Are most cabs equipped with GPS? Or the GPS is installed by the Hirer?
Only Comfort has got GPS .
The rest no .
MY GPS Made-in-Singapore .
Made in 1969 .
No brand , but very effective , no need update one .
Software forever inside
Unless he hand over his NRIC , then totally dead this GPS .
Originally posted by Poolman:MY GPS Made-in-Singapore .
Made in 1969 .
No brand , but very effective , no need update one .
Software forever inside
Unless he hand over his NRIC , then totally dead this GPS .
haha this gps power 1 inside dun knoe got wat chip
tell him any place he can calculate faster than the
average gps sold on the market :P
thanks guys..
i only just send in my application to lta.. so long way to go for me.. but i hope to become a taxi driver by this year..
i analyse it and the only pressure i may face is when customers board the taxi and ur mind becomes blank... so GPS is there to help for newbies...
any idea how much it cost to install one?
thanks guys..
i only just send in my application to lta.. so long way to go for me.. but i hope to become a taxi driver by this year..
i analyse it and the only pressure i may face is when customers board the taxi and ur mind becomes blank... so GPS is there to help for newbies...
Originally posted by JLKL:thanks guys..
A garmin nuvi 205 costs round 200, cheap n gd ;)
thanks for your info..
Rotary has got a very good one , got live update on traffic jams .
But i like Rotary's style , keep GPS in drawer , need than ON !
This should be the way , try out without a GPS , less reliance on GPS .
Bo pian then use GPS .
Always start to read those roads by yourself .
Second option is by Street directory .
Third option is through friends or buddy .
4th then GPS .
Curtis Peh , my Jurong West buddy , rely too much on GPS , until now , about coming 2 years on the road , he still cannot figure out Singapore .
In fact for me , Comfort's GPS is good enough .
Once u reached that area , just follow arrow .....
Like pax going to Sembawang Park from Suntec .
U will travel KPE exit PIE ( Jurong ) , from there go CTE , this normal route u need GPS ? Pls la .
Then SLE , u then ask exit where when near ?
Or asked : " I new , just guide me along . "
When reached Sembawang , then follow pax's instructions .
GPS ? No need la .
yah agree with pool, 1st 2 mths i drive rely on GPS then
i take out nber use at all i find i learn the places much faster.
Now if cannot find i juz flip thru directory/ask frens or best ask the pax
kc , u r wrong leh, that comfort gps is not really consider as GPS , for me it seem like a digital street directory only cos it dun guide u where to turn , which exit to take de, it was a useless thing.i been driving comfort more than 1yrs+ , i dun use it at all b4. the GPS only when on call, it will show a red line leading to the destination, that stupid red line can cut thru all building , road , expressway de , if suay suay tio those private estate then jia lat liao... it will be even more worst if u need to go those area which will one way traffic de ...another thing, the gps updating is very very slow as in the arrow indicating ur vehicle move like turtle sia , how to rely on it ... my Asus Pda phone is much better in navigation than the comfort turtle system ... i can even use it to chat in msn messenger if i within those WiFi hotspot... hehe ....
Agree with you guys... just that driving a private car and taxi will be totally different.. driving your own car anyhow also can as long as can reach but driving taxi, face pressure from customers on the faster way lah etc.. i guess driving taxi is a lot of patience, confidence and high eq, if not after kana f*** by customer, no mood to drive and lose confidence on yourself. That is why i thot GPS might boost your confidence a bit cos you know there is something to reply on in the event that your mind in a blank when customers tell you their destination..
i almost everyday come to this forum and read.. very interesting and got me thinking to become a taxi driver cos i damn sian in my current job... i dun mind working many more hours than i do now to only earn maybe the same as now or even lower but important thing i believe is ai happy nia... want to get out of office politics.. cannot tahan..
I'm so use using GPS. Not to know how to go but to estimate the distance of turning. Like at PIE exit BKE always long Q so when GPS read 200m i slowly eat in.
Originally posted by Sonata83:kc , u r wrong leh, that comfort gps is not really consider as GPS , for me it seem like a digital street directory only cos it dun guide u where to turn , which exit to take de, it was a useless thing.i been driving comfort more than 1yrs+ , i dun use it at all b4. the GPS only when on call, it will show a red line leading to the destination, that stupid red line can cut thru all building , road , expressway de , if suay suay tio those private estate then jia lat liao... it will be even more worst if u need to go those area which will one way traffic de ...another thing, the gps updating is very very slow as in the arrow indicating ur vehicle move like turtle sia , how to rely on it ... my Asus Pda phone is much better in navigation than the comfort turtle system ... i can even use it to chat in msn messenger if i within those WiFi hotspot... hehe ....
when my time , u just type in eg , coronation road west , then set . The arrow will show you . No need on call .
And also they will tell you " where i am" .
Originally posted by Poolman:when my time , u just type in eg , coronation road west , then set . The arrow will show you . No need on call .
And also they will tell you " where i am" .
Or when we dun knoe can ask u this human gps haha
i rely heavily on the map in the IVT coz its impossible for me to remember all the block numbers of the road.
without it , my in built GPS is only 65% efficient
For TIo Call Liao , his GPS Made-in-Tuas , very effective in Tuas .
Memory power 500GB ,
Processing speed also 10/10 rating .
No fight .
Tuas i a bit rusty ..... still can manage , sometime at Gul Circle still lost .
I think i really have no problem in town , in HDB and private housing .
But i do fear most is Kovan area .... those lowlands , those highlands , those Richards Ave , those Flower Road , those Lim Ah Pin Road , those Simon Road , Kang Choo Bin Road , Philips Ave .
I concedes , i am no good there !!!
i get lost at the following places
sengkang
upper thomson
sembawang hills
Namly area
opera estate & siglap
katong
still road
tg katong
mountbatten
omg so many places? hahaha
and a lot of others la.
but industrial parks hahahaha like wad pool say 500 GB memory
I remember once , dun know which forumer asked me : " Pool , how to go Jurong Bird Pak from AYE ."
Soi told him : " U exit after Corporation Road , that exit is called Jurong Pier Road , Jurong Pier Road , u just go straight !!! Don't turn , left side u'll see Jurong Bird Park sign . Turn left ! "
But after 10 minutes , he told me he landed at Jurong Island Guard house !!! 
Originally posted by Poolman:I remember once , dun know which forumer asked me : " Pool , how to go Jurong Bird Pak from AYE ."
Soi told him : " U exit after Corporation Road , that exit is called Jurong Pier Road , Jurong Pier Road , u just go straight !!! Don't turn , left side u'll see Jurong Bird Park sign . Turn left ! "
But after 10 minutes , he told me he landed at Jurong Island Guard house !!!
wah lao eh kena plucked. lol .
for 69 , 83 , and those who have my walkie code . if u land up in tuas , penjuru , pandan , science park , loyang ind , changi north , changi south wah knn so many ( EXCEPT JURONG ISLAND & AMK ind park II ). ok la at any ind park la , walkie me , if i can help , i sure help.