one of my “favourite” place.
Bukit batok even worse, drive around for good 15 minutes cannot get pax, until got 2 malay women “Unlce two places. Woodlands and Yishun”. Phui, if this goes on when am I going to get to CBD?? Damn tulan, until I called my wife and asked whether got any extra dinner portion for me. So go back first and have dinner with my family (a nice change though J ).
After dinner and played with my kids for a while then start driving towards town again. Near Novena got a PRC flag my cab “Ma Li Si Tar”, wahlau eh this continues for the whole night. Even when I decided to heck care and just drive to CBD, from LP the girl throw me Hougang. On second thought, maybe I should have driven further and join the queue at 1RQ rather than LP, and maybe it is better. But it was 8+ nearly 9pm and I was afraid the office crowd have all already gone home by then.
Damn suay lah that day. Monday, drive 5.30pm – 2.00am, collected only $180+ and I drove 267km. Bad bad bad day, my worst in this 2 weeks driving.
Even yesterday (Tuesday), starting late at 6.00 and sat around for 2.5hrs chit chat with the cabby “uncles” I can still collect $200+.
++++++++++++================+++++++++++++++++
Ironically (or maybe coincidentally??), this worst day on Monday follow almost right after my best day, which was on Saturday 27Feb. Pick and go anywhere in town, I can even feel that the pax compete for bookings to get a cab. First time I got 4 TONS in a night. Sibei Shiok!
I guess because it was pay day for most salaried people. No??
Remark: Yesterday you all mention $$$ plus meter, I think I need to learn this skill as well J
Friday, 5 March
I can only swallow my saliva hearing uncle cabby friends here talking about $40+ trips and also about pax waving $50 bill to get into their cabs. When is my turn going to be? J
So far my biggest trips are only $36+ and $38+. The first one was three aunties sharing cabs from RWS after midnight. 2 Bt Panjang plus one Woodlands.
The second one was interesting though, and I will share more below.
It was just before midnight when I picked up a young girl at Elizabeth Link. Destination : Cineleisure. I was like, HAH??? Wow, teenager nowadays sure got a lot of money to spend. Anyway the next trip is the interesting one.
As I dropped the girl in front of Cine, suddenly two teenage girls and one boy jumped into my cab (Honestly, I don’t have intention to sabo all those uncles who queued there, but since they jump in, it is pantang to reject my luck right?)
One of the girl said: “Uncle, three places, AMK, Woodlands and Punggol. Whicever one first is up to you” Ha ha ha, if up to me like that sure I will go Punggol then Woodlands then AMK <evil grin>, but I said”Ok AMK first then you toss a coin Wdl or Punggol next” Then I asked the boy where he stays, since he stays at Punggol, I suggest Punggol to be last stop. Anyway either way is dead place and I have to cruise back empty to town. Started the trip just before midnight (got CBD surcharge, shiok) then after a few minutes the midnight surcharge kicked in (lagi shiok!). Reach punggol :$38.80. “Biggest trip I had so far”
+++++++++++++================+++++++++++++++++
Continuing from the above story, next is about my biggest tip so far.
It was after midnight on a weekday when I took a 50+ y.o. uncle from RWS to Hougang (Avenue 8 block 600+). During the trip I asked whether it was his first time there, he just laughed at me and said it was his fifth (and this is when the casino is opened for just less than two weeks ??!!). He said he still need to work the next morning so he has to go home. He seems to be cheerful so I knew he was winning.
After further talk he told me first time he lost a few hundred, then second time earn back few hundred, third time win one thousand, fourth time two thousand, and that morning he won nearly four thousand playing roulette ! WTF, some people got all the luck. At that time I nearly ask him to be my godfather and bring me along next time he go casino, but on second thought I am scared later I got addicted then how??
Anyway, when reaching destination, meter was $24+. He gave me some $10 notes and said “ You keep, you keep”. At that time I thought he gave me $30, after he got down I counted it was actually $40.
So this is my largest tip so far. Narrowly beating the previous record of US$10.
That one was from a late fifty ang moh I picked up from T3. He was a nice guy, chose to sit in the front passenger sit and chit chat with me during the trip. A consultant for the LV IR coming down here for biz trip.
When reaching the hotel at the Marina area he whipped out his corporate credit card and then also said “If I give you ten bucks will it be any good for you?” Of course it is!. Any kind of appreciation of our hard work is most welcome J Thank you sir!
Musing : Is it such coincidence that the bigger tips I got are casino related? Is this a trend to come?
Keep those coming , all are still learning , including me .
Originally posted by Poolman:Keep those coming , all are still learning , including me .
Eh, no lah. Later I end up with a book then how??
