I read somewhere in this forum where someone put a thread "employed vs self employed" last year..
I know some of you became a taxi driver due to various reasons, some being no cert lah, dun earn enuf lah etc.. all due to various circumstances to be in the taxi industry..
But one thing I can feel is that most of you out there, those that actively in the forum, are very happy with being in this industry..
I have read also some of your views that if offered a job that pays $2.5k, you will happily accept it as opposed to driving a taxi.
I have just applied to LTA for a vocational licence and I do have a job rite now but eventually I will quit and become a taxi driver maybe by this year.. Reason being I am sick and tired of all the politics in the office.. The only thing that I am going to lose is that I may earn less or the same as per my current job being a taxi driver and of cos working longer hours...
But reading from this forum has somewhat motivated me that being a cab driver can also be very happy, just like some of you here.
Thanks to all and I believe u all have given me enuf input to convince me that I can be a cab driver and earning a decent income..
Happy driving and huat ar!
ya i know.. i know it is physically draining also, that is why i have started to do some jogging to condition myself to the physical demand.. like what bro pool says, there must be a motivation factor to keep urself pushing in this industry.. cannot be lazy.. work means work, after work, earn liao then tcss..
Hi JLKL, I think I'm on the same boat as you ...sick of our current work ...anyway company is like Titanic ...sinking ... is the matter of time waiting to be retrenched ,fired or sacked !
well, people may think that i am stupid to leave just becos of office politics which is happening in every company, but really i cannot tahan liao.. and at age of 39, it is damn difficult to find a job that pays me 3k a month.. which i need to earn to cover my expenses including housing loan.. i will look at driving taxi not only just simply picking up street hire and calls, i am more looking towards from a business point of view, that is private booking from companies etc..well, at least that is the intention i set out to do if ever i step into taxi driving as a career... but first start from basics, that is learn the roads well, like what bro pool say, learn from paxs and the experienced bros in this forum.. master the basics and then we can think about the rest later..take a step at a time.. dun rush into things, dun be smart alek.. learn from the masters and hopefully one day can be like them and be partners in making money together..
read Professor Chai book, from professor to become taxi driver, i think just give it a try, who knows
Lao jiao will tell u 'no la this line where got good, money very hard to earn, 1 day $50-$80 must drive 12hrs head my advise don't become a TD'....lao jiao say...
lao jiao clever. but its true i still say till now , dont become a TD
FT relief is the best .
Believe me .
i advised Peter to be a relief first , cos he new , stay in JB , and still dun know the tricks of driving a cab ....
Now i am happy , this JB Datuk is one of the richest man in his JB village .
If base on what i heard from him , he is taking home something like near to SGD3.5k a month , if base on his average takings daily .
Convert to RM , it's RM8330
Rich bo ?
But sacrifice a lot for those travelling time .
for Rm$8300 i will not mind travelling at all.
anyway back to this hirer/relief topic. i think this discussion will never end but think abt it. if there are no hirers , will we have cabs to drive? so someone has to make the brave move , frankly i am not brave enough.
i kena 2 days OMO i already cry no tears, not to mention OMO for years or months.
Me OMO 9 months .....
Never in my life i made such a bold and crazy move , think OMO made more money , talk cock la .
Relief make more money .
Again , never try , never know .
Know the Bar-Wu liao ..... sucks !
the day i OMO is when sonata rental drop to $60, when nobody wanna drive for all these blood suckers , forced to drop price. but will this ever happen? of coz not! coz even prestige merc also need to Q liao.
everyday , a new TD is born , where will drop rental? right ? haha
OMO siao boh haha.....
Either be a hirer get a relief or be a relief
12hrs of driving per day i tink is more than enuff.
OMO drive 14hrs doin extra OT 2hrs juz to cover rental
to earn as much as relief i tink is boh liao lor. Imagine
2hrs per day = 60hrs per mth more u can spend time
doing ur own tins or with ur family is more worthwhile imho.
Originally posted by Poolman:i advised Peter to be a relief first , cos he new , stay in JB , and still dun know the tricks of driving a cab ....
Now i am happy , this JB Datuk is one of the richest man in his JB village .
If base on what i heard from him , he is taking home something like near to SGD3.5k a month , if base on his average takings daily .
Convert to RM , it's RM8330
Rich bo ?
But sacrifice a lot for those travelling time .
knn 8300rm per mth fucking shiok lor, if me 10k rm per mth
can live like king liao hav big house, big car,maid, 3 wives,4 mistress ....... :P
Bro pool, Peter drive only relief day and can take home 3.5k? not bad leh..
i think be a hirer and find a relief may be a better option.. Most of the hirers become one becos they want the day shift rite? Relief mostly is nite shift, tiok boh?
I havent been in this trade long enough but i think should heel poolman advice , be a relief first.....personally experience.
Originally posted by JLKL:Bro pool, Peter drive only relief day and can take home 3.5k? not bad leh..
i think be a hirer and find a relief may be a better option.. Most of the hirers become one becos they want the day shift rite? Relief mostly is nite shift, tiok boh?
JLKL bro , now the trend for hirers is shifting towards nite liao. means many day driver slots available now. its not tat tough to get a hirer who will let go of the day for u.
bro tcl, thanks for your info.. ya, if me, i will take day shift cos during day time cannot zz, during nite, eyes cannot open..
Originally posted by JLKL:day time cannot zz, during nite, eyes cannot open..
it means u are normal. haha me see sun melt type , very abnormal
If u want normal lifestyle , chose a day shift & be a hirer .
If u want money , $$$ it'll definitely more than day shift .
Shorter hours .
agree... do sats project after 12am can liao.. good enuf to cover rental at least...
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:it means u are normal. haha me see sun melt type , very abnormal
haha we all macham vampires liao... :P
Me ok la actually , Tuesday and Thursday got play badminton , still got see sunlight /
Last year i also went back to Day lifestyle .