Coming soon to your nearest bookstores: "Blog of Cabby"
Author : Ken Yap, nMBA, nPhD
:=D
Don't worry , if got books , will be " Pool's Manual " first .
my highest meter is slightly under $60. my biggest tip $45 cash. if casino chip, $100 (but resold for 90) haha
Monday 12 Apr 10,
3 a.m was on Kreta Ayer Road pick up a Jap to Bukit Panjang Mayspring Condo.
Stopped meter $23.00. Guess what????
Took out one hundred dollar note, folded it, gave me the money and said Thank You. I was stunned, thought he was joking. I turned around and take out my cash to change. but he said thank you again. So, I reply thank you and he alight. I was stunned so call shifu and told him what happened.
Time was 3.20 am. thought of go back woodlands and wash car.
But think and think again. F lah chiong back to CBD in 10 mins.
From Tanjong Pagar cruise till Balestier pick up one couple to CCK north 7. Ha Ha. Close at $295. without counting tips.
All because I got a good teacher guiding me. Thanks shifu.
Then one day meet you at JB , bring me go makan my favourite duck rice at Taman Aminah , near Lee & Lee Pineapples factory .
Somewhere before Taman Aminah , the duck rice knnbccb Best in the world !!!!
KNN really miss those stuffs .
Then after makan , i go Thai Massage . Not those Special one .
Then smuggle a few packet hun ki out
Then smuggle a few MS software out .
Then smuggle a few gallon of petrol out for my Wish .
Then smuggle a few new DVD movies out .
knn hahahahahahah
Originally posted by Pntc70:Monday 12 Apr 10,
Took out one hundred dollar note, folded it, gave me the money and said Thank You. I was stunned, thought he was joking. I turned around and take out my cash to change. but he said thank you again. So, I reply thank you and he alight. I was stunned so call shifu and told him what happened.
From Tanjong Pagar cruise till Balestier pick up one couple to CCK north 7. Ha Ha. Close at $295. without counting tips.
but knn song last night , cb 11.30pm telling me u going home , tmr off , good leh .
Ya lor , taxi drivers must be like that .
Monday get $295 , plus $100 durian drop tip .
Tuesday fuck it lor , go home early , dun lugi rental can liao .
end day .... u benefits from both world .
Money and health !!!
Shifu,
No work today?????
No problem. I know where's the place, used to go there but now go to seri skudai for duck rice. Wife favourite place. Food and Drinks on me. Massage??? I don't go traditional. So, don't know where have.
Originally posted by Pntc70:Shifu,
No work today?????
No problem. I know where's the place, used to go there but now go to seri skudai for duck rice. Wife favourite place. Food and Drinks on me. Massage??? I don't go traditional. So, don't know where have.
ok ok ....... hmm i rich man , driver make money for me , like taxi companies , must work ? hahahahaha
No la , take a day off , earn so much for what ?
Mi Casa need some sign some documents , tio bo ALN ?
Renovations ? hahahahahaknn
Originally posted by Poolman:Don't worry , if got books , will be " Pool's Manual " first .
But Bro, if we come up with books, sure it won’t sell well, because they don’t have stories of juicy encounters with PRC MeiMeis (or should it be encounters with juicy PRC MMs? whatever!)
I drive taxi for nearly two months, so far only pick up PRC MM three times. KNN that celebrity uncle TD drove taxi for six months, got so much story about PRC MM to tell.
He must have been studying very hard and doing a lot of homework at the right library! While Professor Poolman have been teaching us to go to all the “wrong” places. Ha ha ha ha.
Definitely the learned ones are different from us peasants. :)
Originally posted by Pntc70:Monday 12 Apr 10,
Bro Datok Peter North,
You are one nice and friendly guy, so it is not surprising the Japanese appreciated your service.
Thursday, 11 March
I picked up a woman pax (around mid forty) from Science Park 1(along the Sci Pk Dr) wanting to go to Singapore Casket (Lavender) at around 20.30pm on a weekday.
Me : “No problem. Let’s go through AYE then CTE then through Balestier”
Pax : “ Why are you taking a big round to go there? The last time the driver go through Holand Road, Orchard, then Newton there”.
In my heart I thought “WTF?!?! Going that way will take through at least one hundred and twelve traffic lights!!” But what came out from my mouth was “Sure can…. No problem”. Damn. I am such a hypocrite (correct spelling??) bastard. J
To be frank at that time (and even up to now) when a pax tell me a destination, I could only connect from pick up point to destination, and if there are few options can only agar which one is the best way to choose. I still don’t know exactly which way is shortest (see further comment below)
Moving along Buona Vista she blurted out “ Maybe we can go down Portsdown….” WTF?!? Just now did not want to go AYE now want to go Portsdown. But I just pretend I didn’t hear that and continue.
Then this is the best part. When reaching Holland Rd, she said “Do you know. If we go down Clementi Rd and then Bukit Timah there (she meant Dunearn) will it be faster?” I nearly say “You want to go through KJE Mam?” but managed to say “Don’t think so lah. I think last time the taxi driver uncle got the BEST way”.
You know how sometimes we get a little bit of delay at the traffic light in front of the Shaw House? We wouldn’t even call it a jam, but from the backseat suddenlay came “Uncle, just now if we went straight to Grange Rd and come down here maybe it is faster?” Wahlau, honestly at that point of time I nearly say ”Mam, shall we stop the meter here and then I let you drive my cab to Lavender?”. But of course, all drivers in Poolie group here are courteous drivers one and will never loose temper like that.
Coming to Newton Rd she said again “Do you know how to go to Balestier from here? I can’t remember how the driver go the other day” Of course lah. It is just straight and you get there what. I was thinking, maybe the uncle driver brought her through Thomson Rd and then the brighter side of Balestier before continue down the dull side of Balestier and Lavender??
Before reaching the traffic light in front of Singapore Casket (I was in the right lane, mind you) she told me to just stop before the red light. I wonder why is that woman so control freak and stingy???
So guys, remember. If you happen to pick up a bespectacled, straight short haired, mid forty 75% woman pax from along Science Park Drive, you have been warned. This woman had been trained by the best uncle driver in Singapore !
Originally posted by WizQ:
To be frank at that time (and even up to now) when a pax tell me a destination, I could only connect from pick up point to destination, and if there are few options can only agar which one is the best way to choose. I still don’t know exactly which way is shortest (see further comment below)
I think there are five levels of drivers, based on the route knowledge :
- newbie – when told a destination will go “Ah? Where is that place ah?”. Really no clue, and I have to admit sometimes I still fall into this L
- beginners – know the destination and different routes to get there, but have no idea which one is shortest way. This is the level I am now.
- intermediate – can tell the shortest way to get to a destination. Sometimes can also give shortcuts.
- advanced – not only know the shortest way, but also can tell, depending on certain time of the day, what is the fastest way to get there. I think most of you guys belong to this category.
- guru – not only can tell the shortest/ fastest way, but can tell exactly how much is the difference in the meter $$$ by going through those different routes.
Our Mr. Eating -Walking-Talking GPS Poolman could tell me that day “Wow, going that way at least the meter got $2 more” when I asked about a certain route. But story about this later lah.
Thursday, 18 March
Today is my fourth week anniversary driving taxi. I looked back at me log book and surprised myself that I had driven 9,968km in these past four weeks!!!
Forget about how many times I would have gone to KL and back, for this distance I could have driven through Malaysia, Thailand, Laos and up to Hanoi in northern part of Vietnam and come back here!!!
Or worse, I could have driven one way from here all the way to Shanghai !! (Or was it to Beijing? Anyone wants to challenge my geography?)
Now, if only I could collect S$1 for each km I drive, I would be a very happy TD. But unfortunately the reality is that it is much less than that. :( OUCH!
Sunday, 7 March
Last night was the second consecutive week that my Saturday earning is better than Friday. It was not that Friday was bad, it was just that Saturday is better.
I guess I need to relook the strategy for Friday driving and try to improve, but I still cannot understand why.
Anyway, any of cabby uncles here want to share how to improve?
Originally posted by WizQ:But Bro, if we come up with books, sure it won’t sell well, because they don’t have stories of juicy encounters with PRC MeiMeis (or should it be encounters with juicy PRC MMs? whatever!)
I drive taxi for nearly two months, so far only pick up PRC MM three times. KNN that celebrity uncle TD drove taxi for six months, got so much story about PRC MM to tell.
He must have been studying very hard and doing a lot of homework at the right library! While Professor Poolman have been teaching us to go to all the “wrong” places. Ha ha ha ha.
Definitely the learned ones are different from us peasants. :)
hehe tis 1 i can publish i shall name it
"Erotic Adventures Of A Taxi Driver" :P
How about this

Originally posted by komade:hehe tis 1 i can publish i shall name it
"Erotic Adventures Of A Taxi Driver" :P
Ya lor. Only people with your calibre can write such "manual" like this. You the chief librarian mah. :)
Originally posted by Ngkialeong888:How about this
Bro, this was the one I was making reference to.
I have not read this book but I saw some of his blog. I think if you write down your experiences driving those SATS jobs, it will come out better than this one.
Originally posted by WizQ:Bro, this was the one I was making reference to.
I have not read this book but I saw some of his blog. I think if you write down your experiences driving those SATS jobs, it will come out better than this one.
dun want lah, later Jovin mark me leh. He already very cham liao. That day T2 stuck 50 voucher, he cry father cry mother nobody go leh.